We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved our room and the staff. Very relaxing place for a getaway. It was the cleanest and best kept place we stayed during our time in costa rica. They have a lovely pool and breakfast was really quality. 5 min drive to the beach. We wish we had stayed there more than one night! Look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyleeStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, General Manager at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear AyleeStone
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of Las Brisas and making it a five star. We were pleased to hear that you found everything to your satisfaction and the whole team here were very happy to read your comments as they all work hard to make our guests stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future and as you say stay a little longer.
Thanks again and best regards
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to be close to Jaco but not in this area directly. This resort is a little off the road but a lovely place to stay. We had no problem getting free transport to and from Hermosa by the owners and into Jaco as well for a small fee. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are spacious and clean. We included breakfast in our stay and it was a lovely meal served daily outside around the pool. You were allowed to choose your menu the night before. They were so helpful setting up tours from the resort for us and taking care of anything we might need to help make our stay better. John and Rachael are lovely, helpful owners who make you feel so @ home @ their resort. I would highly recommend their resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, General Manager at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi sandit10
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Las Brisas. We were pleased to hear that you found it a “lovely place to stay, the ground beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean” Our staff work very hard to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible and they were very happy to hear your comments. We thank you for the recommendation and hope we will have the opportunity to see you at Las Brisas some time in the future.
Thanks and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My friends and I were attending a wedding in nearby Jaco over December break and decided to stay at Las Brisas after seeing the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Our trip started with a small bump: our luggage had been delayed for 6 hours upon arrival in San Jose. After a quick phone call to the resort, our airport shuttle was rescheduled for the evening without a problem. When we finally arrived at the resort at around midnight (after quite a nerve wracking car ride through the dark), we were greeted by Rachel at the gate who checked us in and gave us a tour of the villa we were staying in.
We had 7 people total in our party. My friend and I were the first to arrive while the rest of our friends came on different days over the course of our 10-night stay. We stayed in Casa Tucan which had 3 spacious bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with large showers. Our villa was very clean and comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen, large dining table and a large comfortable L-shaped couch. When the last 2 remaining people of our party arrived, an extra bed was built for them in the largest bedroom. There was also a rooftop area on our villa that had a beautiful 360 view of both the resort and the surrounding landscape. The pool was clean and the grounds were very well maintained.
Rachel and John were incredibly welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. They were able to arranged various excursions for us (zip-lining and day trips to Arenal, Manuel Antonio, and Tortuga Island), which made planning infinitely more convenient and stress-free. There was also a shuttle service to both Playa Hermosa and Jaco, which we used a couple of times.
I would definitely stay here again. The location is wonderful: the resort is tucked away yet within walking distance to the beach and restaurants. It was fairly quiet and we felt very safe. Additionally, there was so much nature all around; the cows in the field across the road would sometimes moo, iguanas basked on the roofs, geckos scaled the ceilings of the outdoor areas, scarlet macaws flew overhead in pairs, and the vegetation was lush and plentiful... it was wonderful. And most importantly, the owners and staff members were all wonderful. It was truly a delight to have stayed at Las Brisas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hi Amy J
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Las Brisas and thanks also for making it five star. We were, of course, very pleased to hear that you found the location wonderful and convenient and you enjoyed the pool and grounds. We thank you for the comments regarding our management team and I know they do their best to ensure that every guest has the best possible experience not just during the stay at Las Brisas but by helping to see the best Costa Rica has to offer. We look forward to you staying with us again if you are ever in the area.
Pura Vida
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My review is based not only on exceptional accommodations, location (which is close but not right downtown), walking distance to incredible beach, and friendly and helpful owners, but more so in heartfelt thanks to these owners who went far out of their way to help our son and his girlfriend last year. My son was volunteering in Costa Rica at schools. I was able to go visit him for one week in the middle of his assignment and we chose to stay at Las Brisas. Thankfully we did and were able to visit with the owners a bit. Once I left again to go back to Canada, my son and his girlfriend left also to San Jose area to complete their volunteer work. Unfortunately, the following week when my son had a day off, they decided to sightsee by bus for a day. Both their wallets and all cash were stolen from them. They had nothing, in a foreign country and were scared. Because the owners at las brisas were so kind during our stay, my son felt he could contact them for help as he didn't know where else to go and they didn't have any money to get back to their volunteer area. The owners at las brisas went immediately and picked up our children, helped us to transfer money from Canada to their own personal account, gave the kids the funds, let them rest overnight at the resort and got them safely on the bus again. I can't express our gratitude enough to these wonderful people and their resort that looks and feels like a little piece of heaven. Thank you so much. The resort and its owners truly are a gem.

Room Tip: We had an end villa and it was wonderful. Quiet but just few steps from pool. Bedrooms small but jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Caroline F
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review and a five star one at that. We were happy to hear that you found our accommodations “exceptional” and that the hotel was conveniently located to access the surrounding area.
As for helping out your son and his girlfriend it was the least would could do to help them when they needed it.
We hope that you and your family will stay with us again if you are ever in this area of Costa Rica
Thanks and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family group attended a beautiful wedding at Las Brisas in December. John, Rachael, Terry and Teresa took great care of us in all aspects, we couldn't fault the service and attention from them all. The resort was very clean, comfortable with contemporary fittings, set in beautiful tropical surroundings. There was plenty to do and see; we visited local beauty spots. Rachael organised a few excursions which included horse riding, zip lining and water sports. We didn't hire a car, but the team were very helpful by driving us into town locally to shop and sample the excellent restaurants on offer. We would most definitely stay there again. The wedding was lovely, again made all the better for the team's help. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: A family can choose a villa of their choice from a few very good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pechonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi Pechonia
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and thanks for making it five star. It was a pleasure to host you and the rest of Norman and Angie's family for the wedding and we were pleased to have the opportunity to show you some of the highlights that Costa Rica has to offer. We were happy to hear that you found our hotel clean and comfortable, we will be sure to pass on the kind words to the staff who I am sure will be happy to hear them.
We hope to see you again sometime in the not too distant future
All the best
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I along with two other couples found this deal on Deal Chicken. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica! The owners were very welcoming and helped us plan our activities. Upon our arrival, she made drinks and laid out food for us. The pool was right outside our doors and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The place was tucked away from Jaco and very close to the beach. Fortunately we had a rental car which I highly recommend. We will definitely stay there again! She answered all of our questions prior to our arrival and took care of everything! We will be back to Costa Rica in the next couple of years with our kids and plan to spend more time there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lok-yi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Lok-yi M
Thanks so much for the five star review. We are, of course, very happy that that your stay at Las Brisas was a highlight of your trip to Costa Rica and you found the hotel welcoming. We are always ready to welcome our Deal Chicken guests and we look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family at Las Brisas on your next visit to Costa Rica
Pura Vida and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Clean, quiet, friendly. We'd happily stay there again next time we're in the Jaco area. You will need a car, as it's 1 km to the beach and 1 to 10 kms to restaurants. Very hard to find, as they don't have any signs on either the highway nor the side road. 800 meters off the highway turn left at the Frog School sign and it's the first building on the right. Great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Phil H
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and thanks for the four star rating we were pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean, quiet and friendly. We do agree that we are a little of the beaten path but a lot of people like that we are close to all the action of bars, clubs and shopping of Jaco but far enough away to have a quite restful and tranquil vacation in Playa Hermosa. We agree a car is nice to have but we do offer our guests the convenience of a complimentary shuttle bus service to the Playa Hermosa beach as well all the restaurants and shops in Playa Hermosa and to downtown Jaco, just 5 Km away for a small extra charge.
We are sorry that you found us hard to find, this is not normally the case but our sign on the main road had been removed by the local authorities and has yet to be reinstalled and the signs adjacent to the hotel entrance were undergoing refurbishment at this time due to sun damage. We hope to have all our usual signs back in place shortly.
We hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future
Thanks and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.6 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
153 reviews
1 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#20 of 40 in Jaco
157 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
3.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Resort and Villas

Address: Calle Hermosa | 800 Mts Este de la Costanera, Playa Hermosa, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $86 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Brisas Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Brisas is a small, family-owned and operated hotel complex located in Playa Hermosa, Puntarenas, Costa Rica, just 1Km from the beach, 5 km South of Jaco and a short and scenic drive from the San Jose international airport. Surrounded by gardens, this cozy little retreat offers eight spacious Junior suites and three, 3-bedroom, 2-bath condos, all individually furnished and decorated with Costa Rican ambiance. The Junior Suites: The one bedroom suites have en-suite shower room, kitchenette, air conditioning, hot water, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, FREE wifi, sleep 2 - 4 people on a queen bed and pull out full bed. Suites are pool side and include complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast at the rancho. We offer FREE calls to US/Canada/Europe.Villas: The villas and condos at Las Brisas are ideal for couples, families and small groups. All villas have 3-bedrooms and 2-full-Bathrooms. We can offer a 2-bedroom option simply by closing the third bedroom. All villas have air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen, cable TV, FREE wifi, roof terrace with rancho, wet bar and BBQ, sleep 6-8 people. The villas have full use of the complex pool and spa tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Brisas Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort And Villas Hotel Playa Hermosa
Las Brisas Resort And Villas Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing