We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Lap of Luxury”
Review of Plaza Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Resort
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed on the second floor of The Plaza Resort and absolutely loved it! It is literally right on the beach, with picturesque sunsets and fantastic surf. You could watch the surfers for hours. The black sand beach was peaceful and quiet. There is also a private pool which was refreshing and beautifully lit for night swiming. The rooms were immaculate and high end, it was like a five star hotel. This place was just minutes away from Jaco, so the location could not have been better. We enjoyed deep sea fishing, zip-lining, restaurants with seafood caught that day and beachside bars at night. Also, there is a fantastic beachside breakfast spot, just a walk down the beach. One of our favorite memories was watching a sea turtle lay her eggs on the beach right before our eyes and then return to the ocean! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiekurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed in the second floor beachfront unit for 4 days and sooooo wish I could have stayed longer. What an amazing place, it was truly paradise! The rental rate was a great price for being right on the beach, and the furnishings in the unit were all high end and meticulously cared for. The beach was a soft black sand beach called Playa Hermosa, easily the most beautiful beach I saw while in Costa Rica. Falling asleep to...and then waking up to...the sound of Playa Hermosa's waves was so relaxing. I don't surf, but watching the surfers on what I'm told are some of Costa Rica's best surf waves from my balcony was mesmerizing.

The resort manager Jeff was attentive and helpful in making arrangements to go to the nearby Manuel Antonio National Park to see the white-faced monkeys, sloths, etc. We also rented wave runners, which were a blast! Playa Hermosa was the perfect mix of a quiet beach away from the crowds, but only about a 5 minute drive to Jaco which had terrific restaurants and fun clubs late-night. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
Thank Marlon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Esteban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
#1 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermosa Beach House
Hermosa Beach House
#5 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marea Brava
Marea Brava
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort

Address: Meters West Of Soccer Field 50, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular sunsets after a day filled with adventure such as surfing, hiking to a secret waterfall, zipping through the jungle on a canopy tour or horseback riding on the beach. Maybe just chill in a hammock under the shade of the palm trees and re-connect with nature. Oceanfront/poolside or exotic garden views. Large 2 bedroom 2 bathroom units, ceramic flooring, custom hardwood cabinetry, gourmet kitchen, top of line appliances, oversized bathtubs, huge closets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing