We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel just outside Jaco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermosa Beach House
Reviewed September 21, 2011

A perfect setting for a hotel. Nice room, clean sheets, towels, etc. Loved the pool. Just a few minutes from Jaco—which is a good thing. Cheapest place for laundry in Costa Rica—a tip for the maid. I had no problem with any hotel in Costa Rica regarding reservations and prices. Did it all in advance, online, and paid. No confusion about taxes, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etccda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2011

This place was beautiful and perfectly located! Great service and very friendly. Anyone going to Costa Rica to surf, this is a great place to stay! There is a killer beach break right out front!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had the best time in costa rica. We went for A week on new years and had plans to travel all over. Once we got to the hotel we ended up spending our entire trip there. The staff was great. The pool was incredible for us and the kids, basically the pool was located on the beach. Oh and the beach was volcanic sand which was pretty cool too.

The rooms were always clean and they had all of the amenities that we were looking for. There were about five restaurants with in walking distance to the hotel and a little store right around the corner

I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammyt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My friend and I were traveling and had a reservation made online with this hotel for New Years Eve. We received an email telling us that our reservation was made. When we arrived, we were told that our reservation was never placed. Since it was New Years Eve, getting another reservation on incredibly short notice was going to be hard. The manager/ owner was hostile and very unaccommodating. I would NOT recommend this hotel, but the beachfront hotel immediately next door instead (Tortuga Del Mar).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during Spring Break. We do not recommend Beach House at Hermosa Beach. My teenage daughter got a severe ear infection from their pool water. The room was missing towels, the fan was broken, the A/C did not work properly, the tv remote as missing, and others.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Blakeslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here because it seemed like the cheapest option with the most offered in the room. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was perfect for relaxing and getting some sun. All rooms came with a sink, refrigerator, freezer, microwave, cups, plates, and silverware. Each room had private bathrooms with hot water!
It was great to run to the market and grab supplies for the week. It was within walking distance to a great canopy tour, atv's, restaurants (i would recommend the Jungle Surf Cafe), and the Backyard Bar for night life. It was a quick 10 minute cab ride into Jaco if you are looking for more night life.

If you are looking for a place to keep your stuff and use it as a jump off point, i would recommend the Hermosa Beach House. Jorge and Chris were great managers that always had the answer to our questions and concerns!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheaper getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I chose to take may husband to the Hermosa Beach House for surfing on his 70th birthday. The hotel was on the beach with an excellent view of world class surfers.( our surf teacher was a world champ). We were the only ones staying during the rainy season. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had a suite with a bedroom, bathroom, living area, kitchenette, and 2 queen beds. A security guard walked around during the night. We always felt safe. The hotel is in a quiet area-Hermosa Beach. We walked on the black sand. The surfing area is not for beginners. Our surf teacher took us to Jaco for our high tide lessons. It rained heavy on one day- didn't stop us from exploring. Fabulous eating places within walking distance. The owners came out to met us as we walked by.We enjoyed every minute and would stay at the Hermosa Beach House.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferchic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
#1 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costanera Bed and Breakfast
Costanera Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Beach House

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful beachfront hotel located in one of the best surf destinations in Costa Rica. World-class surfing located right out your front door. Cabinas and suites available all include air conditioning, cable TV, hot water, kitchenettes, and a huge pool. Come stay with us at Hermosa Beach House in beautiful Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hermosa Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Beach House Hotel Playa Hermosa
Hermosa Beach House Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing