We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Good vibe.”

Vida Hermosa Bar & Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food. Good vibe.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've eaten here many times on other surf trips. I'm just returning from another trip to Hermosa and we ate here atleast once a day - either lunch or dinner. The food is incredibly fresh and there's lots to chose from. I recommend the Poki Tuna, Tuna Sashimi, Chicken Burrito or the fish tacos just to name a few. The staff is really nice and the view is relaxing. OH! And don't forget the fresh smoothies and Cookie Power for dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeesgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    103
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We get good fresh food every time we go and the owner is always very nice to us.
If you want good food on the beach then this is definitely the place to go to!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniLeoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food/service around Playa Hermosa and Jaco Area”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been to the Jaco area in 11/2011 and now 11/2012. Both times we have eaten at Vista Hermosa. Definitely worth it. Their tuna sashimi is awesome! We also get seconds as one is just not enough, it's so tasty. We have had their filet migon wrapped in bacon and covered in a brown mushroom gravy, the tuna steak and several other items and it's always great! The smoothies are good too, definitely try. It's lunchtime and I wish I was there now! Go at sunset and watch the sun set and the surfers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The locals know about this place; so should you!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A gem of a restaurant in Hermosa that every local we talked to seemed to recommend. Why it's not all over Trip Advisor, I have no idea. Very chill, open air restaurant overlooking Playa Hermosa. Everything on the menu is awesome (I think we ate half our meals here during our visit) but the seafood is especially good. The owner, Juan, is cool to chat with and has a sushi background so there is a notable Asian influence on the menu. Try the tuna poki and a mojito. Alex, our favorite waitress, made every visit a treat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelGavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco CR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Vista Hermosa is the coolest place in Hermosa.
Great location, awsome service and every single thing on the menu is fresh and tasty.
They have the best of Costa Rican tipical plates and the best ceviche in town.
this place really represents Playa Hermosa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrojasPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vida Hermosa Bar & Restaurante also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vida Hermosa Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing