We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
97
17
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french couple paddy fields monkey forest rice helpful hosts bamboo terrace home away from home wonderful view very nice stay two nights place to stay thomas katie dogs lombok trips lulu
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 118 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Hidden among the rice fields ('Les Rizieres') of Tetebatu, a glamorous French couple and a group of talented local staff (at times chefs, at others guides though the exquisite surrounding countryside) welcome you to a slice of rural life away from the beach resorts and tourist islands of Lombok's main holiday trade.

Joining you for the experience are a friendly canine trio and a toad or two, all enjoyng the distant vista of Mount Rinjani from a peaceful garden and thatched bamboo dining room turned viewing platform within Lombok's lush interior.

The food is seriously good - fish, rice, coconuts and other fruits of the island, sourced from the local market, and veg prepared al dente with a wink and a nod to the incumbent Europeans - and the company is equally comforting.

Take up the offer of an extended dog walk through the local rice fields, villages and monkey inhabited forests - it's a highlight. And stay for dinner. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollloydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Les Rizieres was one of the highlights of our holiday in Lombok and Bali. Thomas and Kathy & all the staff are wonderfull hosts. The location is very authentic in the middle of an original small Lombok village. On the first day we were invited to make a visit to a local compound. The family welcomed us with open arms. While our 4 year old daughter was playing with the children of the family we were making and drinking our own Lombok coffee. The second day we made one of the niced rice paddy walks ever. Great scenary and even for our daughter easy to walk. The dinners in the evening were very tastfull and the Bintangs nice and cold. Great stay and very recommend for a visit to the other Lombok!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Westmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016

Les Rizieres is superb. Thomas and Katie are friendly very helpful hosts with great suggestions for activities. Tetebatu is up in the foothills below the Mt Rinjani National Park. We did a paddy walk with one of their staff for a day - superb views with many highlights. There are brown and black monkey troupes in the National Park on the walk. It was durian fruit season and we tried fresh durian straight from the tree right out in the rice fields. Stunningly good stuff - no wonder Indonesians call it the king of fruit. Later in the day we had a superb chicken curry (the best we had all trip on Lombok) and another durian to finish up. Thomas took us to the local markets on one of their shopping trips - a definite highlight and a great place to buy fresh local fruit very cheap. Staff do a great local style meal each night at the property and there is plenty of space upstairs under a thatched roof to relax and watch the sun go down over the paddy fields. If you want a great relaxed home-stay right in the middle of traditional farming country in Lombok - this is it.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AB7005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at "les rizieres" for 2 nights.
We had an early check-in and as the room was available Thomas and Katie, the owners, welcomed us saying it was no problem at all.
We had the family room, it's nice and cosy, most of all very clean which isn't always the case in Indonesia. Great value for money.
Hiking and handicraft tour can be organized.
The food is great, different meal is served every night in a friendly atmosphere.
The place itself is peaceful, surrended by ricefields.
The staff, as much as the owners, is very pleasant and helpful.
They also propose pick-up or transfer service within lombok.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Julien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016

Thomas and Katie have a lovely home in Tetebatu. There is a little restaurant in the garden where upstairs you can chill out and enjoy the amazing view to Mt Rinjani and rice fields. I stayed in a little comfy single room with shared bathroom which was perfect for me. Ronnie was really friendly and helpful. He also cooked delicious meals, guided me in the monkey forest and introduced me to some awesome local kids. Thomas and Katie have 3 adorable dogs and 2 of them guided me to the waterfall. It is not easy to get to Tetebatu but worth the trip. If you are looking for a remote area with friendly locals, epic views and beautiful nature, definitely go there!
Thank you Thomas, Katie, Ronnie and the dogs. Lots of love and success to your business!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews