We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marea Brava
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Resort and Villas(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecovital Costa Rica(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reboot Resort(Playa Hermosa)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Las Olas(Playa Hermosa)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Costanera Bed and Breakfast(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wipeout Hostel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Ola Bonita Apart Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Backyard Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$200
$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
144
49
33
24
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
49
33
24
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathe ownerhuge balconyoverlooking the oceanthank goodnessbig poolspent daysgreat guylocated righta wonderful stayblack sand beachair conditionerbeautiful beachcondopoolsjacosurf
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 285 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A friend and I spent 10 days staying in one of the apartments overlooking the beach - getting up at 5am to take advantage of the early morning off shore winds we just had to roll out of bed and onto the beach.
Good wifi reception round the pool (free) the apartment was spacious and kept clean outstanding value - hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareaBrava, Gerente at Marea Brava, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It make us feel very proud to be part of the short list of savvy travelers like you and make us work even harder to stay as close as we can to excellency. . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. info@mareabravacostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Both the owner & staff were wonderful, we stayed in two different type of rooms,, one a two bedroom more for budget minded & the other a 3 bedroom condo style with full kitchen.. balcony off the back overlooking the ocean.. Great place for the whole family to stay or just a couple surfers looking to catch some really great waves.. the grounds are beautiful & the pools are kept perfect.. You can walk to some great places to eat.. just up on the main road are a great pizza place & a bakery called Blue grass café,, that has real homemade American Apple pie & cinnamon rolls like grandma made.. hard things to find in Costa Rica.. Will be going back for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love to stay at privately owned hotels, especially when an American owner lives on property and supervises the day to day operations. No language barriers. We had a great stay at this beautiful property. It is located between a beautiful black sand beach and a mangrove area. The rooms were clean and neat. The staff was very friendly. And the beds were comfortable. We were on the road and took a chance on this place. So the first day we were able to stay in a beachfront "surfer" two bedroom suite right on the beach. The second day we were upgraded to a magnificent suite with a 3rd story penthouse view of the Pacific. Both suites were a very good value. The pools were kept very clean. The grounds were beautiful. While we are not surfers it was sure fun to watch those surfing pros who surfed in front of Marea Brava. They told us that Hermosa Beach is one of the top surfing destinations in the world. The best thing was how close the hotel was to the major tourist city of Jaco, yet without all the noise of that busy city. We found lots of fun things to do nearby including zip lines, canopy tours, casinos, shopping, and a really cool nearby bakery called the Bluegrass Cafe and Bakery...really great homemade cinnamon rolls, house blend gourmet coffee and apple pie. This was a really great vacation!

Room Tip: If you want a great surfing location...ask for room 5 on the side of the hotel where the reception desk in located. This is a quiet area with a smaller pool. If you don't mind climbing stairs ask for room 5 on the south side of the large pool. It is on the third floor...large and roomy...nice kitchen. If you are staying for a week...I would recommend the condos.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareaBrava, Gerente at Marea Brava, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It make us feel very proud to be part of the short list of savvy travelers like you and make us work even harder to stay as close as we can to excellency. . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. info@mareabravacostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Marea Brava is a great hotel with a beautiful pool area right on the beach. It is located on the northern end of Playa Hermosa which made it nice and tranquil and more private but still close enough to walk to restaurants which we really liked. There are great waves for surfing right out front and the beach is beautiful. Overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I recently got back from Costa Rica. We went there on a surfing vacation and stayed at Marea Brava. It could not have been a better decision. We were steps away from a deserted beach and five minutes away from the busy town of Jaco. The pool at Marea Brava was our favorite! It was surrounded by impeccably manicured vegetation. The staff actually cut down fresh coconuts each day and cut them open so we could have a refreshing drink after surfing. The staff was as friendly as could be along with the owner Jamie, who brought us into town and recommended places to eat. If you are planning a trip to Jaco, Marea Brava is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda_B728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews