We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular to bad”

Vida Hermosa Bar & Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Regular to bad”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Bad: Pad thai had about a pound of salt and it had to much juice, fish finger were very bad, service was slow.
Good: pollo consentido was very good, filet de pescado was good, ceviche was ok and french fries were good.

Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    103
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We ate here 2 or 3 times over 10 days. Food was good, and the wait staff was always very friendly. It is not cheap to eat in Hermosa, but we didn't notice that Vista Hermosa was any more expensive than the other nearby restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
“Overpriced for what you get!!! Very disappointed!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

$65 meals for 2.....Ridiculous!!! Overpriced!!! "Gringos" not rich people!!! Never again!!!
Ripped off!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank monique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A great little restaurant right on the beach in Playa Hermosa. Good selection and variety of food at reasonable prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMSEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Be Careful..”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've eaten here before on several occasions and have never had a bad meal. The reason I am writing this is to warn travelers of the tendency of the servers to rip you off. On 3 separate occasions between 11/10 and 11/20/13, I personally witnessed the servers rip off unsuspecting gringos. The first instance occurred on the afternoon of 11/10. Two gringos were charged $65/U.S. for two lunches and two drinks. The second and third occasions were similar. $7 was charged for a side order of French fries. The next night, the same gringo was charged $9 for a side of French fries. I spoke with all of these people and we were all very disappointed. I hyped this place up to them because of my past experiences, but unintentionally sent them in there to get ripped off. The owner, Juan, seemed like a nice enough guy and I don't know if he knows what his girls are doing. Avoid Vista Hermosa if you are in Playa Hermosa, unless of course you have tons of money and you don't mind getting ripped off...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vida Hermosa Bar & Restaurante also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vida Hermosa Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing