We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island On Mindanao in the Philippines!”
Review of Camiguin Island

Camiguin Island
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Camiguin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The island-province of Camiguin is a pear-shaped volcanic island in the northern tip of Mindanao. It is approximately 90 kilometers north of the City of Cagayan de Oro. It is bounded to the north by Bohol Sea, to the west by Macajalar Bay, to the southeast by Gingoog Bay and to the east by Butuan Bay.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island On Mindanao in the Philippines!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Camiguin Island is one of the nicest places Ive been in the Phils, quiet, laid back, beautiful beaches, snorkeling, diving, touring by motorcycle, lots of things to do. We were there in August 2011 for 4 nights, I would have liked to have stayed longer. not to miss are the Ardent Hot Springs, Katibawasan falls, White Island and the Soda Cold Springs. There is also the sunken cemetery, stations of the cross at the old volcano and the Philvoc volcano museum above Mambajao town.There are lots of good restaurants in the resort area (near Action Gecko's) and even the street food was good. We had White Marlin bbq'd on a stick one nite for 20p/stick (45cents!) wash that down with a San Migul or Redhorse beer and for about $2 dinner's taken care of!

We stayed at Action Gecko's resort, they were very good and put together a package for 4 nites for us including the m/c rentals, breakfasts, and a tour to White Island. Very professional which in the Phils sometimes can be hard to come by!.

I shall return!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    73
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A short visit to a natural beauty”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Camiguin was our first destination during our 3-day tour in Mindanao. Upon arrival at the Lumbia Airport in CDO around nine o'clock in the morning, we immediatey headed to Balingoan Port via a Corolla Altis. After approximately 2 hours of land travel, we waited in the Balingoan Seaport for our one hour sail via RORO to Benoni Port, the gateway of Camiguin, where Kuya Frank Pojas, our tourguide/ driver was waiting for us.We arrived in the Island at two oclock in the afternoon which was late for an island tour. We met Kuya Frank at the arrival area and explained right away what would our itineray be to maximize the rest of the day. Our first stop, Sto. Nino Cold Spring, relieved us from sticky feeling got from the long hours of travel. We stayed there only for an hour so we could visit more attractions. Old Church Ruins, Sunken Cemetery, Walkway and Station of the Cross were for picture taking only that took only 15mins in each site so we could reach the cut-off for the White Island which was 5pm. Fortunately, through the fast but careful driving of Kuya Frank, we had reached the pier for boat going to the White Island. It was a fantastic sandbar with a background of Mt. Hibok-Hibok. It was a feeling I could not explain seeing the beauty of Camiguin's nature plus the romantic view of the sunset. If we only knew how beautiful it was, we should have had got there earlier for a longer stay. At night, after checking-in at Pabua's cottages which was very near in Paras Beach, we went to Ardent Hot Spring soothe our tired body and there we had our dinner. In the next early morning (6am), Kuya Frank fetched us to bring us to Katibawas Falls where we had fun taking pictures since we were the one of the first visitors. For an hour, we played the water as if were back as kids. Immediately from there, we had to go back to Benoni for the 8:15 ferry trip to meet he 12:30pm Bukidnon tour.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank CharmingHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
248 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“I'm a Camiguin Fanatic”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Camiguin is an island most Filipinos heard of but never been to. When i got the chance to go to Camiguin I don't know what to expect because i just know that it is an island north of Mindanao main island. Now I know much more about the island province as I have been there 3x already. I can't wait for my 4th visit to Camiguin, I hope it would be soon.

The province with just an area of about 29,000 hectares has 7 volcanoes, yet it is inhabited by more than 75,000 people who must feel safe sleeping on top of a natural bomb. Whaaaat? Yes, beacause the island is truly a paradise! Must be worth it.
People think that it is just an alternative to Boracay, Bohol, Palawan and other beach destinations. That island province has it own charms and wonders. It boasts of a hot spring (Ardent Hot Spring) which is 15 mins. away from a cold spring (Sto. Nino) which is 10 mins. away from a waterfalls (Katibawasan Falls) which is 20 mins. away from the "sunken cemetery" which is 10 mins. to another hot spring which is 20 mins. by boat from a white beach that is actually a sand bar. Yes, all of those are near to each other. Cool!!! You have to go to several provinces to experience all that but not in Camiguin as they are all rolled into 1 small island.

It also owns the world record of the most number of volcanoes as per square kilometer in an island. Hiking enthusiasts may traverse its numerous trails. One can travel its circumferential road in just 1 hr. through a motorbike which is available for rent for only 500 pesos per day.

One should never leave Camiguin without tasting the yummy Pastel (a small bread filled with a sinful and calorie laden yema) available at Vjandep Bakery.

To get to Camiguin from Manila:
1. Fly to Cagayan de Oro City (at least 3 airlines are offering flights from Manila)
2. From the airport you take a taxi to Agora bus station in downtown CDO
3. Bus from Agora station to Balingoan pier
4. Ferry from Balingoan to Benoni town in Camiguin
4. Multicab, jeep or van from Benoni to your accommodation

Helpful?
31 Thank kegler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“camiguin island”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

if you visit camiguin island, you must visit white island, it is not an island but a sand bar, the best time to got there is sunrise .

Helpful?
4 Thank raffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,974 reviews
849 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4,117 helpful votes
“Largely unspoilt: definitely worth a two day visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This island may not now have scheduled air services but do not let that deter you.

It is a delightful, safe place with friendly locals.

Hotels and resorts abound, particularly the latter though some are more akin to what Westerners may call a 'motel.'

Natural and scenic attractions such as White Beach, Ardent Hot Springs and the Sunken Cemetery make for a wonderful day tour.

The island is mountainous and scenic.

Despite having a population of 80000, it felt like 2000 people lived on this attractive island.

Access from Tagbilaran or Alona Beach is via a regular coastal bus service at minimal cost between Island Mall on Tagbilaran's outskirts to Jagna (pronounced 'Hag-nah'): this takes two hours, then the 1300 hours ferry daily (four hours) from Jagna to Camiguin Island.

Alternatively, with a one and a half hour scenic bus trip from Cagayan de Oro and a one hour ferry ride, you may arrive at a different port on Camiguin - Benomi - which is about 30 kilometres from Mambajao ('Mam-bah-how' or similar - a hard one for Westerners to pronounce).

Helpful?
9 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camiguin Island also viewed

Camiguin, Mindanao
 

Been to Camiguin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing