We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I stay in Hermosa!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Vista Hermosa
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The Monge family is awesome. This place is the last Tico owned place around and I hope it can hang on with all the expat money being pumped in the area. You cannot ask for a better location and price if you want to relax and catch some great, consitent waves. If you are looking to get pampered, then pick one of the many, many others around. Seriously, wake up, check the surf by looking out your window (or listening to the thundering impacts), paddle out, come in and grab some grub, relax and nap in the hammock, paddle out again, nap in hammock, snack, paddle out one last time for sunset session. Repeat every day. If that sounds good to you, then this is the spot!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uberkrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel just one night because I had a flight at noon the next day in San Jose and this area is 2 hours from the airport. I spent a week in southern Costa Rica which is about 7 hours from the airport.... too far to drive the morning of the flight.

Anyway, this place was pretty bad. From the outside, it looks pretty nice. But the room had a horrible smell of pee, and we had to hold our breath before going in the bathroom because the smell was so bad.

We were a group of 3 on a surf trip.... our 5th to Costa Rica.

The pillows were horrible and flat, and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. One of the blankets had 2 small blood stains on it. The room had a set of bunk beds, and a set of twin beds pushed together, and the room was pretty much stuffed. Little room was available for walking around.

The bathroom smelled, and also had a dirty mop and mop bucket in it, which may of added to the small. There were no towels at all in the room. We could not find anyone to ask for them.

All night long we heard the trucks on the road, and people yelling and being loud outside.

The pool needed some major TLC, doors were falling off the pump house, there was dirt everywhere splashed up on concrete walls and doors. The pool had some sort of slimy scum on the surface.

The room had a sliding glass door instead of a normal solid hotel room door. It was very difficult to lock, and was not very secure.


The only good thing I can say about this place is the attached resturant was really good. I definately will not stay at this place on my next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaxbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fuyez.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milounicoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Caro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank LuisBermunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
98 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
153 reviews
0 mi away
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
#2 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Marea Brava
Marea Brava
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
266 reviews
0 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
201 reviews
0 mi away
Ecovital Costa Rica
Ecovital Costa Rica
#9 of 15 in Playa Hermosa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Vista Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Vista Hermosa

Address: Road 34, Playa Hermosa, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Hermosa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing