We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other travelers have booked this property
7 Lakeview Rise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 Lakeview Rise
Indoor heated pool Pool area with new windows & plants, newly decorated.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
7 Lakeview Rise
Indoor heated pool
Pool area with new windows & plants, newly decorated.
fishing lake & pool building
New Kitchen & dining furniture
Shower room with powerful shower.
play area
BBQ area
Fishing lake & pool building
Geese & goslings on the lake in May
View towards Dartmoor
Crooklets beach, Bude
Ponies on Dartmoor
Drewsteignton village from Castle Drogo
Northcott Mouth beach near Bude
Summerleaze Beach, Bude
Drewsteignton village
view from Lakeview Rise towards Dartmoor
Nearby coast
Great surfing beaches
Nearby beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Highampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MsRuthie1...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fabulous weeks holiday in July at Hillview Cottage.

It is a lovely clean, bright and modern bungalow in a private and picturesque area in the middle of the Devon countryside, tucked away but with easy access to good roads to surrounding areas. It is well equipped with everything you could possibly need and extremely comfortable.

We enjoyed using the swimming pool which we mostly got to ourselves and the private lake which provided great fishing. There are loads of cycle rides on quiet lanes and trails right on the doorstep but if that isn't your thing there is masses to do or see and a week is just not long enough!

Sara-Jayne was really efficient, everything worked like clockwork and was exactly as promised.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was clean & bright and made us feel instantly comfortable.
Liked least: We disliked nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O
1 review
“Great Place to Relax and Explore North Devon”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A nice, clean and modern semi detached cottage which suited our family to relax and explore north devon, the swimming pool we had to ourselves and was lovely to use at the end of the day. The weather was very kind to us and we could sit out on the decked balcony with the sun most of the day.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveM27
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Compact and contained everything we needed.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and myself took my 99 year old mother here for 3 nights. Apart from the lack of a stair rail to get up the five steps to the cottage my mother found once inside the cottage everything was within easy reach and very convenient. We enjoyed our stay visiting Bude and a couple of National Trust properties. The swimming pool was lovely although the steep slope to the pool building was to difficult for my Mum to manage.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
We are delighted that you had a good time. Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly take on board your comments and see what we can do to make the make the access easier for less able visitors
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threelegg...
Kidsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous, cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This cottage is beautifully equipped on a lovely site, just the right size for our family. The pool was a particular favourite for the kids (6 and 4) and the location was an ideal place for exploring beautiful Devon and North Cornwall. We had lovely day trips to Clovelly, Launceston and a day on the beach at Bude, all in easy reach and I don't think we scratched the surface of things to do. The facilities and information in the cottage were all first class and we would definitely visit again and highly recommend the property.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The shower (but only to pick something!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect place to unwind and fish”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

A nice quiet place with fishing on site and an indoor swimming pool .
Past the fishing Lake at the bottom of the property runs a disused railway line which has been surfaced and makes a nice walk turn left to the village pub( not one of the best) or turn right and follow the line to the old station and then up the hill and down dale towards the next village, a walk of about 4 miles each way.
No 7 Lakeview Rise is a well presented very clean property, well equiped and comfortable
two bedrooms and a good sized shower/ washroom.
keep this to your selves if you a fisherman, the lake is full of fish, mainly Carp and Rudd with some nice Perch thrown in for good measure.
to sum up then " Just a Great place to stay"

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Fishing being within 100yards of the property and ample parking
Liked least: The seating arrangement in the lounge area lacked real comfort ie low backed unit
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrianzx6...
Highampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place to Rest and Relax.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We all had a great time at Lakeview Rise, the property was very clean and well equipped and in a quiet cul-de-sac. The surrounding area is very beautiful, and to have that pool just a short walk away was real luxury. Great fun was had by all cycling on the Tarka trail just at the bottom of the valley.
Places to eat at that we found to be really great where, The Boathouse at Instow, Moran's at Westwood Ho and The Bickford Arms, nr Holsworthy.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, Pool and WiFi.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and decorated, clean and tidy. Ideal location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing