We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint, relaxing, perfect break!”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Moor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Moor
You may wander in our gardens Wildlife ponds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Little Moor
You may wander in our gardens
Wildlife ponds
Our wildflower meadow in June
Woodburning stove
comfortable sitting room
Country style kitchen
Patio, overlooking your own private garden
Your garden in Spring
Upstairs is bedroom 2, a Double room with TV, this room leads to bedroom 3
Little Moor seen from the lane.
Bedroom 3 has twin single beds.
New downstairs double bedroom with room for a cot.
View from front of cottage. This area can be accessed by the public for walking.
Wildlife pond
plenty for the children to do
Very well equipped kitchen area
View from the dining room
Dining room
Bathroom with whirlpool spa bath
View of cottage from Sticklepath Moor opposite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Sticklepath, Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
1 review
“Quaint, relaxing, perfect break!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was amazing. It was perfect for a weekend break to relax. We wish we could have stayed longer. The property has a sizeable private garden, with decking, grass area, bbq equipment, a shed filled with lawn games which was an unexpected surprise. And the owners are very happy for you to make full use of their neighbouring land where you can meet the resident animals.
The house itself has everything you need and was more than enough space for 4 adults and 1 child. There are nice walks in the area.
The owners live next door and were very helpful, but also respected our privacy - Cream teas and homemade wine on arrival was a wonderful extra!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thanks Jenni, it was a pleasure to welcome you all here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and well-equipped.
Liked least: Low door!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Hi David , glad you liked the cottage. We do make it clear in our description of the cottage about the third bedroom, and we remind any groups of more than four adults about the situation.

As for bumping your head, we apologise, you certainly aren't the first person to do that, although, in our defence, we do have very prominent warning signs on both sides of the door. Unfortunately, low door lintels and beams are often a feature of old cottages, some people think it adds to their charm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gary B
Southwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from a 6 night stay. Very friendly and helpful hosts, let you roam free around their well-kept smallholding. There are pigs, goats, sheep, chicken, rabbits and guinea pigs as well as wild birds (and a couple of squirrels) attracted to the bird feeder that is filled by your hosts before you arrive. We particularly enjoyed watching the woodpeckers that were regular visitors. Really thoughtful hosts providing comfortable and tidy accommodation with added extras to make your stay really enjoyable.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
103tahirh
Shirley, United Kingdom
1 review
“a great cottage and gracious & accommodating hosts”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Much more than we expected. Jenny and Derek were very accommodating and allowed us an extra guest in the lounge, wish we could have stayed longer but didn't have the option when booking. Children are already asking when we can go back!. My kids would have spent all our days in the farm had I given them the option.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevelaw...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Great Short Break”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jenny and Derek have a lovely cottage which they obviously take pride in. We were pleased to find this doggy friendly cottage and it more than lived up to expectations. Jenny even allowed us to leave our Spaniel behind as he was exhausted from the first day on the moors. Just leaving now, but not before breakfast. Scrambled free range eggs toast and butter, all courtesy of Jenny and Derek.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Welcome pack on our arrival - Great information library
Liked least: Rainy dartmoor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
Thank you Steve, glad you enjoyed yourselves. We are looking forward to seeing you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family of five all loved this cottage! Jenny and Derek were the most welcoming hosts and had thought of everything to make our stay easy. On arrival Jenny had left us some homemade scones with a pot of jam and clotted cream! There was also milk, bread and eggs from their hens. The cottage was clean, warm and comfortable. We snuggled up in front of a log burning fire in the evenings and the boys were delighted to find Risk to play! My youngest had a great time helping feed the lambs, pigs and ponies with Jenny. The cottage is a stroll from the charming village of Sticklepath, which has 2 nice pubs and a lovely river walk. There was loads of information in the cottage to help plan activities. Our best days out were a walk along the valley by Drogo castle and cycling on the Granite Way (you can hire bikes from Devon Cycle Hire). A wonderful 3 days. Thank you Jenny and Derek.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and log burning fire
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Littlemoor for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. Such a welcome, home made scones, jam, milk, butter, fresh flowers and even some treats for the dog. The cottage is equipped with everything you can think of, even games and dvd's for those rainy evenings. A Perfect location for exploring dartmoor. The Taw Valley Inn serves great food at a very reasonable price. Our daughter who is 8 thought it was fantastic, and fell in love with all the animals. Thank you Jenny and Derek for a fantastic few days, it is just what we needed. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing