We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cheadle Hulme
Post
Inbox
Search

“Take away”

Whittakers Fish Bar
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Cheadle Hulme
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to get a take away, it was not busy at the time of my arrival and I ordered 3 sausage, chips and 2 fish.The service was very poor they ended up serving 2 people before me who had similar orders with no explanation.food was ok.will not be rushing back.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Goodfood12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2019 via mobile

This is a traditional fish and chip shop with adjoining cafe. Loved the steak and kidney pudding with mushy peas. Lots of space between the tables.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We was sat in the (restaurant) side, only the two of us in there, sure they forgot about us as spent most of their time in the takeaway side. Ordered a coffee to go with out meal, but arrived at the end then was informed it’s cash only so had to go and find a cash point. We also ordered a sausage to take away at the for our dog and was told to queue after eating and get the sausage waited a good 6 minutes then gave up and walked out even though we had paid. I know it needed cooking but we had ordered it at the beginning so they had a minimum of 45 mins to get it ready. Won’t be going back paid good money for poor service.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

We love this chippy my hubby won’t go anywhere else. Food is fresh and never greasy. We always sit in and the staff are brilliant.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank trolleydolly2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

Following the excellent reviews of Whittakers' Fish Bar we collected our takeaway. We could not believe the disgraceful state of the fish and chips packed together in a box. The chips were in a disgraceful state, burnt, oily and limp and looked as if they were over cooked and microwaved. They were inedible and ended up in the bin. Such chips should never have been served. The fish was a little better. Has Wittakers' cook went asleep that Wednesday evening on 2nd July.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whittakers Fish Bar also viewed

Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 

Been to Whittakers Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing