We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay in a unique property”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tarset, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ukx0101
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great stay in a unique property”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for a week as a family including two babies. There is plenty of space for everyone and the bedrooms themselves aren't directing beside one another, there is a bathroom or corridor seperating them so noise between rooms is minimal. On they subject of noise I'm afraid there's no beating around the bush - the mezzanine area is loud and creaky and when you are tryin to settle babies down its a right pain if anyone goes up the stairs or walks around, you can hear everything going on. I think this property is more suited to couples with older children or none at all! Having said that, the highchair provided was very clean and the travel cot although not used by us was in good condition. The wooden floor of the mezzanine is more forgiving for toddling babies than the tiled floor in the living area. There is also no direct walks outside of the church suitable for prams but you can walk down to the tennis courts if you need to get them to sleep! There are some more pram friendly walks in Bellingham which is ten mins in the car.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings at the church are outstanding and there is everything you could possibly want in the kitchen! Basic supplies of dishwasher tablets (will come to that in a sec!), washing up liquid, washing powder, tea/coffee, cleaning clothes, tea towels etc are all provided. The towels are thick and luxurious and there was also one dressing gown in each room. There are plenty of books and a reasonable selection of DVDs and CDs as well as some family favourite board games. Unfortunately the dishwasher was not working throughout our stay which was a pain especially when there are a lot of you staying. Thankfully there is more than one setting per person so you aren't waiting for plates to be washed before you can use them! The owner has assured us that the issue will be dealt with so hopefully this won't be of concern to future guests.
The grounds of greystead rectory and coach house are very well maintained and te tennis courts were fun. Unfortunately the owners are not responsible for the churchyard and this has become rather overgrown which we found disrespectful to those buried within the church yard and their families who may come to visit their graves. I plan on writing to the CofE about this. The churchyard is open to the public and I might warn you to keep the church doors locked as we had passers by walk in thinking it was a church in use.
We did see the owners occasionally and they were very approachable but did not interfere on encroach on your holiday. It was nice knowing they were only next door as the church is very rural.
Kielder is really close by and we had some good days out there as well as Bellingham and corbridge too. There is really so much to do nearby but you do have to drive to get there.
To summarise, this is a beautiful place and it has been well restored, it's very peaceful and large enough to accommodate big groups. On reflection, I booked the holiday with my party head on and not my new mums hat on!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claretta
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than lives up to expectations”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Most self-catering properties are a bit of a disappointment compared to the photographs on the website (at least in my experience), but you certainly couldn't say that about Greystead Old Church. This is an exceptionally good conversion of a wonderful Gothic church, and although the property still has a churchy feel, it has been brought bang up to date with hotel-quality bathrooms, antique furniture, and a fabulously well equipped kitchen. All the furnishings are first class, with lovely white linen and fluffy towels. Decent wifi, which you need as there is NO mobile phone reception for miles around!

As others have commented, the upstairs floor is a bit creaky so if you are an early riser, your friends/family will hear you crashing about. But we were there with three other couples and found there was plenty of space for all of us. We made good use of the tennis court although the net could do with some TLC (but the audience of sheep and the lovely surroudning countryside more than made up for this). There are plenty of walks from Bellingham, and dozens more just a short drive away. We also did the 26 mile cycle ride round Kielder Water, which was quite exhausting but well worth the effort.

All in all, I cannot recomment this property too highly. And as an example of what nice people the Monroes are - when our dishwasher broked down on our last day, they offered to come in and do the washing up for us while we were out walking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The churchy feeling of the property
Liked least: Upstairs got a bit warm - but we were there during a heatwave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy G
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Holiday Home and Surroundings”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Greystead Church is Fantastic! A beautiful building with an equally beautiful and very homely interior. The location is a few miles from the South of Kielder Water where there are lovely walks and cycling trails and is approximately an hours drive from scenic coastal areas such as bamburgh; it is also close to Bellingham town if you need a local store or petrol station. The bedrooms were fab, and the beds very comfy. We couldn't find any negatives about the house or stay.. a very fab house indeed, we didn't want to leave! Finally, the owners were kind and very helpful, even lent us rackets to play on the tennis court that you also have access too. I would highly recommended it and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An opportunity to stay in a stunning and unique conversion”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was a really quality experience. From the outside, this looks exactly like the country church it ever was (built in 1817) but once inside it is impossible not to be totally in awe of the magnificent conversion that has been undertaken. Bedrooms, (3 of the 4 are en suite) are now situated where once there were pews. At the altar there are steps up to the mezzanine floor where the main (huge) living space has been constructed, over the top of the aisle and the bedrooms. Everything is top quality here, and the view of the stained glass window from above is just magnificent. The extremely helpful owners live in the rectory next door and because there is no garden at the church itself, guests are invited to avail themselves of the owner's garden, which is accessed by walking though the graveyard. A word of warning, it has not been possible for the owners to construct a gate at the end of the church drive, so it is not secure for either dogs or children. I would also personally worry about very young children and the flight of stairs up to the mezzanine floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a complete one-off as an experience; the feeling of space was wonderful.
Liked least: The fact that you cannot step out of french windows or a back door into a garden.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooza
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow... what an amazing place!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage as a "surprise" get- together.. and what a surprise we got.
This immaculate church conversion was in an idyllic setting and very near the lovely town of Bellingham and the Kielder National Park and facilities.
We had an excellent time.
The equipment was excellent and VERY modern, so much so that we old folk couldn't quite understand why the rings didn't heat up on the hob... we'd never come across the high spec induction hobs before!.
We went as a group of 8 and there was more than enough room. There are different places within the living area for some people to watch TV, some to listen to the radio and others to watch a DVD.
As a "Brucey-bonus" we could also take the dogs.
Well worth booking - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michnield
Morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic building, well renovated and luxury fittings”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Greystead Church is definitely worth a visit - the huge stained glass windows dominate every room. The rooms are of good size, plenty of bathrooms, luxury towels, beds and bedding, top notch kitchen with all mod cons! Only downside worth a mention is the creaky floorboards upstairs (which is where the kitchen is) as you can't make a sneaky midnight cup of tea without everyone knowing and hearing!! Lovely people who own it and live in the rectory next door - shared access to a tennis court and option to BBQ. Location somewhat remote - need to drive everywhere but Bellingham 4 miles away for necessities and some good walks, Kielder 7 miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Original features, large roms and luxury linen
Liked least: creaky floorboards upstairs
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing