We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got my purse stolen from here...”

Backyard Bar Playa Hermosa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: The Backyard Bar and Restaurant Located next to the hotel on the beach in Playa Hermosa, The Backyard offers you an amazing open air dining experience. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served on our oceanfront terrace from 8 a.m. til 10 p.m. daily. Breakfast is served from 8 a.m. til 11 a.m daily. Free typical breakfast for hotel guests. Theres nothing like a quiet breakfast on our oceanfront terrace. Lunch and dinner plates are served from 11 a.m. til 10 p.m. Great salads, burgers, sandwiches, wraps, burritos, ceviche and of course or world famous wings will keep you satisfied for lunch or try our fresh seafood delivered daily. Tuna, mahi-mahi, lobster, jumbo shrimp, whole red snapper or ceviche. U.S.D.A new york strip, filet mignon, pastas or our local dish "casados" arroz con pollo, arroz con camerones. Hopefuly you'll have time to try them all.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got my purse stolen from here...”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Pretty positive the waitress stole my purse containing 2 wallets & 2 cameras. We were the ONLY table in this restaurant & my purse (on my chair shoulder) went missing. Apparently the cameras "weren't working that day." Don't recommend this place & if you do go, KEEP YOUR PURSE CLOSE!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    43
    8
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed in Playa Hermosa a few weeks ago and we stummbled accross this place but were very pleased. We only had appetizers and drinks but the service was great. We were there during a surf contest and I must say it was pretty cool to be able to sit at the table and watch the surfers only a short distance away.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but not great during the week - Nice view & sunset, but that was it”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

You would think that this bar / restaurant placed in the middle of nowhere, relatively speaking as it's on the highway out of Jaco in the small town of Hermosa, would come across as offering something exceptional especially when you get a great impression with their social media marketing, but no ... food was just ok, service was slow and prices were not cheap. We went during the week so there weren't many people in the place, but nevertheless staff were less than attentive, and other than the ambiance of being right on the beach with the waves in the background to a great sunset, the eating experience was nothing to write home about.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FUN Spot!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Backyard hosts a BBQ and surf competition on Saturdays that draws quite the crowd. The food was good and the drinks cold. But the REAL fun comes on Wednesday nights, which is the local ladies night. The bar draws tourists and locals all looking for a fun night out!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for viewing the surfers”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Expensive but nice view and good food. Also fun music

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank joni42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Bar Playa Hermosa also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Backyard Bar Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing