We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Moor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Moor
You may wander in our gardens Wildlife ponds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Little Moor
You may wander in our gardens
Wildlife ponds
Our wildflower meadow in June
Woodburning stove
comfortable sitting room
Country style kitchen
Patio, overlooking your own private garden
Your garden in Spring
Upstairs is bedroom 2, a Double room with TV, this room leads to bedroom 3
Little Moor seen from the lane.
Bedroom 3 has twin single beds.
New downstairs double bedroom with room for a cot.
View from front of cottage. This area can be accessed by the public for walking.
Wildlife pond
plenty for the children to do
Very well equipped kitchen area
View from the dining room
Dining room
Bathroom with whirlpool spa bath
View of cottage from Sticklepath Moor opposite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Sticklepath, Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gary B
Southwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from a 6 night stay. Very friendly and helpful hosts, let you roam free around their well-kept smallholding. There are pigs, goats, sheep, chicken, rabbits and guinea pigs as well as wild birds (and a couple of squirrels) attracted to the bird feeder that is filled by your hosts before you arrive. We particularly enjoyed watching the woodpeckers that were regular visitors. Really thoughtful hosts providing comfortable and tidy accommodation with added extras to make your stay really enjoyable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahir H
1 review
“a great cottage and gracious & accommodating hosts”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Much more than we expected. Jenny and Derek were very accommodating and allowed us an extra guest in the lounge, wish we could have stayed longer but didn't have the option when booking. Children are already asking when we can go back!. My kids would have spent all our days in the farm had I given them the option.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevelaw...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Great Short Break”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jenny and Derek have a lovely cottage which they obviously take pride in. We were pleased to find this doggy friendly cottage and it more than lived up to expectations. Jenny even allowed us to leave our Spaniel behind as he was exhausted from the first day on the moors. Just leaving now, but not before breakfast. Scrambled free range eggs toast and butter, all courtesy of Jenny and Derek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Welcome pack on our arrival - Great information library
Liked least: Rainy dartmoor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
Thank you Steve, glad you enjoyed yourselves. We are looking forward to seeing you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family of five all loved this cottage! Jenny and Derek were the most welcoming hosts and had thought of everything to make our stay easy. On arrival Jenny had left us some homemade scones with a pot of jam and clotted cream! There was also milk, bread and eggs from their hens. The cottage was clean, warm and comfortable. We snuggled up in front of a log burning fire in the evenings and the boys were delighted to find Risk to play! My youngest had a great time helping feed the lambs, pigs and ponies with Jenny. The cottage is a stroll from the charming village of Sticklepath, which has 2 nice pubs and a lovely river walk. There was loads of information in the cottage to help plan activities. Our best days out were a walk along the valley by Drogo castle and cycling on the Granite Way (you can hire bikes from Devon Cycle Hire). A wonderful 3 days. Thank you Jenny and Derek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and log burning fire
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl J
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Littlemoor for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. Such a welcome, home made scones, jam, milk, butter, fresh flowers and even some treats for the dog. The cottage is equipped with everything you can think of, even games and dvd's for those rainy evenings. A Perfect location for exploring dartmoor. The Taw Valley Inn serves great food at a very reasonable price. Our daughter who is 8 thought it was fantastic, and fell in love with all the animals. Thank you Jenny and Derek for a fantastic few days, it is just what we needed. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAJCornwa...
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“'Little Moor' - A Real Find”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We needed to get away for a few days. We weren't looking for anything fancy, just a quiet bolt-hole in which to chill, and go for a few walks with a decent pub or two nearby. We found it!. It was perfect. Dog-friendly too.

Easy to find - sat nav takes you to the door (you park in a quiet layby opposite the front door), and once we'd got the keys (Derek and Jenny live next door)we were delighted to find that not only was the cottage warm as the wood-burner had been fired up prior to our arrival, but we had been kindly left free range eggs, butter, scones, jam, clotted cream and home made wine!.

The cottage was cosy, clean, and there was plenty of kindling wood and logs to last our 3-day stay. There is a TV in the lounge and one of the bedrooms. There are also plenty of books, guides, and games to hand.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't great, but we were so content to stay in the cottage we didn't feel the need to venture out too much. We had takeaways from Okehampton (4 miles) and just chilled as was our intention.

Jenny and Derek could not have been more kind and helpful. They deserve more guests and reviews such as this. I can assure you, you will not be disappointed. It was far better than we anticipated. Lovely people, beautiful place. HIGHLY recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts couldn't have been more helpful
Liked least: The rain!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne T
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Little Moor is a little gem. So cosy and comfortable. The very warmest of welcomes from Jenny and Derek. So relaxed in their approach to our very boisterous rescue dog, who is still learning to be a lazy chilled lab! Cream tea, wine, milk, bread and eggs helped us recover from long trip down to the village from Loughborough. Our grandson (5),and great niece (6) and nephew (8) visited us whilst there, and were encouraged to explore the grounds and have adventures. Perfect. Happily return there as often as we can!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing