We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental great time”
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here briefly and unintentionally on my honeymoon. I'd rented a home for the week from one of the owners and unfortunately the local ISP had technical issues one day. I unfortunately needed the internet for some work I had to do. The owner set us up with a suite at the Backyard while it was fixed. We ate there the year before on our first trip to Playa Hermosa and the food is tasty and affordable. We were there for the surf competition one night and I got some really good tuna and chicken off the grill that I highly recommend. The manager Esteban is a stand up guy and will sort out anything you need too.

Room Tip: We had a suite that was awesome. Right on the front with great ocean views. Not sure how much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel and location, great. Restaurant service REALLY POOR AND BAD.
Waiter and waitress really bad.
Specially blonde lady.
Hotel location and beach are amazing. Rather be at the beach that the pool.

Overall the worst thing was the restaurant service, will not split accounts, rudeness on every service and worst manners when ordering, had almost to scream to receive service, add to that the when ordering food.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hankcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is small and the perfect location. Another plus is they have a gated area for your cars. That was a bonus. The pool was fun and so were all the iguanas. The restaurant attached was just ok and don't go there on a Wednesday night because it is Ladies Night and the place is so loud, no sleep is possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is a nice small size, is very safe, has a great pool and is the best place to go on Saturdays or any night for sunset. The grounds are well manicured and the property and rooms are well thought out. The beds are excellent; super comfortable! The staff is very trustworthy and the rooms are reasonably clean. The showers lack pressure which is not uncommon for the area. The view from each room is great, some views are simply excellent. The bar and restaurant are rarely busy; the menu has not changed for years and has some not too bad food but I don't know if anyone would want to eat there everyday; it is pretty typical bar type food and the music can be really lame; but there are many other options on that strip within walking distance. The prices of food and drink is a bit higher than other places in the area but there are advantage to staying next to a place that is attached to the bar/restaurant....safety and billing to the room. Many of the staff are very efficient however the girl at the front desk is fairly new and doesn't speak much English. She wasn't very helpful and often seemed confused; but the manager is very helpful and has perfect English. I do recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asylumboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for about a week. Towards the end we actually ended up booking two more nights because we loved it so much. The hotel was clean and we had a great view. The place is small and quiet which we loved. The views were spectacular, the pool was divine and relaxing and its proximity to the ocean is unbeatable. Everyday our room was cleaned and we appreciated the little details the staff left on our bed...(swan designs from towels or fresh picked flowers). The attached restaurant was amazing as well. Owned by an American, the prices were a little expensive but the food was amazing. We didn't have one meal we didn't like there. They had great happy hour deals and the activities on Saturday's are plenty fun with a surf contest anyone can join to a great band and bbq right on the patio. It was a pleasure to stay at a place like the Backyard Hotel, tucked into the sand of the beach and surrounded by friendly staff who strive to do an outstanding job at serving you. We miss the staff and especially Lily at the restaurant!! We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We requested an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ntrifunovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's a small, cozy and beautiful hotel, the rooms are spacious and very clean. There are Iguanas everywhere! Rooms on the first floor have direct access to the pool, and the ones on the second floor have a nice balcony. On Saturday's afternoons it's the place to be to see the surfers do their best! The only con was that between 6pm and 8pm we could hear the bar music from inside our room. But looks like they turn it down by themselves.

Room Tip: 1st floor if you'd like to get direct access to the pool. 2nd floor if you prefer the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I didn't stay at the Backyard hotel. I went there for Ladies' night and the bar is awesome! The music was fantastic, the drinks were delicious, not to mention FREE for the ladies. It's all open so it's really hot and we sweat a lot dancing our butts off hehe. If you're a girl, don't expect the Ticos to hit on you...apparently it's not part of the culture, which really kinda bummed us girls out. LOL!
The back of the bar gives right to the sandy beach where you can enjoy the sound of the waves crashing and the wind hustling on the trees. I would definitely go back next time I'm in Jaco. But be careful driving as the road there is very dark and windy, so don't drink and drive! =)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Priscila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.7 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
153 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
5.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Address: Hermosa Beach | 4 km south of Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa, Garabito Municipality 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $106 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Backyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Backyard Hotel is located on the beautiful, luscious green, central Pacific coast of Costa Rica in Playa Hermosa, just 4 kms south of Jaco Beach. This tropical paradise boasts one of the country's most well-known surfing and sunbathing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Hotel Playa Hermosa
Backyard Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing