We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking with Romans app”
Review of Y Pigwn

Y Pigwn
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

Was keen to test the app out

Great walk despite the awful weather

A lot of the Roman Road was under water

App worked well although due to poor signal at the fort itself the GPS map was not as good as it could have been which caused a few problems in the poor visibility

All in all a great experience. Would recommend it as a family walk for those with young legionaries

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Albia-Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed January 22, 2017

The app is easy to use and in conjunction with the google map location app it really helps bring the camp to life, explaining describing and drawing attention to features and items of interest. Brilliant. Bring it all to life. VERY very well worth a visit. Stunning scenery as well. If you are in the Brecon or Llandovery area it is a must.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Bontgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been visiting and staying in the area every few years for twenty five years and have noted the Roman camps and forts on the map but never found the time to make the walk. At long last we've done it.

A glorious day made it even better with views back to Pen Y Fan and all around. We downloaded the app but that didn't want to play ball on the hills which was a shame but we listened to it back at the holiday cottage which brought it all to life and slso gave us an insight to the camp to the south which we'd visited years ago. Hard to believe that this was once a busy main road.

Monty Python at the O2 in a couple of weeks time. Begs the question "What did the Romans do for us?".

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank KeithW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is an easy walk along a good track although it can be flooded in places after rain but you can step around this. Great walk for dogs too, we saw no sheep. Without downloading the app beforehand, you wouldn't necessarily know what was here so I recommend doing this beforehand. The app brings the story to life and is suitable for all ages to enjoy. On completion of walk head down to Trecastle to the tearoom for refreshment... oh and a look in the Antique Centre across the road!

Date of experience: November 2013
3  Thank Madogfechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Pigwn also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 

Been to Y Pigwn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing