We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing conversion”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tarset, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing conversion”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

You may think holidaying in an old church is odd.
Within a few minutes of walking in you are so impressed with the conversion you forget it is an old church and just enjoy the space.
Well equiped and very good heating system

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre R
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic weekend away to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday!!!
Greystead church is beautifully converted wish we had been able to stay longer !
Loved it loved it loved it !!!! Hope to book again in the future x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne2578
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Nothing really to say except, stunning and faultless accomodation .
The conversion is great and very tasteful, felt very comfortable .
The house is equiped with everything one needs for a holiday .
Thank you to the owners

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejtams
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking accomadation. Stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Greysteads Church for October half term. It is extremely well equipped with high class fittings, the beds are super comfy with top notch bed sheets that a luxury hotel would be proud of. It is very cosy and warm, and all the different sitting areas make it perfect for many people to be busying with different persuits.
The surrounding area is beautiful with plenty to do for a week with active children. Walks from the property are brilliant with a magnificent bridge crossing the North Tyne not to be missed.
The night sky is not to be missed and we would love to return again. Accomadation not to be missed. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandie62
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I can't recommend this accommodation high enough, it truly is an an amazing place to stay.
We as a family of 8 spent a week here in July,the weather was good and we took advantage of the tennis courts, and the BBQ, our two dogs loved running around in the gardens.
After spending our days visiting surrounding areas we returned to the church for an evening of come dine with me.
The kitchen area is perfect for entertaining and extremely well equipped, and the living area on the ground floor is perfect for relaxing or to watch a movie on the large TV.
The owners live close by and are very welcoming not at all obtrusive.
I would highly recommend to a group of friends or a family who are looking for great accommodation away from it all but within easy reach of local attractions, and beautiful countryside.
Looking forward to staying here again sometime in the future.
Thank you for sharing your lovely converted church.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie H
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a lovely converted church. Miles from anywhere and such a peaceful place to stay. Owners are very friendly and welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional and Unique Accommodation”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at Greystead at the end of May 2015, with three generations of my family, ages ranging from 2 and half to 74 years and all of our needs were more than catered for.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming with many thoughtful touches that made our stay both memorable and enjoyable.
The facilities are first rate, no expense has been spared, the beds and bed linen were top quality and extremely comfortable. All the appliances were of a high specification and user friendly.
The tennis court and gardens were easily accessed, just on the other side of the gate, adjoining the church yard. There is a pleasant lawned area to kick a football or exercise the dog, while being surrounded by breathtaking views and grazing sheep.
The conversion itself is both well considered and sympathetic, retaining many original features, yet providing a very practical and comfortable living space. The layout is such that the whole family could be together, although often occupied with different activities.
The owners live nearby and could not have been more welcoming or helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Greystead and truly did not want to leave. The owners deserve every success with this venture, the thought, care and attention to detail is apparent in every room. I would give Greystead my highest recommendation and look forward to returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and atmosphere
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing