We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Three Camel Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
73
27
9
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
27
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgobi desertger campattached bathrooman oasiswood stovewatch the sunsetnice barlong drivewonderful experiencebeautiful locationfresh vegetablesthree nightsluxury tentslocal cuisinemongolian culturetoilet papercomfortable chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 112 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Three Camel Lodge and absoluetly loved it! It is a beautifully desgined and tastefully furnished place with great facilities, gourmet food, superb services and amazing location. I have only few minor complaints: no electricity outlets in gers so one has to go to the bar/lounge area and charge their batteries, phones, lap tops etc with dozens of other travelers. Also, no menu to chose from a meal for lunch or dinner: they bring you prepared meal and if it's a mutton you can eat it or leave it. I think a lodge of this level of luxury (and prices!), should give guests at least 2 options to chose a meal. Lastly, there should be WiFI coverage. Even budget level lodges in Africa, jungle lodges in Borneo, Papua New Guinea, Amazon, desert camps in Sahara etc. have interent access these days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Three Camels Lodgehas many pluses: its spectacular location, its good service, and its decent Gers. Though the gers are comfortable it is not a four or five star hotel experience. The rooms do not have heat (though there is a wood buring stove in the gers), the showers are communal, though the delux gers do have toilets and a cold water sink. The food is fine with breakfast being the best meal of the day. One note of caution, if you travel outside of the narrow window of summer (mid June - July, it can get cold in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antionio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Considering the remoteness of this lodge, they've done a wonderful job. The food is great; the staff is pleasant; there's always a beautiful view of something; within driving distance of many places of interest. They grow some vegetables on site.

The ladies shower room is lovely with each shower cleaned after each use. I did find, though, that the water seemed to be hotter in the showers to the right vs. those to the left. Some days there was a hairdryer for use; some days there was not. Signs are posted asking you to only use a hair dryer between 9am and 7pm due to demands on their wind and solar system.

Deluxe gers have their own sink and toilet. Convenient but outer gers have practically no water flow. Lighting in my ger was pretty good; lighting in others was practically non-existent. Be sure to pack a headlamp for walking to/from ger and other facilities in the night.

The bed was ok comfort-wise (most beds in Mongolia are rock hard). I disliked the felt rugs as my clothes kept picking up fur. Only have your fire lit at night if you plan to sleep in a sauna (mid summer stay).

Housekeeping service was extremely inconsistent. Some days you got hot water in a thermos, some not. Some gers got tea bags for the hot water, some not. Some gers have robes, some not. Couldn't get the toilet paper replaced the last 2 days no matter who I asked.

On a bright note, the laundry service was fast and good, albeit a little pricey. Staff lines up and waves you goodbye when you head out for the day and are there to open the vehicle doors when you return. Bar prices are a little high but there is good variety. Wine is sold by the bottle only, no single glass offerings.

Bikes are available for rent. There are some Mongolian craft items on offer in the reception area.

Make sure you walk up the hill behind the lodge for a great sunset view.

This lodge is owned by the same person as Nomadic Expeditions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kirstenpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose the place since it seemed to be most comfortable ger camp in the Gobi. We were picked up at Dalanzadgad airport in a Russian 4*4 and were amazed to see the road turn into a desert track less than half a km from the airport exit. The drive thro' the desert took about an hour and a half and the driver was patient to stop at several places where we saw herds of camels and horses. The camp itself was very well equipped and the staff was warm and welcoming. The shared facilites were very clean, and being early in the season, there were no queues. Food was slightly disappointing - mostly bland western fare, which you do not expect in the heart of Mongolia. There is an excellent lounge area with a TV, DVDs, games, books etc. The staff were helpful in understanding our interests and suggesting an itinerary that was cost effective, and covering the important places.

A bit of advice on making reservations. Booking online thro the website take you to their office in the US. While their room tariff is OK, they try to sell all kinds of extras. They offered us a package incl airfare, transfers, one night with full board & sightseeing for approx US$ 3000 for 2 adults + a 2 year old. This being way above our budget, we opted for full board (US$ 315) and two way transfers (US$ 400). Booking direct at the airline, we paid US$ 700 for our return tickets. We arranged for the sightseeing directly after we reached the lodge and paid another US$ 115 (and the US office had warned us that we would not be able to get a vehicle there). We ended up spending about half of what we would have spent thro their US office. The staff at the lodge were shocked to hear that we had paid US$ 400 for the two way transfer - they would have charged us US$ 1 per km (approx US$ 150 for 2 way transfers).

Room Tip: You could opt for a ger without bathroom as it costs US$ 140 less and the shared facilities are spotless
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Gobi desert has many ger or yurt camps but none offer the comparative "luxury" of Three Camel Lodge. Luxury is a relative term in the Gobi but TCL achieves it so long as you don't expect an in suite shower and a host of amenities. It is in a class by itself. The dining room staff is more than accomodating for early risers like myself when you can appreciate the 5 a.m. quietude of the vast steppe with a cup of coffee next to you. One can almost imagine Genghis Kahn and his hordes sweeping down from the distant mountains or, changing gers for teepees and vast herds of sheep for buffalo, see what the midwestern prairie of the U. S. must have looked like in the late 19th Century. It's a hard ride to get to but the rewards are many. Not to be missed for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a "double" ger with adjoining bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chaiminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews