We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
100
27
14
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
100
27
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peaceful site dog walk great site the red lion pub fully serviced pitch woodland walk grey water individual rooms site staff grey waste cars are parked wash hand basin tidy site local pub water supply utility room grounds are immaculate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 152 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

The dog walk is not adequate. The site is advertised as dog friendly. It is a 10 feet wide L shaped dog walk which is small and dogs have to be on leads When I asked the warden where we could walk the dogs he advised us to take them to Weston super mare

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank F7593RXsusanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park-Wardens, Park Wardens at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Hello Susan,

Our on-site dog walk is 3-4 metres wide and 150 metres long.
The requirement for dogs to be on leads while within the park is consistent with the pet policies of both the major caravanning clubs to which the park is affiliated. There are very good areas for dog exercise within a short walk of the park, which my colleague was attempting to direct you to. Guest's also have the benefit that dogs are welcomed in just about every establishment around the area. My colleague's enthusiasm for days off dog walking across miles of sands at Weston-Super-Mare was just that, an opnion it's the best, not the nearest option.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Cleanest, best maintained campsite we have ever been on. Beautiful area. Great efforts are taken to keep everything perfect and provide top equipment however that can lead to lots of rules and notices. Great place to stay unless you a bit of a rebel when you might find it's not for you but otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park-Wardens, Park Wardens at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Hello Roger B.
Thank you for the very complimentary review, it is always nice when guests pick out the details that make their stay a pleasure. We have listened to your comment about notices. Obviously the park is required to meet regulatory and public liability requirements , though many more of our signs are simply informative, particularly about conservation for our the David Bellamy awards. As examples, the reason lawns are not cut right back to the hedges or why there's a crumbling log pile by the woodland walk. We'll give some thought to presenting this information in a different manner. Thank you for choosing to stay at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Stayed with our caravan on a fully serviced pitch. Site is very well maintained and facilities are very good with well appointed individual cubicles for shower, loo etc. Quiet site, adults only. Lots of useful info in Reception including local walks. Your caravan is positioned on the pitch for you which I was very happy with (one less thing to do). Friendly, helpful staff. Well positioned for trips to Bath, Cheddar and Mendips of course. Would definitely go again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park-Wardens, Park Wardens at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Richard T.
It is good to know you appreciated the park's facilities and the 'valet' parking for your caravan. As you say, it's a treat to drive over to you pitch and find the caravan already pitched and levelled ready to start your holiday.
We're also glad you enjoyed the countryside around the park and the beautiful City of Bath (of course).
We do hope your travels will you back our way before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Just returned after a 4 day stay with friends ( 3 caravans and 1 lodge booked). Site was very well maintained and tidy and facilities were very clean. Caravan gets sited on pitch for you Attitude of owners leaves a lot to be desired, unfriendly and rude. Site is directly on the flight path into Bristol airport so can be quite noisy so if your a plane spotter this is for you !! however planes start flying from early in the morning.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Navigate40494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bath & Chew Valley Caravan Park, located in the little village of Bishop Sutton and close to Chew Valley Lake.
We are not caravan or motorhome owners, but were aware that the site had a Cedar Lodge onsite. When making enquiries, we were told that 'New for 2019' they now had a second lodge in a contemporary style that was now available for letting. We jumped at the chance of being the first to use it.
Setting out from Bristol, Bishop Sutton is a short drive and the site is very well signposted as you get close. First impression is 'wow, this looks really well looked after' as you pull into the gravel access drive. Smart flowerbeds and neatly trimmed lawn, border each side of the drive.
The welcome at reception was warm and genuine and the site owner himself came to show us to the new lodge.
A nice touch here is that cars are parked alongside reception and therefore traffic around the site is kept to a minimum. The lodge itself is located next to a short woodland walk and has plenty of space around it. It has a decked area to the front and side with seating and tables to enjoy the sunshine whilst dining al fresco.
Inside, its laid out in an open plan style, with lounge, kitchen and bedroom areas cleverly seperated with furniture and a self contained shower and wc room. The layout feels spacious, well appointed and you have to wonder how they got it all in. Access is through large glass doors that flood the interior with light
All the fittings in the lodge are high spec, there is a full kitchen with oven, hob and microwave, along with a full set of kitchen utensils
But the thing that made it for us was the thoughtful extra touches the owners have added.
A full set of fluffy towels, a toiletries bag, a hair dryer, a washing up pack, tea towels, condiments, including ketchup and brown sauce , tea, coffee and milk and even a first nights ready meal in case you arrive late with no food! You really feel they have gone that extra mile to ensure you have a great experience.
The lodge attracted lots of interest from guests whilst we were there. Most of them keen to see inside. Some of them were returning customers to the site and confirmed that the owners were always willing to help and go that extra step and thats why they kept coming back. They had no qualms about lodges on caravan sites and thought it was a great addition and had noticed other sites doing something similar to diversify.
All in all, a great two night break on a well kept and friendly site in a fantastic lodge that we're sure will attract lots of attention.
We'll be back at some point in the future no doubt.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park-Wardens, Park Wardens at Bath Chew Valley Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Hello RichC,
What a wonderful review...thank you.
Your review will be particularly useful to other readers considering booking one of our lodges. We're so pleased you liked so many of the features and the little 'extras' in Fairswood Lodge and hope you will return for another holiday before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews