We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
96
29
10
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
96
29
10
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gobi desert ger camp top notch horse riding an oasis keep in mind reception area nice bar area own bathroom making sure three nights lunch and dinner sunset viewing area local culture set menu personal guide enjoyed my stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2019

I very much enjoyed my stay here. The welcome was somewhat bizarre, since I fainted in the car park. (Keeping properly hydrated in the desert was the lesson to be learned.) However, the lodge doctor was swiftly on the scene and this was followed by a defibrillator on horseback! I’m only cross that no one thought to take a photo of this! Having been coaxed back to consciousness with plenty of cold towels and water, I could enjoy the rest of my stay.

The staff in the reception area are first class; kind, very helpful, friendly and efficient. Massages were booked, the screening room was booked for us to watch a film and electric scooters were reserved in a matter of seconds. There was also a nice cold orange drink and cold face cloths on hand whenever you returned from an excursion. The reception area also features a (rather expensive) shop. And a note of criticism here is that the books have one price on them but when you go to charge them to the room you are given another price. Everything should be marked up with the correct price.

The ger was super-comfortable and the bathroom was really great, with a lovely shower and good quality amenities.

There’s a nice bar area (although you did need to sometimes hunt out someone to serve you) with a terrace to sit on and admire the view. And the barman needs to practice his martini making – mine seemed to have been made by filling a martini glass with some gin and then dropping in an olive.

The food was good and plentiful. At breakfast, however, I think there should be some screen covers for the fruit etc. to stop flies getting on the food. Service was generally good, although there was an occasional language barrier issue.

They do take credit cards but there is a problem (which is only to be expected) in getting a signal to connect to the machine. So, full marks to the lodge for agreeing to collect the money later – which they did the next time I flew through Ulaanbaatar airport, where a representative was waiting for me with a card machine.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadicExpeditions, Public Relations Manager at Three Camel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mark, thank you so much for your feedback. We will take your suggestions into consideration and are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

My visit to the lodge concluded a 9 day trip to Mongolia and it was the perfect place to relax before the trip home. The rooms are clean and spacious. The food at the restaurant is excellent. The bar is very well stocked. The excursions provided are all enjoyable and convenient. Yes, it would be nice to have cell coverage to occasionally call home, but beyond that, this is pretty flawless.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadicExpeditions, Public Relations Manager at Three Camel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback, Donald. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and were able to relax before your journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

An oasis in the middle of the desert. The lodge as a whole is fantastic. The gers are wonderful, the food is excellent, the amenities awesome and the twice daily trips, morning and afternoon to the far reaches of the desert were spectacular. Not easy to get to but once you are there you will never want to leave. Peaceful and beautiful.

Room tip: All the gers are the same. If you are lucky you will wake up with some animals outside your door.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadicExpeditions, Public Relations Manager at Three Camel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much, Jeff! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

- So beautiful and peaceful.
- Staff is friendly and helpful
- Food is fresh and delicious
- Can accommodate vegans and vegetarians and other dietary restrictions
- Plenty of activities at the lodge to keep you busy during excursions: horse riding, spa, cycling etc.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyEnkhbayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

To visit somewhere as exotic as the Gobi Desert, it is nice to have to opportunity to stay in style. The Three Camel Lodge is special. It gives you a taste of the adventurous but in comfort. Our ger was delightful and our ensuite bathroom full of character. A great holiday.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank susi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews