We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
160
86
34
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
86
34
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbi fold doorsbyron baypamper packagejapanese stylerelaxing massageking suiteromantic getawayoutdoor spaprivate balconyrooms are smallthe hustle and bustlerainforest settinghire carnight staystayed one nightshort stayhoop
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 308 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Stayed in 'Azabu' amoungst the tall trees for first 3 nights of our 10 day holiday in Byron Bay. Perfect place to relax & unwind in a quiet peaceful bushland setting. We were warmly welcomed & staff very helpful & delightful to speak to. We thoroughly enjoyed waking to the sounds of the local wildlife & having our breakfast served to us on our balcony each morning (at our nominated time). Why would you want to go anywhere else? It was lovely to relax & read by the pool one afternoon (a bit too cool to swim) but we enjoyed hoping into the outdoor spa each night. There is also a sauna to use if you wish. Treated myself to massage & facial one evening which was just heavenly. A walk around the gardens before we had to leave completed our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Recommend you choose to include breakfast when booking
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Hello Bronwyn,
So pleased you were able to unwind and relax here @ Azabu. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Thank you so much for the loverly review. All the best
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

This place is amazing!
We arrived and Angela was helpful and we even had a DVD selection to use for our rooms which was nice as there was no wifi but that's ok as it was a relax getaway from all of that.
Our room was really good- we just came for the spa bath to be honest which was amazing! They also have pool, hot tub and sauna. Also love the lights of the trees at night. Just need the steam room next ;)

Love the area and the peacocks. We felt so happy and relaxed and wished we could stay longer, we'll be back again!
Side note :wish we tried the massages and breakfast but for next time.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank yoyoruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

I loved Byron Bay, wandering through the shops and gorgeous beaches, quite crowded with tourists even at this time of year. How wonderful to come apart for a bit or r&r. I opened the timber doors and we slept with the smells and sounds of the bush, wonderful. Loved the bath with a glass of wine and the quality coffee. Realised we should have ordered breakfast to enjoy it on the balcony.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cathnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Azubu is located in a bushland setting away from the hustle and bustle of main street Byron Bay - but still within easy reach of the cafes and beaches and other attractions. Yes the rooms are smaller than you might get in a 5 star hotel but still more than adequate (especially if you've been to Japan and experienced some of the accommodation there!). Where else can you have peacocks sitting on the railing of your veranda and watch bush turkeys scrabble about below deck? Waking to hear the noises of little night creatures and seeing the hoop pine tree tops against the sky was an absolute delight. Facilities are clean and well appointed. Angela is a warm and welcoming host and nothing was too much trouble. Had a wonderful hot stone massage at the spa located at the accommodation and then a soak in the outdoor hot tub. A delicious breakfast was available in our room or vouchers provided to a couple of local cafes. We tried both options and enjoyed them all. Bliss!

Room Tip: Don't expect huge 5 star hotel type rooms - think Japanese style compact and you'll be well pleased.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank irenad580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This hotel had many pros and cons.

The pros: very peaceful location up in the hills with a view of the forest. The pool and spa are also quite relaxing. On the surface, it seems like a great place for couples.

The cons: the layout of the room was quite bizarre. We chose a Queen Spa room, anticipating a romantic evening. Instead, the bathtub was quite small for one person, and definitely two small for two. The bathtub is also located very close to the bed, so we ended up getting water everywhere upon stepping out of the bath tub.

We visited in winter, and it got pretty chilly at night. There was no heater in our rooms or lobby, which made our visit less than relaxing. On top of that, the wifi didn't work in our rooms!

For the price, I wouldn't stay here again if you are looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Avoid the Queen Spa room -- water will end up all over your bedroom floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews