We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic untouristy island

We recently spent 4 days on this lovely island and stayed at superb accommodation named Balai sa... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
tommomelbourne
,
Melbourne, Australia
A Great vacation...

It would have been better had we spend more day to tour around, there are views and "must sees" we... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
VisionFaith
,
San Mateo, Philippines
Read all 352 reviews
  
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
229
93
20
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
93
20
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laid back katibawasan falls sunken cemetery tourist spots per day cold spring ferry boat cagayan de oro friendly locals benoni port multi cab white beach hibok hibok day tour holy week old church swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 352 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

all your nicest word to appreciate this place is not enough for sure. an extra ordinary escapade. A place were people are friendly,the food are fresh and of course every place in this tiny island has takes to amaze you and prepare your self to get surprise!!!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank saintfude0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is really a nice island. Though travelling to this island from CDO may be lengthy but it is worth it.

Though I did not visit many sites on this island, you can feel that this island is very laid back and the people are friendly.

I would advice anyone to go to Camiguin form CDO to start early like 0300hrs so you can maximise your time there.

Date of experience: February 2013
3  Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Seven volcanoes formed this small province, just less than an hour ferry boat trip from the port of Balingoan in the province of Misamis Oriental (mainland Mindanao). The people are friendly, the atmosphere is verdant and blessed with unspoiled natural wonders - hot and cold springs, old Spanish church ruins, a sunken catholic cemetery, volcanic peaks, native flora and fauna, fruits, cheap food and souvenirs.....Two of us hired a multicab (the main transportation of the island) for a whole day trek to tourist attractions and other sceneries that took our fancy......with a very reliable and friendly tour guide Mr. Danny (# +639161071977).....this was my second time to visit the island but I will soon be back for a longer stay

Date of experience: December 2012
4  Thank csaramir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and just lay back and relax, Camiguin is the place to be! Secluded in the northern part of Mindanao, this laid-back island offers a lot to have a relaxing weekend. Getting here, however is not easy but the trip is definitely worth it! You can fly out either to Cagayan de Oro or Bohol and then catch a ferry that goes to the island. This island is like Boracay minus all the commercilism. Aside from the pristine beaches, you can do hiking/trekking, scuba diving, off road biking, dipping in all sort of natural pools (soda pool, hot pool, cold pool, etc) and of course different water sports/activities. I would highly recommend this and I would definitely want to come back!

Date of experience: May 2012
4  Thank gerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was lucky to stay on the Island with my partners family and i can only tell you that is is truly beautiful. With volcanic beaches and lush jungle type fauna, clear blue waters and not too many tourists this is my paradise. THe people are just wonderfully friendly, like anywhere in the Phillipines, but i just enjoyed my stay because the weather is hot and the places to visit are all in beautiful locations, the many waterfalls and spa's give you plenty to sightsee and also there is a spot called "white island" -which seems famous beyond belief , trust me it is just a sandbank wich the moment you land on it seems under attack from the ocean however it is awesome, the look on my "in-laws" was worth the 600 peso trip, it is breathtaking ! but i reserve my best for the Hot spa, just go and enjoy. i would say get your times right, in the summer it is roasting hot, so go to white beach very early and plan to go to the spa in the late afternoon, Dont forget it is not Dubai or thailand where they do cater for tourism much better, it is a living island and i would hate to see it go like Boracay but Tourism does bring many benefits, the crossing is simple, i flew from manila and taxied to the ferry port in Balingoan, it was a crazy way to go , i made the last ferry, just !! So next time i just overnight in CDO and get the fast cat, I could write a book about this, it is my paradise and if anyone wants to know more, use google and Camiguin has plenty of websites, if anyone has q's please just ask !

Date of experience: September 2012
6  Thank AdamP609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews