We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Marea Brava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marea Brava
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I really love this place. The location is amazing, the rooms are big/cheap and there are great vibes from the staff. I stay at marea brava and surf conveniently in the front of the hotel. The view from the balcony is amazing and although everything is not as 5 star as would be expected on a lush vacation, the stay feels royal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Marea Brava is awesome!!!! Not sure what else there is to be said! The condos with balconies overlooking beautiful Playa Hermosa allow views of the waves in the morning and the best sunsets I've ever seen in the evening. You are just steps away from the beach or pools! One of which has a swim up bar!! The hotel feels private being toward one end of the beach, but is also within a 2 minute walk to the best restaurants. The staff was super friendly and we had clean linens when we got back from our surf sessions every day. I felt extremely safe and comfortable my whole trip and will be bringing my family back to enjoy this slice of paradise very soon!! I have stayed in a few other hotels in the Jaco/Hermosa area and Marea Brava is by far the best! If you come to Playa Hermosa, stay at Marea Brava, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: The condo balconies have the best view in Hermosa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We began our week long trip having booked a stay at another place on Hermosa beach which turned out to be an absolute disaster. We checked every place along the beach for a change of accommodations and the last place we looked, at the end of the street (very private and secluded) was Marea Brava!!! Man, did we hit the jackpot! We stayed the rest of the week in a huge condo with a third-floor balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean (amazing sunsets). I would guess the condo was around 1200 ft.² with high end finishes, huge kitchen and multiple air conditioning units (which is a rare in Hermosa), beautiful bathroom and large bedrooms. The owner was on-site and all of the staff was extremely helpful and courteous, we had fresh linens and towels daily, and anything else we needed was just a trip down to the lobby to ask for it! This trip was a surfing trip for me with my buddies but I will definitely be bringing my family back to this establishment! I have been to Costa Rica numerous times, and this is by far the best place I've ever stayed! There are two pools, one with a swim up bar that was under construction while we were there. I can't say enough good things about this place and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a surf trip or a family getaway. By the way, there is terrific surfing just 100 yards from your back porch!!! Jamey, the owner was so gracious to us and personally gave us a tour of the place! Great guy!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the condos facing the beach. I believe there are 3 different floor plans and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I don't know where to start on how great Marea Brava is. All the staff make you feel at home and loved and take care of your every need on the double!! The Rooms are clean HUGE i mean HUGE!!!!!!!!!! and some with balcony's over looking the beach and that Sunset every night. All rooms have working AC units all over the room unlike most hotels. Getting fresh sheets,fresh towels and a fresh smelling room after coming back from the day is amazing!! I have been coming to this place for 5 years now over 3 times a year and not once was i ever Let down with any amenity or service. Your wish is there Command, taking care of you pickup from the airport and drop off and anywhere you need to go during your trip they will have a driver waiting for you if its a Taxi or the Marea Brava driver AKA Thomas the best guy in the world!! who will do anything for you at any time. Like when my friend was sick and needed medicine at 2:00am Thomas got out of bed and went to the Pharmacy and got him what he needed so he can enjoy the rest of his stay. The house keeping ladies are so trust worthy not having to hid all my money and my Laptop etc.. is a blessing. i leave my valuables out all day and never ever in my 5 years was a penny stolen or moved. the pools yes there are 2!!! are always looking fresh and clean. and yes one of them has bar inside with Stools!!!! this beach front hotel is without a question the best place to stay in Costa Rica!! Take this from a guy who comes all the time all seasons a year and with all crowds or people from family to friends to surf trips to business trips etc.. any stay Marea brava is the spot!!!


hope to see you there!!!!!!

Room Tip: get the condo with the balcony and beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is the nicest place I've ever stayed in Costa Rica! The air conditioning, the people, the service, the nice showers and much more. It's a perfect place to stay to enjoy a clean, fun time in Costa Rica. Jaco is just 10 min away if u want to go out at night but if u want to just enjoy Hermosa there's places and local restaurants to go in town too that u can walk too. It's the perfection destination for a family or just a group of buddies on a surf trip. With the 2 pools they have its a perfect place for the kids to hang with mom while the dad surfs out front. It was really the perfect place to stay and I am def going back there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilnate930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 10 days. I shared a room with 3 other people and we all had plenty of room and huge balcony overlooking the ocean. Two pools, one big one small. The big one tends to get crowded on weekends. I saw so many macaws flying overhead and tons of pelicans. Walking distance to many restaurants which I liked a lot. Poolside drinks are the best! Ask for Thomas! Also, Thomas picked us up from the airport so we didn't have to wait for transportation...awesome!
Overall this place is a great spot to relax and to see some wildlife. Very helpful and caring staff. The owner was very friendly and wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable, which it was.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Marea brava is my one and only place to stay when visiting Costa Rica.

I just visited and can say that it was my best trip that I have ever had there. The staff was was so nice from the minute we arrived. Keynar at the front desk upgraded me and my wife to the penthouse with the beach view for free. The room was great. spacious, clean, and it was deffinatly nice to have a full kitchen as well.

The hotel is deffinately in the best location possible in hermosa. Steps from the best surfing beach around. It is walking distance to all the great restaurants,and Its nicely separated from the other hotels in hermosa which are crammed next to each other.
Me and my wife really enjoyed just hanging by the pools. Comfy lounge chairs, free wifi, and a great view of the sunset. Also have to mention that there is a full bar right next to it. Thomas served us drinks all week and gave us some great deals, including some blended drinks that were bigger than out heads. No joke.

For me I know hermosa and jaco pretty well by now, but if you need help with anything the Marea staff is there for you. I like that everyone speaks English and is knowledgable of everything around them. This place is a gem. If you stay here tell everyone I say hi!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjoemiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marea Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marea Brava

Address: Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road | Playa Hermosa -Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $75 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marea Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marea Brava hotel and condos are located in Playa Hermosa (translation: "beautiful beach"). We have two pools, 24hr security, a bar, ATV tours, secured parking, wireless internet, beautiful gardens, beachfront location, air conditioning, maid service, and laundry service. We can arrange any number of exciting local tours and excursions right from our concierge desk. There are (2) one bedroom hotel rooms and (5) two bedroom hotels rooms. The beachfront penthouse condo is uniquely decorated & located on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marea Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marea Brava Playa Hermosa
Marea Brava Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing