We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly beautiful White Island”
Review of White Island

White Island
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Camiguin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful White Island”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The island is really amazing!! It seems floating and you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling in the island. It is just a few minutes away from the main land and the boat ride is also a lot of fun. You can watch the majestic Mt. Hibok hibok from the White Island. Some fishermen were selling see urchin for you to taste and you must try it. The sand bar is more or less 100 meters long.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lowellrublico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    126
    41
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from white island!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wow, what can I say about this beautiful little white sand bar....PERFECT!!!...The views of the volcano and camiguin island once you on white island are Amazing. The sand is soft in some areas and pebbles in other areas....the ocean is very clear and warm. I have been there 2 times and will go back again next year....also there is now a fee to go to this island it is small I can't remember how much......It is worth every peso...haha...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank branlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEBU
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I’ve always wanted to see what’s on a sand bar. On a plane I thought it’s a piece of dessert in the middle of the sea. After visiting Camiguin’s fame White Island –it’s actually a piece of heaven on earth. It’s just bare white sand in the middle of the sea-no palm trees or rocks just plain white sand. It’s hot so bring your sunscreen, take a dip because sometimes the island will be submerged underwater. The kids would love this place same goes for lovers and families, too. Great time to visit is in the morning or afternoon. You can bring food or drinks but make sure you only take gorgeous pictures when you return. To get there one must negotiate with a boatman to rent a banca. Ours cost 400 pesos round trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“nice white sand”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

the sand was really white. the water was very nice but there was not place to stay. you can only stay for a very short time as the tide tends to rise.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1step_1kmilejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Camiguin "White Island"”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I wished we'd more time to stay in this peaceful place. A truly white island with very clear water and adorable waves. If you're a beach lover don't missed this place in your list of places to visit.
Going there is not that expensive than what we spent during our shopping. I've read a review of the girl named scarletf and found it really great, then I've contacted Kuya Teddy who accommodated us with our Camiguin tour. We had a great experience during our trip since people we've met were friendly, place we've stayed was cool for bedtime and we dine @ "luna pizza restorante" which they served us a yummy food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank loumier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Island also viewed

 

Been to White Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing