We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day costa rica adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 day costa rica adventure”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

just got back from a 10 day stay at Las Brisas. We had a wonderful time! John and Rachel were so welcoming and helpful! We came to playa hermosa to surf and explore (for both of us it was our first trip to costa rica) and we couldn't have been more happy with our stay. It felt like we were staying with family as anything we needed or had questions on, the staff at Las Brisas was more than willing to help. We did not rent a car, but had no problem getting to the beach and to the restaurants in playa hermosa. We did take a couple day trips to explore other areas of costa rica that John and Rachel arranged for us, and they were great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank liz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi liz I

Thanks so much for your five star review we are of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Las Brisas and that you had a ”wonderful time”. We appreciate the comment that “It felt like we were staying with family” and we are happy that you felt that you received personalized attention from our family management team. We always do our utmost to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience during their stay with us and we are glad that you were not disappointed. We definitely look forward to seeing on your next visit.

Best Regards and Pura Vida
The Las Brisas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
56
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Picked this hotel to stay at because of all the good reviews. Worst decision. Our room was loaded with bugs. When we asked to change rooms, they made a big deal about it and talked under their breath. They did give us a new room, which was still filled with bugs. They sprayed the room with raid before we entered and left the can of raid in our room. Disgusting. The fumes were horrid. It was like a scene from a movie. Because they sprayed the raid, dead bugs were falling onto us and the bed all night. We didn't sleep at all. It was run by a couple who are originally from America -- their main goal was to make extra cash in any way possible. Charged us extra to book adventure tours through them, lied to us, thinking we were dumb Americans who didn't know better and said it was a deposit for the actual tour (instead of just telling us that they charge a surcharge fee for booking with them). Because it was their rainy season, it rained a lot, so much so that the electricity in the hotel went out for HOURS. They did not have a back up generator. The place was flooding; we were afraid that the pool would overflow and come into our rooms (since the pool and our rooms were on the same level; the hotel is set up like a motel with a pool in the center). Far from Jaco and beaches, about a $10 taxi ride. When we asked them to call us a legitimate taxi, they called their friend, who showed up in a minivan to drive us to town. The most unprofessional "resort" I've ever been to. They say they man the front desk until 9 or 10 pm (I don't remember anymore which) every night, but whenever we went there during the evening (5 pm, 8 pm, etc), there was nobody there. When we rang their bell system to get someone, sometimes they would answer, other times they wouldn't. When they did answer, the male owner came down without a shirt on. Basically, we stayed one night and got the hell out of there as soon as possible.

Yes, we realize that Costa Rica is tropical and because it's near rain forests there are bugs-- but the amount of bugs in our rooms was ridiculous. There were mites all over the wall and dead bugs falling on us. I don't care where you're staying or what climate your in, that should not happen. We stayed in three different hotels while in Costa Rica, and we didn't have any problems with any of them except for this hotel. Would not recommend my worst enemy to stay here. It almost made us hate Jaco and Playa Hermosa, but our experience at our next hotel and our trip to Antonio Manuel made it worth it.

Room Tip: Don't choose one. Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, General Manager at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear WorldTravelerIl
Thanks for the review and feedback about your stay at Las Brisas we do appreciate you taking the time to write about your concerns as we welcome all feedback good, or not so good, as this gives us the opportunity to improve and make changes where necessary to ensure the satisfaction and enjoyment of our guests and allows us to continue to receive the great reviews that we have on Tripadvisor and other review websites. We are glad that you chose to stay at our hotel based on those many good reviews, however we feel that the points you raise are grossly exaggerated and in some cases just downright untrue.
We will try to address the points that you raise one by one.

“Room loaded with bugs” - We dispute your statement that your room was “loaded with bugs,” when you asked us to change rooms we did not see any evidence of this, just one or two were present. However, we did of course change your room as requested and when we prepared it for you and when you moved into it we saw no evidence of any bugs in the new room. As to leaving the Raid with you, this is a normal practise for us to leave it with guests who have concerns about or are frightened by bugs. In addition the reason that the managers were speaking quietly is that, when you called them it was after 10pm at night and the hotel was nearly full and we were trying not to wake other guests. By the way none of the other guests here during your stay made any complaints about bugs in their rooms!

“Charged us extra to book adventure tours” - The tour we arranged for you to Manuel Antonio was arranged with Iguana Tours a large and professional Costa Rican tour company and they request us to collect a deposit for any tours we book with them. This is their guarantee that clients will take the tour. You received a price from us that was less than Iguana Tours’ published rate by 5% and we collected the booking deposit, as we are required to do by the tour operator. This was in no way a surcharge of any kind and we take offence that you would suggest this. We are always seeking the best tours at the best price for our guests and complete and open honesty has always been our policy.

“electricity in the hotel went out for HOURS” - We are sorry that you experienced a power outage during your stay, but unfortunately we have no control over ICE the local electricity company and when there is severe weather in the area power does sometimes go out; as it does anywhere, however, this is not often enough to warrant the installation of a generator.
As you state it was “rainy season” and as you also state it rains a lot at this time of year. When we have rain the pool level does rise until it reaches the level of the overflow drain within the pool. In the nearly three years that we have owned the hotel the pool has never overflowed and threatened to flood the rooms.

“Far from Jaco and beaches” - We are not that far from the beach as I am sure you are aware the hotel is located just over a half-mile (1000 m) from the Playa Hermosa beach and just 3 miles (4 km) south of Jaco Beach as stated on all out tour operators web sites as well as our own website. The hotel offers a FREE shuttle to Playa Hermosa beach on request from 8am to 8pm daily and also discounted transfers to Jaco and beyond with its own 12 seat minibus..

“When we asked them to call us a legitimate taxi, they called their friend” – When you asked us to call a “legitimate taxi” for you and your three girlfriends, that is exactly what we did. The vehicle that picked you up was a tourist licensed 12 seat minibus owned and operated by ‘VIP Host SA’ a registered and legal Costa Rican transportation company. You state that a taxi to Jaco is $10 one way, you are correct and is usually more for 4 people. The round trip transfer we arranged for you with VIP Host SA was $16, a significant discount on regular Jaco taxi.

“They say they man the front desk until 9 or 10” – This is incorrect we do not have a 24hr reception and our office hours are 8am – 6pm Monday To Friday and 4pm at weekends, this is noted on our tour operators website and our own website. Our receptionist was in the office until 6pm. However, as the Managers live on the premises you can contact them up until 10pm by the Intercom adjacent to the office. You did use the intercom system to call us about your room at 10pm and we responded; however, later the intercom would not work during the power outage periods and of course as you were only here one night you did not use the system at any other time. This is the text regarding office hours from the website of the travel company that you booked with.
“The office closes at 6 PM Monday through Friday and 4 PM on Saturday and Sunday. Guests can ring the bell for check-in assistance until 10 PM. Guests planning to arrive after 10 PM must contact the hotel in advance to arrange check-in. Contact details are provided in the booking confirmation.”

“Yes, we realize that Costa Rica is tropical and because it's near rain forests there are bugs” – Concerning the bugs you say you found in your room: It is our opinion that statements like “loaded with bugs,” “filled with bugs,” “mites all over the wall” and “dead bugs falling on us” are all gross exaggerations of the actual situation. We have hundreds of reviews between Tripadvisor and other review web sites and hardly any mention a bug problem. When it’s rainy season, bugs also like to get inside out of the rain. We are very thorough in the cleanliness of our rooms and just before guests arrive we inspect and remove any insects that may have gotten into the room since it was previously cleaned, in your case the room would have been checked and prepared on the morning of your arrival and because your check-in was in the afternoon your room was checked just a few hours before. The fact is, we live in a tropical environment, close to the rainforest and we try to be eco-friendly by not using harsh pesticides and chemicals that would enter the ground water and poison the natural habitat. We do, however, use a less harmful deterrent to discourage the insects from forming habitats close to the rooms. It is our belief that all the other reviews for our hotel from our very many guests are a far better representation of the true facts.

There was a great American President that once said: “You can please all of the people some of the time and some of the people all of the time, but you cannot please all of the people all of the time.’ We work our hardest to always have happy satisfied guests and it has been noted y guests that we give a five star service for a three star price. We are disappointed that we were unable to please you and your three girlfriends.

Finally, when you write another review perhaps you will bear-in-mind that what you have to say can seriously affect someone’s livelihood and therefore, you need to be honest and mindful of your facts first and then not over embellish the situation.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Las Brisas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay with a group of fishing buddies. Convenient to several attractions & fishing areas.
Great relaxing atmosphere with plenty of hospitality & the poolside gazebo & open outdoor kitchen was awesome after a fishing trip with freinds. We had good day with Captain Terry & cooked the fish at poolside with several refreshments. Very nice - John & Rachel are very helpful & have set it up to make it as warm as possible for small groups in a great environment. We are already planning a trip back!

Room Tip: GREAT place & convenient - not on the beach but close to everything in area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, General Manager at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi JM
Thanks for the great review we do appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to provide even better service. We were happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the hospitality and that you found everything ideal for small groups. We will pass on your comments to the staff and we are sure they will appreciate them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards the Las Brisas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent two weeks at this wonderful family owned resort with my wife. John,Rachel and their staff were available all the time to help us with schedule any activities we wanted to do. The grounds and rooms were kept very clean (which is a must for me). It is only 3 or 4 miles from Jaco and only a 1/4 mile from beach. Jaco has great places to eat did not have a bad meal while I was there, and the continental breakfest at the resort was served with fresh fruit, eggs,pancakes.....ect . I don't normally rave about resort's but I will be back there at some time when I go back to Costa Rica and highly recommend it for anyone that wants a personalized clean, quiet place to relax and unwind. Enough said....

Mark & Liz

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi Mark and Liz
Thank you so much for the good review you posted and we are, of course, very pleased to hear that you both had an enjoyable trip to Costa Rica and that you enjoyed your stay at Las Brisas. We are also happy that you found our location convenient for all your activities and you appreciated the personal, family, service. As you know we do appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us greatly in our efforts to continue to give good service. We will of course pass on your kind words to the rest of the Las Brisas team.
Pura Vida
The Las Brisas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I have been to many many resorts this is rated a 10+. The lush clean grounds, the friendly atmosphere and welcome feeling was more than ever received. We stayed in the condo which all rooms were immaculate and clean, had privacy, own patio with all u needed. whatever u asked for, the friendly owners and management of Rachel and John were there 24/7 to help in any pleasant way they could. Continental breakfast which was included was far mor than continental, Rachel's homemade pastries and Johns awesome, eggs,pancakes, waffles and much much more. You enjoyed the coffee and fresh fruits and juices by the pool, we met many people from around the world, but if u wanted to be on your own u could. My husband will be deep sea fishing on the owners boat called "go fish" again as we went and had a awesome time!! Something we will be doing again. my daughter lives in Jaco but with the few minute drive away from the main town was wonderful, the drive was along the ocean and a mountain. We will be back, and I don't think we will be waiting a year !!!! Best vacation ever!!!

Room Tip: I clicked friends as only let choose one but this resort can be family, couple or solo as well. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMelnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear KMelnik
Thanks so much for the five star review of Las Brisas. We are, of course, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also pleased to hear that this was your “best vacation ever”, you found the Condo “immaculate and clean” and you enjoyed our breakfast offering by the pool each morning, we have to agree that Rachelle’s cakes are “the bomb”. We will pass on the kind words to all the staff who work hard to ensure that our guests have the best possible stay.
We look forward to seeing you back at Las Brisas for another great Costa Rica vacation and another awesome fishing trip in the not to distant future.
Pura Vida and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

First time at Las Brisas Resort and would stay there again for sure. It is a family owned resort, quiet, clean and central to all the activities we wanted to participate in. It is a wonderful little villa just a short jog from the beach.
We received personalized attention from John, as opposed to the bigger hotels where you are just another guest and can stand in line and get overlooked. He arranged all our activities for us and made sure everything went smooth. His wife Rachelle even made us muffins for our trips!
A great breakfast by the pool was something we looked forward to each morning.
A nice little pool and a bar right close where we enjoyed a few beers amongst ourselves and with other guests.
It was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 813RobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Owner at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hola 813RobB
We must take this opportunity to thank you for the five star review that you posted. We are delighted that you found the resort “quiet, clean and central” and that you felt that you received personalized attention from our family management team. We agree Rachelle’s Muffins are great are’nt, they are just the thing when you are leaving early for another Costa Rican adventure.
If you have the opportunity to come to Costa Rica again we hope that you will choose Las Brisas as one of your places to stay.
Thanks and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place was a breath of fresh air. It was gorgeous. It's off the beaten path, and about 1/2 mile from the beach, but there was a free shuttle. It's also not too far from Jaco, which has another beach and shopping. They arranged a great excursion with Ocean Ranch. They provided a wonderful breakfast every morning and our bed was super comfortable and clean. The owners were friendly and extremely helpful. My sister and I only stayed 3 nights, but wish it would have been longer! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasBrisas20, Manager at Las Brisas Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi Brooke S
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and also pleased that you found our hotel a “breath of fresh air”, our rooms “super comfortable and clean” and our breakfast “wonderful”. We agree it was a shame that you could only stay three nights but maybe if you are in this location again you can stay longer next time
Thanks and Best Regards
The Las Brisas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.6 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#20 of 42 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Resort and Villas

Property: Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Address: Calle Hermosa | 800 Mts Este de la Costanera, Playa Hermosa 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Brisas Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Brisas is a small, family-owned and operated hotel complex located in Playa Hermosa, Puntarenas, Costa Rica, just 1Km from the beach, 5 km South of Jaco and a short and scenic drive from the San Jose international airport. Surrounded by gardens, this cozy little retreat offers eight spacious Junior suites and three, 3-bedroom, 2-bath condos, all individually furnished and decorated with Costa Rican ambiance. The Junior Suites: The one bedroom suites have en-suite shower room, kitchenette, air conditioning, hot water, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, FREE wifi, sleep 2 - 4 people on a queen bed and pull out full bed. Suites are pool side and include complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast at the rancho. We offer FREE calls to US/Canada/Europe.Villas: The villas and condos at Las Brisas are ideal for couples, families and small groups. All villas have 3-bedrooms and 2-full-Bathrooms. We can offer a 2-bedroom option simply by closing the third bedroom. All villas have air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen, cable TV, FREE wifi, roof terrace with rancho, wet bar and BBQ, sleep 6-8 people. The villas have full use of the complex pool and spa tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Las Brisas Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort And Villas Hotel Playa Hermosa
Las Brisas Resort And Villas Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing