We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Resort
Save
You added Plaza Resort to your Saves list
50 meters west of soccer field, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Couldn't have asked for anything more. Full kitchen. Two bedrooms. Two bathrooms. Pool overlooking the beach. Really, really nice. Perfect for couples (or multiple couples or couple w/ kids). Hermosa is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lurch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I got married a month ago and this is where my wife and I began our honeymoon. We had been to playa hermosa before and have always wanted to stay here. it did not disappoint. Beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony right on playa hermosa. Its the ideal set up for me and my wife. Pool on the beach with great waves right out front. We couldn't ask for more. It's great that you have a full kitchen there to as I was able to make coffee and breakfast every morning after I surfed for my wife and I and we'd sit out on the balcony and eat with a priceless ocean view. The food in the area is great too and if you want to head to Jaco for some food be sure to hit up I heart Sushi. Amazing fish! We loved Plaza Resort and can't wait to go back. Jeff, the owner, is fantastic too. Very easy to get a hold of via email and returns emails very promptly. He runs the place like its a business which doesn't always happen in Playa Hermosa. One more note, the plant life on the grounds are beautiful and very well taken care of. Just amazing all around.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shacked26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Pristine apartment with a fully stocked kitchen. Right on Hermosa beach with a gorgeous swimming pool. Surfing right our front is great if you're a pro, we drove down to the south end of Jaco beach for smaller, beginner waves. Our place had 2 bathroom, 2 bedrooms a huge dinning room, living room and a great balcony. Everything looked brand new

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed on the second floor of The Plaza Resort and absolutely loved it! It is literally right on the beach, with picturesque sunsets and fantastic surf. You could watch the surfers for hours. The black sand beach was peaceful and quiet. There is also a private pool which was refreshing and beautifully lit for night swiming. The rooms were immaculate and high end, it was like a five star hotel. This place was just minutes away from Jaco, so the location could not have been better. We enjoyed deep sea fishing, zip-lining, restaurants with seafood caught that day and beachside bars at night. Also, there is a fantastic beachside breakfast spot, just a walk down the beach. One of our favorite memories was watching a sea turtle lay her eggs on the beach right before our eyes and then return to the ocean! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiekurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed in the second floor beachfront unit for 4 days and sooooo wish I could have stayed longer. What an amazing place, it was truly paradise! The rental rate was a great price for being right on the beach, and the furnishings in the unit were all high end and meticulously cared for. The beach was a soft black sand beach called Playa Hermosa, easily the most beautiful beach I saw while in Costa Rica. Falling asleep to...and then waking up to...the sound of Playa Hermosa's waves was so relaxing. I don't surf, but watching the surfers on what I'm told are some of Costa Rica's best surf waves from my balcony was mesmerizing.

The resort manager Jeff was attentive and helpful in making arrangements to go to the nearby Manuel Antonio National Park to see the white-faced monkeys, sloths, etc. We also rented wave runners, which were a blast! Playa Hermosa was the perfect mix of a quiet beach away from the crowds, but only about a 5 minute drive to Jaco which had terrific restaurants and fun clubs late-night. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marea Brava
Marea Brava
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
#3 of 10 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecovital Costa Rica
Ecovital Costa Rica
#7 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort

Address: 50 meters west of soccer field, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular sunsets after a day filled with adventure such as surfing, hiking to a secret waterfall, zipping through the jungle on a canopy tour or horseback riding on the beach. Maybe just chill in a hammock under the shade of the palm trees and re-connect with nature. Oceanfront/poolside or exotic garden views. Large 2 bedroom 2 bathroom units, ceramic flooring, custom hardwood cabinetry, gourmet kitchen, top of line appliances, oversized bathtubs, huge closets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing