We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect! Our stay could not have been more Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermosa Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermosa Bungalows
North Tustin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect! Our stay could not have been more Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We just got back from staying at the Hermosa Beach Bungalows in Bungalow 4. This Bungalow is wonderful! It is ocean front and decorated beautifully! We stayed 5 nights and wanted to continue to stay for longer! My husband and I were traveling with our 9 and 11 year old girls. They loved the bunk beds and having a space for themselves! So much nicer than a hotel room. The bungalow comes with everything you need. The washer/dryer was so nice as we didn't have to pack as many clothes for our trip. The Manager Twinka and her daughter Alexandra were so very very helpful! We arrived to food and cold drinks already stocked which was so nice as we drove from Arenal at night. Twinka set up all our activities and they were all fantastic! We even had Twinka take family photos of us on the beach! We always felt safe (other than the crazy driving) but we can't wait to go back! We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else that is for sure!

Room Tip: #4 is beautiful but the grounds are so nice I am sure all the units would be great to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have been coming to the hermosa bungalows for about 6 years now and always make this the last stop for our trip to costa rica. The houses have everything you need down to the wine opener. They have AC and washer and dryers. The location is a quick stop outside of jaco, which has ever amenity you need, but out of the touristy busy vibe of jaco. The surf is pounding outside your door to lull you to sleep, scarlet macaws fly overhead and geckos sing you a song as the night rolls in. Twinka and Alexandra are the most accomodating hosts ever and will give you advice and help you choose the perfect activities. I Am actually sitting on the porch of my bungalow right now, using the Internet and having a little Chilean wine, wishing I could stay longer. What a beautiful way to end a perfect trip.

Room Tip: Book with twinka. There are several managers on site but the bungalows she rents are in excellent c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed in the Hermosa Beach Bungalows on our trip to Costa Rica in February. We loved the quaint, quiet community that we were in. Situated right across from an endless surfer beach you can walk for hours and hardly see a soul. House was equipped with everything we needed including a wonderful hammock on the porch. Twinka, the manager, set us up on some great excursions- white water rafting and a yacht trip to an island. It was perfect to have someone set us up on reputable tours- someone who had actually done them herself. We stayed in #16 and loved the huge porch!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are still having the time of our lives here. The people are incredibly friendly. We have been to Costa Rica many times and find this the best by far. Very safe here, great $8.00 by taxi to go to the charming village of Jaco. On the way you can walk to wonderful restaurants and bars. You can get cabs for $95 back to San Jose.

The bungalows are beautiful and suitable for anyone. They have every convience you can imagine. We cook often but like to wonder to the restuarants every once in awhile. You are steps away from the beach. The beach is dark sand so make sure you bring you flip flops. The water is warm.

This is the perfect place to pamper you and your love ones.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilove2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed in newly remodeled #4, right on the beach with an all glass front. We had a wonderful, relaxing trip. We even watched whales from our front porch!! Twinka and Alexandra are great hosts too. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Beachfront with all the amenities you would find at home. The pool, the outdoor showers, and the hammocks are wonderful. We stayed in #8 and our friends were in #7. I woke up at sunsrise to surf and could see a sliver of the waves from my kitchen window while brewing fresh Costa Rican coffee I bought in Jaco. Waves were Chest-Head high and clean every morning for a week right out front by the Almond Tree. No crowds in the water and you are 100 feet fron the bungalows.

A ten minute walk to a cool little area where the Backyard Bar & Grill is.(great breakfast, and the place right next to it has cheap dinners. We had fresh caught tuna steaks weith all the fixins for like $8(buy one get one $16) There are a few breakfast places and good spots to eat beachfront and rent surfboards.

The location is perfect. Playa Hermosa is about a 7 minute drive from Jaco. I prefer Hermosa over Jaco because I can escape the energy of Jaco and still be very close to the party.

The Bungalows are situated on a dirt road close to the main road and are very peaceful with no neighbors and hardly any cars passing by. We loved it. At the end of the dirt road about 10 minutes further is a cool Turtle Sanctuary where if you time it right can experience the baby turtles heading out to see.

Our property manager Twinka made recommendations for excursions. We got a discount and did Zip Lines, Croc Tour, Waterfalls, and Manuel Antonio. I loved the waterfall adventure. We went on our own (7 guys). Got directions to a lady's house by car about (45min south) and parked for $5pp. After hiking through cow pastures, ravines, trails in the rainforest for about 30 minutes we came accross an awesome waterfall. We hiked around to the top and took turns Jumping off into deep pools. best time of my life.

This was my second time to Costa Rica and I prefer Playa Hermosa over Tamarindo and recommend the Hermosa Beach Bungalows. You get a lot for a good price and the locals are so nice. During my stay, I considered how I could live there. Pura Vida!! ;)

Room Tip: #7 had a comfortable couch, nice furniture, next to quiet pool and a hammock on the porch. Very Home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Bungalows

Property: Hermosa Bungalows
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hermosa Bungalows Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing