We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite enjoyable funky folk bar/restaurant all around.”
Review of Tree-House Cafe

Tree-House Cafe
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Ganges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are passionate about serving delicious, wholesome food prepared from scratch. Our cafe is located in the heritage cottage next to Mouat’s in the heart of Ganges village on beautiful Salt Spring Island. We are a one of a kind restaurant and music venue with live music under the stars every night of the summer featuring some of the best live music you will hear anywhere.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Choices were surprisingly limited in the area so despite the many dicey service reviews seen we took a chance. The setting of the restaurant is odd being in the middle of a shopping plaza but you wouldn't know it from the extensive landscaping and trees inside the open concept space.

Live music is on tap and the folk musician Dan Smith and his band of two others were quite affable, capable musicians. Even a banjo player!

The food was quite good and despite the crowd was served within 15 minutes.

The owner passed around a collection can for the band which I've never seen. I believe the band should be paid by the establishment owner. We contributed however as they really made our night (even singalongs).

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lesspeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The atmosphere is different with a tree growing beside our table, good live music and very tasty food. I had Satay Chicken with peanut Sauce and others had the Green and Red Currys.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had tried to eat here the previous evening but they were very full. We ended up at a terrible place so came back here early to make sure we could be seated. We were seated quickly by a friendly crew.
They have a short menu but it has good variety.
Our resident hamburgermeister gave the Hamburger deluxe 7/10. Good balance, texture of bun matches fillings and meat, and flavour profile has a few good points.
Green chili bowl was good. Spicy without being overpowering. Chicken souvlaki was well executed and not too Greek so not overpowered with lemon and olive. Barley was a good rice alternative with the souvlaki.
There was a Caesar (drink) special on that had a little too much ice and a bit too much celery flavour; but that is a personal thing.

The service was friendly, efficient, and pleasant.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently enjoyed another fabulous breakfast here after being away for a dozen years or more. Great food and friendly service! The best seats are outdoors, so come dressed for it!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank TimKnopf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening for dinner, when the restaurant featured a performance by Sapphire Blues. Not only was the dinner delightful and the service attentive and personal, but we were surprised by the way people went out of their way to make this feel like a community place, even though most of us were temporary visitors.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree-House Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
 
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Tree-House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing