We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Podria mejorar”
Review of Marea Brava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marea Brava
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a beatiful hotel, and the lanscaping is wonderful. The only 2 things that it lacked was a better air conditioning unit in one of the rooms (the master bedroom was good, but in the other room it wasn't). Secondly, a better and more friendly staff (keinner).

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jposuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Marea Brava
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Everything about this place is wonderful. We stayed for 10 days.
If you want to have a real Costa Rica experience without all the resort, spoon fed beauty then this is the place.
I want to live there.
Well not really but for sure go back

Room Tip: Try to get a room right on the water. We really liked that.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whothehellcares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareaBrava, Gerente at Marea Brava, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It make us feel very proud to be part of the short list of savvy travelers like you and make us work even harder to stay as close as we can to excellency. . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. info@mareabravacostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Thanks to hotelsjaco.org I was able to find these jewell in Jaco, they gave me a good price and excelent service, great attitude by the staff, clean and safe place, definitly I will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobeachrealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareaBrava, Gerente at Marea Brava, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It make us feel very proud to be part of the short list of savvy travelers like you and make us work even harder to stay as close as we can to excellency. . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. info@mareabravacostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Incredible!!! Staff, rooms, and grounds were beautiful. Very clean rooms, and the staff was wonderful. We stayed during the rainy season, and were greeted with arms. The staff did whatever they could to make it a pleasant experience. The views were phenominal, and falling asleep to the sound of the waves was such a treat. We rented bicycles and pedaled to Jaco everyday. Such a great place for surfer families, or a couples getaway. So happy that we found this sanctuary!

Room Tip: The single rooms right above the office were amazing! Great terrace overlooking the pool and beach!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareaBrava, Gerente at Marea Brava, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It make us feel very proud to be part of the short list of savvy travelers like you and make us work even harder to stay as close as we can to excellency. . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. info@mareabravacostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I enjoyed my stay. My room was on the second floor near the pool. I was surrounded by a canopy of green when looking out my window. I could hear the ocean. The room was well designed and everything about the decor flowed. It is obvious that someone spent time creating an image of luxury. (This is not always done in non chain hotels)
I found the ambiance relaxing.
It is a surfer's beach. In low tide I found that I could go out for a pleasant swim. In high tide, It kind of depended on the sets coming in to the beach whether I swam or not.
I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareaBrava, Gerente at Marea Brava, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It make us feel very proud to be part of the short list of savvy travelers like you and make us work even harder to stay as close as we can to excellency. . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. info@mareabravacostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed there for Easter week, which is one of the busiest times of the year so we did expect it to be high priced and busy. However, we paid $135 for the smallest 2 bedroom place I've ever seen! Plus, the rooms need some serious maintenance, our toilet seat fell to pieces on day one and the door was broken so it wouldn't stay shut.

Now the WORSE part was the fact that even though the rooms and condos were fully booked at peak prices between $135 to $300...they were still selling day passes for $8 for anyone that showed up to use the pool and facilities! The pool quickly turned into a ZOO with groups of people everywhere, leaving no space in or around the pool for the guests that were actually paying top dollar to stay there!

Needless to say, I will never stay here again considering there are so many other nice places to stay in Hermosa and Jaco beach just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Ocean front Condo is the only room worth booking here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kittkatt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had no reservations when we stopped in. After inquiring about the price, told 120.00 then dropped to 100.00 and then to 80.00 We were permitted to check in well before check in time which was nice as we were there at 10:30 in the morning so it gave us most of the day.
The small pool was nice. No bar and no place to eat in the hotel. The next hotel had good meals, but at night the walk is dark and the path way is not light up.
It would have been nice to have a bar. Lots of wild life around the place which was quit enjoyable. Beach not a swimming beach but lovely.
We enjoyed having our own balcony.
Place was almost empty when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Nice to get a room on the end with your own balcony, rather than sharing. Bring a flash light if yo...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#19 of 41 in Jaco
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.9 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marea Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marea Brava

Address: Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road | Playa Hermosa -Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marea Brava hotel and condos are located in Playa Hermosa (translation: "beautiful beach"). We have two pools, 24hr security, a bar, ATV tours, secured parking, wireless internet, beautiful gardens, beachfront location, air conditioning, maid service, and laundry service. We can arrange any number of exciting local tours and excursions right from our concierge desk. There are (2) one bedroom hotel rooms and (5) two bedroom hotels rooms. The beachfront penthouse condo is uniquely decorated & located on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marea Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marea Brava Playa Hermosa
Marea Brava Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing