We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely first rate.”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage
Kitchen/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Rose Cottage
Kitchen/dining
Sunny summer days, the perfect location
Friendly llamas
Well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wadeford, Chard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AidanandA...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely first rate.”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very well appointed and designed with one double and one twin. Very efficient hot water and cosy log fire. Everything so clean and fresh that it seemed brand new whilst pleasingly traditional in design. Idyllic surroundings and we loved the free range chickens and the horses. Complete peace in the countryside whilst a short walk to the village shop and the excellent Green Dragon pub. Great base for walking the surrounding hills or visiting a number of accessible attractions as per previous re views. Wonderfully friendly, informal and helpful welcome from Leigh and Nick.
Would not hesitate to visit again. A real breath of fresh air.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevinfrom...
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I spent 4 nights here while visiting family nearby. The cottage is recently converted, with a well equipped kitchen, downstairs loo and sitting area downstairs and upstairs there are two good sized bedrooms ( one double and one twin) plus a bathroom.

The cottages are off a very quiet lane yet only half a mile from Combe St Nicholas with its pub and shop and has easy access to the A303. It's less than 20 mins to towns like Ilminster, and Taunton and Honiton is about 30 mins away while it's only an hour or so to the coast. At night it is eerily quiet - no traffic noise at all. The adjoining cottage was empty while we stayed so that probably helped but this is the quietest place we have ever stayed in!

Beds can be a very personal thing. These were on the firm side but are comfortable.

Overall it is a super self catering cottage and the owner, Leigh was very welcoming and helpful - even down to some free eggs from her delightful chickens (no cockerel so no early morning crowing!). We will be staying again i'm sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Thank you both so much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.
Leigh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue N
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Really did not want to leave.”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Rose cottage, we were in between a move, The cottage is all new, with Laura Ashley settee's, hotpoint white goods, duralit toaster and kettle, it is luxury and heaven rolled into one, waking up and looking out the window is so refreshing, wood burner, we didn't light, as we were warm as toast with the central heating, it's a 10 minute walk to Combe St Nicholas to the shop, for papers, milk, hot pies, and a 10 minute drive to Chard, with a good selection of shops to browse, then you have Seaton, Charmouth, Lyme Regis and Weymouth with the latter being the furthest at about 1hr, then you have Taunton and Yeovil about 30mins with the usual town centre shops, but we were happy to be at Rose, if the weather had been better lots of walking could of been done, but I think we had the rainy season, you also have the pub Green Dragon, special nights with entertainment and good food, you have outside patio and table and chairs which could be used in better weather, but it was December when we visited, Now last but not least Leigh and Nick the owners, and your neighbours, such a lovely genuine couple, who made you so welcome, and were very helpful with anything you need to know, they would go the extra mile for perfection, but that said, you were also left to get on with your stay, no intrusion at all, you will go days without seeing them, or glimpse Leigh or Nick feeding the chickens and talking to them, along with Poppy the Lurcher, walking the fields, I would not hesitate to recommend rose cottage, bluebell next door is identical slightly larger garden, anyone choosing either will have a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Well what can I say except many thanks for your wonderful review!
It gives us great pleasure to know you were happy during your stay in Rose Cottage.
We want to thank you too very much for being such lovely neighbours!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing