We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I love it!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lowick Green, Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jilly0769
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
“I love it!”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have stayed at Puddleduck Cottage several times, it's in a fabulously convenient location. The cottage is cosy, clean and well equipped.
I can't wait to go back again next year.
There are several comments about a nosey neighbour, I have always found him to be perfectly pleasant and chatty - he's even helped me sort the recycling when I made a complete hash of it! He's an elderly man living next to a holiday let!
It really is a wonderful place to stay, there is a lovely pub across the road and lovely walks from the cottage.
It is perfect for exploring the South Lakes and Furness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2017
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Puddle Duck Cottage. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay once again. We very much look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RacheyP87
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and very cosy however, a little tired and a nosey neighbour!”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our second stop on our honeymoon we arrived at Puddleduck on a Sunday afternoon. After previously living in the Lake District myself I am familiar with area but chose Ulverston as it's a much quieter getaway. Puddleduck has great links to many favourable areas in the South Lakes, whether it's long or short walks, adventures at Grizedale or a tour around the many lovely towns and cafes in the local areas. The cottage itself was cosy but tired, it could definitely do with a new lick of paint and some new furnishings. All can be done on a budget! The fire was fantastic and meant no need to toggle with the heating at all. It was lovely to cosy up in front of in an evening. The shower downstairs was a great size (however it does squeal for the first 3-5 minutes and then dies down) and the kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed.

As raised by the previous reviewier the neighbour is incredibly nosey. He made a point of coming out everytime we did and never said a word despite our smiles and friendly approach. I could not see anything in the guest book at all regarding him being friendly! Nevertheless he didn't impact our stay at all but could potentially cause issues with some more shy guests.

We also visited the Royal Oak which was a wonderful pub and highly recommended!

Overall we had a lovely stay in Puddleduck with just a few suggestions to improve even more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Puddle Duck Cottage. We are delighted you had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage and will pass on your comments to the owner. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozzy777
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nosy neighbour”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Good location close to Lake Coniston and it's attractions. Rated as "4 star" but the inside of the cottage could now do with freshening up. Great walk-in shower room on ground floor. Kitchen well equipped. Car parking space large enough for a motorbike so you have to use the pub car park over the road. There is a communal path around the back of the row of cottages so no privacy with neighbours walking past. Small garden with lovely far-reaching views over fields, located up some steep steps. This was overgrown when we arrived but the grass was cut on the afternoon before we left the following morning. Our stay was spoilt by the nosy neighbour next door. This person peered through the front and back windows on the hour, every hour when we were in. Very intimidating and violated our privacy. Felt like staying in a fish tank.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Puddle Duck Cottage. We are disappointed to read you experienced problems during your stay, particularly from the neighbour. We have comments in the visitors book from guests who have chatted with the neighbour during their stay finding him friendly and feeling that this enhanced their stay. We are sorry this was not the case for yourselves. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you to a different property in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2014
Thank you for your review of Puddle Duck Cottage.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the property spacious and warm.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guernsey
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Puddle Duck Cottage.

We are pleased to learn that you found the property warm, welcoming, well-equipped for your needs and enjoyed the local pub nearby.

We hope to welcome you back to Puddle Duck Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burnley
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2013
Thank you of your review of Puddle Duck Cottage.

We are pleased to read you found the kitchen at the property well-equipped and enjoyed the location of Puddle Duck Cottage.

We hope to welcome you back to Puddle Duck Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
warwickshire
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Puddle Duck Cottage, Spark Bridge.

We are delighted to hear you are a returning guest to this property and found the cottage cosy despite the weather.

We hope to welcome you back to Puddle Duck Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property very soon.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing