We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
88
27
10
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
27
10
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gobi desert ger camp top notch attached bathroom watch the sunset nice bar making sure long drive an oasis three nights wonderful experience beautiful location fresh vegetables luxury tents local culture toilet paper set meal
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 127 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2009

There is a lot out there about howwonderful Three Camels Lodge is. We stayed there for 3 days and absolutely could not understand why it has such great reviews that it doesn't deseve. The food was no better, and many times worse, then food we had eaten at other ger camps. The ger we stayed in had some extra frills but was basically no nicer then any other ger we stayed in in our 2 week stay in the Mongolian countryside. Yes, it did have an attached bathroom sans shower, but frankly if you are in Mongolia you are prepared to have to go to the shower facilities to use the bathroom. Lovely porch that overlooked the Gobi--but the view was obliterated by the television blaring all the time in the adjacent room. Service was average. It was by far the most noisey ger camp we stayed at. The atmosphere was a mixture of an assisted living facility and a Motel 6. And to top this all off were exorbiant prices. How silly to have New York City prices out in the middle of the Gobi. A small bottle of water was $2.00. Laundry rates were outlandish--even as we were asked not to wash laundry in the sink! Room rates were ridiculous for what you got. The touted "library" were a few meager books and outdated magazines.We are an older couple who enjoy some luxury but Three Camels Lodge provided nothing more then any other ger camp we stayed at for considerably more money.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Three Camels is a great property. The ger's are quite comfortable and the beauty of the wide open Gobi is incredible.

Guests should keep in mind that this is an eco lodge and the location is very remote. As a result, it isn't a true "luxury" property per se. Electricity and water are limited. Guests must also share shower facilities (which are very clean). Despite these challenges, the property does a good job of making a trip to the Gobi very comfortable.

Lunch and dinner at the Lodge were excellent by local standards and given the remote location. Food quality at breakfast was quite a bit lower and options were very limited. If you want good coffee anywhere in Mongolia, bring your own!

We opted for a deluxe ger which included its own bathroom (i.e., toilet and sink). None of the gers have private shower facilities.

My only real criticism was that we found it difficult to book the property independently without signing up for a more-inclusive and expensive tour (at least during the Naadam season). As a result, the cost of visiting Three Camels was much higher than is suggested by the rates published in Lonely Planet, 1,001 Places, etc.

If you book, keep in mind that distances in the Gobi are quite far. Most local attractions require at least a one hour drive in the desert on bumpy roads. Be sure to buy water at the Lodge to take with you in the car (Lodge vehicles were not stocked during our visit). Also, know that flight schedules are limited and prone to delays. If you want to focus on the Gobi during your trip, add in extra time at Three Camels so that you won't feel disappointed if delays and / or schedules out of UB end up eating up a lot of time. You may also end up with more time than expected if there is a cancellation or delay.

Temperatures and weather change quickly and drastically. Be sure to pack for both hot and cold weather. Also, be aware that there is no mobile service at the Lodge or in most areas that tourists visit. Plan to be out of touch and enjoy it.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Wonderful! Very comfortable and very nice. I even had an hour massage for $20 USD. A ger with a private bath (sink and toliet only) will cost an extra $60 USD per night. However, the common bath area was very clean and nice. This is more plush than you can imagine in the Gobi desert.
The sunrises are spectacular!

Date of stay: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvidTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

This place is fabulous! We had an incredible time here. The gerts are really beautiful and immaculate. Some have a private bathroom and sink but the showers are shared. Remember this is the Gobi Desert.

The chef is very accomodating about special dietary concerns and the staff are so gracious. There was one staff member who seemed to appear out of no where anytime we needed her.

There are shows at night. There are also incredible petrogryphs near the camp. The hotel guide is very knowlegable and was happy to show them to us.

We really loved staying here and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2007
7  Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews