We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cara Suites
Nearby Hotels
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Hotel(San Fernando)
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn Flight Suites(Piarco)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm's Hotel Trinidad(Port of Spain)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
58
73
37
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
73
37
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan fernandomeal optionsfamily staybuffet breakfastwedding partybusiness purposesadjoining roomsgoing out of their waygreat view of the oceanwide varietyhotel lobbylocal foodsroom was clean and comfortablehotel staytaxi drivercustomer service issouthern part
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 190 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just back home after spending four nights excellent at Cara Suites. Great rooms with plenty of DSTV channels. Well-stocked mini-bar.
Superb, hearty breakfasts designed for the hungry surveyors and marine superintendents that seem to form the lion's share of the hotel's guests.
A great bar from which to view the sea.
Too many mosquitos were the only downside in what is Trinidad's rainy season, but the inserts ate beyond the hotel's control.
Finally, a great GM in the shape of Hassel Thom. One of life's true gentlemen, a pleasure to meet and someone couldn't do enough to help.

Room Tip: Try to bag a sea view room in the new block.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stay here when I come to Point Lisas for business occasionally. Definitely the best hotel in the area. Not where I would want to stay for vacation though. The area is not very good, and the hotel staff constantly warn you not to leave the hotel. I go running though, and have never encountered a problem. The service is always very good and the food is decent. Most people hang out at the bar in the late afternoon and early evening to watch the sun set.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This month I had another opportunity to visit this hotel , and as always was overwelmed by the friendly reception i receive when staying here.
When it comes to warmth and friendliness i cant think of anywhere which comes close.
The hotel is undergoing some modernisation but that is "bricks and mortar" the people make it happen for me.
if you are in the south of trinidad there are a number of options but trust me this is the best and i would go as far as saying some of the blue chip hotel chains could do worse than checking in here to see how to look after a guest.
not sure if they read this but thanks and look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: for me the older rooms with outside balcony are best my younger colleague prefers the new block
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is my first trip back since mid-last year and must say that I am rather impressed with my room, refurbished pool and the always fabulous sunset.
What was also noticeable was the friendly service at the bay from the Bartender Shawn and a very helpful supervisor in the Restaurant, who must be new but a great addition to the team.

I look forward to my next visit later sometime in June.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing. A bit more but definitely worth the couple dollars extra.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawberry1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I checked in on 3rd March for a one night stopover. the newly upgraded rooms are very well appointed and finished. However, the pool was algae covered with loose mosiac tiles littering the bottom. The restaurant put on a very tired buffet at night.The dearth of decent hotels in Sando means that i think they make their money too easily and dont have to try. i will look for an alternative for my next trip

Room Tip: choose a revamped room
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews