We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended if you are a surfer!”
Review of Surf Inn Hermosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Inn Hermosa
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Our group of adults and teen surfers stayed at the Surf Inn Hermosa for a weeklong senior trip and had a great experience. First of all, Christina was a pleasure to work with before we even arrived & she was so helpful throughout our week there. We rented both of her two bedroom condos and one of her hotel rooms. They were new, clean, & right on the beach! The condos have excellent views but there is no view from the rooms. Though the pool was VERY small, it was refreshing and we enjoyed the grassy area on the beach. The surfing in front of the hotel is the best around. Surf Inn has a small cafe and the food is very good but there are limited hours of operation. There are several restaurants right by the hotel that were very good as well. We ate at Lemon Zest in Jaco and it was excellent. Make sure you go to Los Suenos Marina too! Great views, food and upscale shopping. The Marriott there is gorgeous but no surfing :(....We also did the zipline and the ATV tours and they were both worth the time & money. We worked with Phillip at Surf the Earth Costa Rica for our transportation to and from the airport as well as our tours and he was super to work with. I highly recommend them....they also took GREAT pictures.
Our only negative comment would be that the kitchen is not well stocked for cooking alot. We checked out other hotels in Hermosa and came to realize we had made the perfect choice for our surfing group! It's the only one to stay at while in Hermosa. As a matter of fact, some of our group are returning already in August..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

Easy to find, centrally located, great food, beautiful view and great waves right out the back yard! We stayed on site for most of our trip, only taking a few small day trips to sight see. The Surf Inn has a great restaurant on the top floor giving the best view of the beaches on all of Hermosa. You are also within 1/4 mile walk of many other great restaurants to add some variety. The pool is uniquely designed as part of the hotel and feels great after I nice sunburn on the black sand beaches. If you're a surfer that you probably know that you can score dry barrels on any head high day (which it was for our entire trip!) Mike is a great surfer with a TON of local knowledge of other surf spots in the region. He may even take you to his secret spot! The rooms are like no other. New, modern furniture with an open full kitchen with an island. Tile floors, cold a/c, wireless internet and cable tv (if you happen to be inside for any amount of time.) It is a nice area but the have a night guard that watches the property. I think this is mainly to watch the parking lot, because rental vehicles have been stolen from other hotels in the past. I never got the feeling that the place wasn't safe, but it was nice to have that extra bit of security in the back of our minds. We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcouturier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The fish in the fish pitas is very fresh as was everything we had. The views were stellar as well.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank IliveITB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Review is a bit late as we traveled right after Thanksgiving holiday thru the beginning of December. From the beginning, Christina was a pleasure to work with. Super responsive with scheduling reservations (I asked A LOT of questions) for our stay, amazingly flexible when in came to assisting with excursions, and not to mention-super hospitable. She and Mike were extremely friendly and accomodating as were the staff. The grounds were kept clean and the rooms are great with updated furnishings.

They have a restaurant on the 3rd floor with beautiful sunset views and free wi-fi. The swimming pool is great because the water is much cooler than the ocean for the perfect dip after some sun bathing. The waves were pretty steady throughout our 10 day stay. There are more surf spots within walking distance as well. This is a surfer's paradise! I would highly recommend Surf Inn to anyone looking to stay in Hermosa.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asudevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of Surf Inn Hermosa. We appreciate it and hope to see you next time you come thru Costa Rica. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

been to C.R. several times but this was the 1st with Christina and Mike at Surf Inn. my wiffe and i renewed our vows { a surprise for my wife that Christina helped me arrange}. they were both very accommodating and the room was very clean and updated. there is a restaurant on the 3rd floor overlooking the ocean and the food there is wonderful, esp the mahi-mahi with the vanilla cream sauce. we would highly recommend this place to any of our friends and we will definitely visit here again. the workman's

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jworkman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed hosting you all and were blessed to help you renew your vows! Hope to see you on your next trip back to Costa Rica. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

This hotel is in a beautiful location, right on Playa Hermosa. The staff and owners were super helpful and attentive. They were very helpful and flexible in setting up tours and excursions for our group. The room was spacious, we had 7 people in our group and we fit very comfortably. The room was very clean and the furnishings were modern and comfortable. The room had huge sliding glass doors that led out to a patio that faced the beach, so you could wake up and see the beatiful veiw of the beach everyday. The view from the 3rd floor was also spectacular. I used the free WIFI everyday, that was a big plus! The cafe (on the third floor) had great good! The supplied umbrellas and beach chairs in the room for your personal use, which I was very happy about. The pool has a nice waterfall, it was always clean, cool, and refreshing. I also thought the grass in the back by the beach was a major plus since the sand gets really hot there. My entire experience here was excellent....very relaxing!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanhernand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were happy with our staff and had a relaxing vacation. We hope to see you next time you visit Costa Rica. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Needed to get away and relax. This is the place!!! The room was comfortable, the views were beautiful, the food delicious, the surf the best. Can't wait to get back

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssliwinski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
#1 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marea Brava
Marea Brava
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Inn Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Inn Hermosa

Address: 200 meters south of Escuela Pochotal, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PURA VIDA Costa Rican getaway, ideally situated in the heart of Playa Hermosa. Surf Inn is located oceanfront at one of Playa Hermosa's most consistent surf spots. These rentals consist of: two 2 bed/2 bath ocean front condos and four furnished studio apartments which are just steps from the beach. Each room features a queen size bed with individual bunk in custom designed bed frames. The front lawn is a popular spot to sit and watch the mesmerizing surfing going on out front. On-site owners & great staff assure attention to detail during your stay. Playa Hermosa's Restaurants and Bars are all within walking distance. Jaco Beach is a 5 minute Taxi Ride away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Inn Hermosa Hotel Playa Hermosa
Surf Inn Hermosa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing