We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday rental - great location and...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tarset, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant holiday rental - great location and very well appointed.”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We liked everything about this wonderful church conversion. The upside-down design works very well and the property is very highly specified with wi-fi, well appointed kitchen with top quality appliances, open plan kitchen/dining area, 2 flat screen TVs etc. etc. The property is also pet-friendly, so our dog enjoyed herself too!

The main purpose of our visit was to spend time at the Kielder Observatory and we were very lucky with clear skies every night of our stay. We also enjoyed excellent walks by Kielder Water and nearby Bellingham. Had the weather been bad we would have still had a good time as the property was so warm and well kitted out.

Thanks also to the owners, who were very welcoming and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - difficult to pick out any one thing.
Liked least: Nothing - it was excellent.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charnwood...
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely accommodation”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just returned home after wonderful week in the Old Church, Large family get together all of whom enjoyed everything about this accommodation and the surrounding areas. Can't add anything more than has already been said by previous holidaymakers.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased that you all had a wonderful stay and hope that you book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenHar...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It certainly has the wow factor.”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property was amazing. Driving up to the church it looks fantastic, set in rural Northumberland. It was very easy to get to with easy instructions from the owners. The accommodation is large, very large. With big open plan spaces and a wonderful kitchen diner. The restoration of the church is wonderful with lots of its original features retained. The stained glass window, the other windows, and the doorways all make it a special building.

The church is kitted out with top class fixtures and fittings and the kitchen stocked with quality gear. Dishwasher, washing machine, ovens etc all top of the range. There are a couple of smart TVs linked up to the excellent Wi-Fi (needed as there is no mobile signal). Lots of books and board games too.

We stayed with friends and found the place big enough to find your own space and not be on top of each other.

I was concerned that the building would be cold but I never once felt cold. A large log burner, central heating, and I think under floor heating made the place toasty.

The bedrooms were all finished to a high standard and individual and quirky. I loved the hall way where we could leave muddy boots and clean the dog after a walk.

The place welcomes dogs.

Good location if you want to getaway from it all. Its about 15 mins drive to a well stocked village of Bellingham and about 10 minutes to the very beautiful and underrated Kielder water.

The only downside I can think of is the bedrooms are under the kitchen diner and on a morning some of the early rises woke the sleepers up with footsteps on the wooden floor. Also we had a toddler and we couldn’t find a stair gate. Other than that I really really like this place and would certainly come back again.

Loved my stay here.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen diner was excellent
Liked least: Noise from people using kitchen while I was in bed below
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharpmike...
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent property and location - hard to beat”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is one of the best properties we have stayed in.
Excellent for a family get together, so well furnished and a great location.
The space is fantastic and well designed.
On entering the property you get the wow factor, very much a "Grand Designs" moment.
The heating was superb, with loads of hot water - we never felt cold.
The bedding is of a very high quality and beds / mattresses all superb.

3 of the bedrooms have ensuite - the twin shares with one of these but is probably fine if there are two children. Wifi really useful as there is no mobile signal - but there is a landline so you are contactable in emergencies.

Some reviewers have mention the noisy upstairs floor - you can hear it in the bedrooms on the ground floor - but something you get used too quickly and we are not the sort to lie in.

Good idea to get Grocery delivery (Tesco) on the Friday night as makes it so easy.
Unfortunately, Waitrose don't deliver but nearest Branch is in Hexham for click and collect

All credit should go to the owners as this is a great example of how you can make such a cosy and comfortable retreat from a listed building.

Make sure you visit Keilder - fantastic walks and scenery. Also good local walks at Falstone and surrounding villages. All in all a great holiday home in a great location.

PS Just been looking for somewhere similar to stay with family next year in North of England - finding it very difficult to find somewhere as good as Greystead, so will probably end up going back!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings and overall decoration
Liked least: Upstairs floor but you soon got used to it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukx0101
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great stay in a unique property”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for a week as a family including two babies. There is plenty of space for everyone and the bedrooms themselves aren't directing beside one another, there is a bathroom or corridor seperating them so noise between rooms is minimal. On they subject of noise I'm afraid there's no beating around the bush - the mezzanine area is loud and creaky and when you are tryin to settle babies down its a right pain if anyone goes up the stairs or walks around, you can hear everything going on. I think this property is more suited to couples with older children or none at all! Having said that, the highchair provided was very clean and the travel cot although not used by us was in good condition. The wooden floor of the mezzanine is more forgiving for toddling babies than the tiled floor in the living area. There is also no direct walks outside of the church suitable for prams but you can walk down to the tennis courts if you need to get them to sleep! There are some more pram friendly walks in Bellingham which is ten mins in the car.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings at the church are outstanding and there is everything you could possibly want in the kitchen! Basic supplies of dishwasher tablets (will come to that in a sec!), washing up liquid, washing powder, tea/coffee, cleaning clothes, tea towels etc are all provided. The towels are thick and luxurious and there was also one dressing gown in each room. There are plenty of books and a reasonable selection of DVDs and CDs as well as some family favourite board games. Unfortunately the dishwasher was not working throughout our stay which was a pain especially when there are a lot of you staying. Thankfully there is more than one setting per person so you aren't waiting for plates to be washed before you can use them! The owner has assured us that the issue will be dealt with so hopefully this won't be of concern to future guests.
The grounds of greystead rectory and coach house are very well maintained and te tennis courts were fun. Unfortunately the owners are not responsible for the churchyard and this has become rather overgrown which we found disrespectful to those buried within the church yard and their families who may come to visit their graves. I plan on writing to the CofE about this. The churchyard is open to the public and I might warn you to keep the church doors locked as we had passers by walk in thinking it was a church in use.
We did see the owners occasionally and they were very approachable but did not interfere on encroach on your holiday. It was nice knowing they were only next door as the church is very rural.
Kielder is really close by and we had some good days out there as well as Bellingham and corbridge too. There is really so much to do nearby but you do have to drive to get there.
To summarise, this is a beautiful place and it has been well restored, it's very peaceful and large enough to accommodate big groups. On reflection, I booked the holiday with my party head on and not my new mums hat on!

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claretta
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than lives up to expectations”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Most self-catering properties are a bit of a disappointment compared to the photographs on the website (at least in my experience), but you certainly couldn't say that about Greystead Old Church. This is an exceptionally good conversion of a wonderful Gothic church, and although the property still has a churchy feel, it has been brought bang up to date with hotel-quality bathrooms, antique furniture, and a fabulously well equipped kitchen. All the furnishings are first class, with lovely white linen and fluffy towels. Decent wifi, which you need as there is NO mobile phone reception for miles around!

As others have commented, the upstairs floor is a bit creaky so if you are an early riser, your friends/family will hear you crashing about. But we were there with three other couples and found there was plenty of space for all of us. We made good use of the tennis court although the net could do with some TLC (but the audience of sheep and the lovely surroudning countryside more than made up for this). There are plenty of walks from Bellingham, and dozens more just a short drive away. We also did the 26 mile cycle ride round Kielder Water, which was quite exhausting but well worth the effort.

All in all, I cannot recomment this property too highly. And as an example of what nice people the Monroes are - when our dishwasher broked down on our last day, they offered to come in and do the washing up for us while we were out walking!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The churchy feeling of the property
Liked least: Upstairs got a bit warm - but we were there during a heatwave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy G
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Holiday Home and Surroundings”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Greystead Church is Fantastic! A beautiful building with an equally beautiful and very homely interior. The location is a few miles from the South of Kielder Water where there are lovely walks and cycling trails and is approximately an hours drive from scenic coastal areas such as bamburgh; it is also close to Bellingham town if you need a local store or petrol station. The bedrooms were fab, and the beds very comfy. We couldn't find any negatives about the house or stay.. a very fab house indeed, we didn't want to leave! Finally, the owners were kind and very helpful, even lent us rackets to play on the tennis court that you also have access too. I would highly recommended it and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing