We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely country house in great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Spedalicchio, Umbertide, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

wendyreid...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely country house in great location”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Casa dell'Ortolana - we stayed in Casa Nova which is really well appointed with excellent facitlities. All the bedrooms, incuding the ground floor, have very comfortable beds with beautiful bedlinen, good storage and all are airy and light. The bathrooms are luxurious and the kitchen fully equipped even though we didn't get round to using the bread maker. There are lots of areas to relax inside and out as the whole house is spacious and all the furniture high quality. The gardens are beautiful and it was a real bonus being able to pick what we wanted from the kitchen garden. The hosts are very friendly and extremely helpful but their house if completely separate and not intrusive if you want complete isolation. The whole experience was designed to give us a great holiday from the delgithful cleaning staff to the instant appearance of a new dishwasher. This is a great area for seeing the towns and villages of Umbria and the hosts' recommendations of local restaurants was great. We can strngly recommend this rental if you want a beautiful house in the most beauriful part of Italy.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clg523
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Guest House in the Umbrian Countryside”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Casa Dell'Ortolano is a beautiful and very well-equipped guest house in the Umbrian countryside, giving easy acess to Perugia, Assisi and other interesting destinations in Umbria and Tuscany. The house provided comfortable and well-appointed accomodations for all five members of our group as well as a full kitchen where we cooked most of our evening meals. Our hosts were gracious and helpful. The house also afforded breath-taking views and was situated in a lovely garden. What more could one ask from a guest house in beautiful Umbria!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emiila14
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“The greatest, most relaxing vacation ever.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at the Garden House in April, 2014, using the days to travel to nearby Umbrian towns and the evenings to cook and relax in the beautiful garden house. Perfectly appointed rooms, up-to-date kitchen and bathrooms and technology, as lovely as the pictures. We stayed a week and sorry it was not longer. To wake up to the views of the valley covered in fog, which burned off before our drives and to watch the sunset drinking prosecco was heavenly. The family owners love their property and continually work to improve it, as if they could! I hate to tell others to go to Casa Nova because we would like to keep it as a secret for ourselves.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of both the house and the views.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyofs...
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I and our five children had the pleasure of staying at Casa Nova this summer. As we drove closer to the house we were more and more excited as the little road went up and up and up, stunning views all around us, and after all that winding uphill we arrived at the house and were greeted and shown round by the friendly owner, Tom.
The house itself is so beautifully furnished and decorated, very simple but with everything you need, especially in the kitchen. The bathrooms were lovely and modern, the beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
We spent a lot of time in the swimming pool, and we had some trips out in the local area, mainly to eat a lot of ice cream! Tom recommended a delicious and reasonably priced pizza restaurant just over the hill and we had two meals there which we all really enjoyed. We also visited the beautiful Lake Trassimeno several times which is about a twenty minute drive from Casa Nova.
One night we sat out on the balcony and watched shooting stars, and we also saw lots of interesting birds and other wildlife. It's certainly a real get away from it all place.
We really had a wonderful and relaxing time - Thanks to all at Casa Nova!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Casa Nova is a great base for exploring Umbria!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Garden House was a very comfortable house for four couples travelling together. The kitchen was a very well-equipped cook's kitchen, which was great for the evenings that we stayed in for dinner. The house was a great base for exploring Umbria as well as nearby southern Tuscany - there are so many interesting places to visit The house, which was well-situated high above the valley, had great views and it was quite relaxing just to sit and look out over the valley. I wish that we had more time to do that. Tom and his son Gabriel were great hosts and provided lots of useful suggestions for the week - the suggestion to have Eda come in and cook for us one evening was particularly good. We'd love to come back another time.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities were first rate.
Liked least: The wi-fi didn't reach the second storey very well.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie W
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casa dell'Ortolano was extremely comfortable accommodation with spectacular views and very helpful hosts.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Fantastic base for visiting Umbria and Tuscany! Very clean, comfortable and well stocked. Beautiful veggie garden. Hosts Tom and Gabriel (who was our main contact while we were onsite) helped us to find great restaurants - and even took one of our party back to the farm where we had had dinner the night before so she could gather eggs from under the chickens! The pool had just been closed when we arrived which was too bad because we had spectacular weather and would have used it. The road up the hill to the house is like all Italian hillside roads, so go slow and stay alert! But it's worth the drive to enjoy the spectacular view and sunsets.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The driveway was gravelly and steep, it sometimes felt like we were going to slip into the ditch!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon t
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Umbrian farmhouse stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Beautiful children friendly house with fabulous views, garden and shallow depth pool, perfect for our non swimming toddler. Kitchen with every gadget provided. Loved our lazy lunches and bbq evenings.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: the mosquitos
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.