We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“New upgrades and improvements make Terraza worth a visit...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terraza del Pacifico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terraza del Pacifico
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New upgrades and improvements make Terraza worth a visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

I recently visited Terraza del Pacfico on a site inspection for my travel company. I had been to the hotel several times in the past, and like some of the other reviews, the hotel was run down and needed some attention.

To my surprise and after meeting with Magaly Mora, the new GM at the hotel, she along with her staff have transformed and renovated the hotel with new improvements to the rooms, pool area and restaurant that overlooks the ocean. With a new chef, the cuisine is outstanding and the restaurant atmosphere is clean and inviting.

The entire hotel has been recently painted and the grounds are filled with tropical flowers, new patio furniture and friendly staff ready to serve you.

Many of the rooms now have new beds and flat screen TVs, and from what I gathered, they are working on changing the beds in all the rooms. There is still no chairs on the porches, as that would be a nice addition, and I have recommended it to management.

Overall, this hotel is great value for its location and quality of service. The hotel has gone through a major transformation with improvements and upgrades that are worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TicoGuideTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    44
    31
    36
See reviews for
53
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Upon arriving at the hotel, there were no welcoming staff, no one to get our luggages! We had to approach the staff ourselves and ask about our reservation and be checked in!
The room was set an unusual pattern! The two supposedly king beds in the rooms were perpendicular to each other! The blanket on the beds looked dirty/stained. There is a balcony with no chairs to enjoy it! The bathroom is the worse! I had to call them to clean it again, and as you will see in the pictures, it did not help! The beach is not swimmable, and to make matters worse, the pool was dirty! So we had to stay in our room beacause it was so hot outside with no other way to cool off!

Worse of all, I want to talk about " Expediciones Tropicales"!
The worse Tour Company! I thought By having them plan our trip, it would be less stressful, as we have never traveled to Costa Rica! They made our trip more stressful, from the minute we got to the airport! They were more than an hour late in picking us up at the airport! When the representative finally showed up, he never acknowledged the problem, let alone apologize! We had to borrow a cell phone at the airport to call them!
When we got to the first hotel in San Jose, we had to use our cell and hte hotel phone to call them to make sure the rest of our trip was not going to be as inconvenienced and to complain about the incident!
Although i got an apology from one of the representative through email, I was offered no compensation for the stress and inconvenience of waiting more than an hour in a foreign country in the hot mid-afternoon sun of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

El Salvador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

If you are looking for the hotel advertized on the website, you will not find it. There was no dinner on the beach, no flowers all over the hotel as pictured, and no surf lessons as advertized. There was construction in the pool area and roaches in the room. The staff were very nice for the most part, but Terraza del Pacifico is more of a well-riced city get-away all-inclusive than the tropical paradise/surf house it is advertized to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EVG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

1-They say check in time is at 2:00pm and they gave us the rooms until 5:00pm
2-Service is really bad, if you ask for a cocktail they give you one and then you ask again for the same kind of drink, and they do not have "more"???it happend two times with a different a alcohol
3-The snack are so so, and they just have one kind of food, if you do not like you have to other another thing and they will charge you around $20 plus tax
4-Two days after we left there was a extra charge to my credit card for around $80, so I called the hotel and they toll me that one person did not pay for the rooms?...How can be this possible???if the rooms was already paid?
I will not stay again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventure84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

worst hotel service ever. a/c was broken ,no clean towel,no hot water.made bed without sheet. they chareged someone else`s restaurant bill to our credit.Hotel stuff never made solution.you get much better service from cheap costa rican cabinas.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gipsy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Lonely planet said this hotel was "upscale." Boy did they get it wrong. Most of the hotel has no view, the rooms are cramped, the bed is the most uncomfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel and to add insult to this the sheets are paper thin (no mattress cover either) as are the bath towels (we did not get hand towels or wash cloths). The property stinks of sewage, probably no surprise since soon after checking in our toilet refused to flush and no one was available to repair it until the following morning. This is a gruesome hotel that is way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDteach126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

the worst service that may exist in a hotel, the staff can not perform their work in bad shape attention.

please never go there

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdaniel_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.8 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.7 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Property: Terraza del Pacifico
Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing