We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn’t live up to reviews.”
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Description: Public house,restaurant,guest rooms and camp site based just 1 mile from the seaside town of Ingoldmells, where there are plenty of shops , arcades a theme park fantasy island, a huge market. The beaches are also 1 mile drive away and have blue flag awards. There is plenty do so for the whole family. We serve all fresh homemade food with awards for the best Sunday roast on the east coast. We have a three star gold AA award for our rooms and have also won the channel four programme four in a bed. We have a bar, restaurant and children’s room. And outdoor patio area. We don’t allow dogs in the pub but people can eat drink and bring their dogs to sit outside obviously on nice days it’s a wonderful sun spot. We have 10 award winning rooms that can cater for singles, couples and families. Again no pets allowed. We also have a six berth static with its own private hot tub which is available to rent all year round. We are a family orientainted business and have been for over 30 years.
Restaurant details
Description: Public house,restaurant,guest rooms and camp site based just 1 mile from the seaside town of Ingoldmells, where there are plenty of shops , arcades a theme park fantasy island, a huge market. The beaches are also 1 mile drive away and have blue flag awards. There is plenty do so for the whole family. We serve all fresh homemade food with awards for the best Sunday roast on the east coast. We have a three star gold AA award for our rooms and have also won the channel four programme four in a bed. We have a bar, restaurant and children’s room. And outdoor patio area. We don’t allow dogs in the pub but people can eat drink and bring their dogs to sit outside obviously on nice days it’s a wonderful sun spot. We have 10 award winning rooms that can cater for singles, couples and families. Again no pets allowed. We also have a six berth static with its own private hot tub which is available to rent all year round. We are a family orientainted business and have been for over 30 years.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

When we stayed, there was usually only one lady covering the restaurant, the bar and doing the cooking in the kitchen. Food was very mediocre. There was lots of lights missing, ie: on the stairs up to room, the upstairs corridor and in the restaurant almost every double wall-light had a bulb missing. Would not stay there again.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Carrol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Staying locally so dropped in for a quick drink.
Pleasant staff and cosy pub.
Prices were as expected for a pub.
Only down side was Wi-Fi didn't work!
Would of liked a catch up on emails etc over a nice drink. But hey ho!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Byrti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

We made a last minute booking for the bank holiday weekend, we pulled up outside and thought it looked a bit rough but we were completely wrong, it's a absolute fantastic little site, very friendly and the food is to die for, the shower and toilet facilities are excellent, we will definitely be coming back soon

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

9 of us had varying combinations of the roast. The food is fresh, plentiful, hot and tasty. Surroundings bog standard but does not retract from the food and friendly staff. We've been back since and will go back again when in the area

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Lucie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Called in about 1pm on the Sunday and was surprised to only see 2 other diners. Ordered one pork and one beef dinner. I have never had such poor quality meat. It looked and tasted like the horrible sliced sandwich stuff you buy in supermarkets - tough and paper thin. Definitely won’t be returning.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin M, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

All our meat is hand carved fresh and you can ask around million other people that dine here week in week for the past 17 years yes it was quiet as we were snowed in near enough unlike most other food properties that were closed. Also as it was quiet the cook came and asked every single person in the restaurant if everything was ok and everyone was more than happy. I am sure if you felt that badly about the meal you would have said something at the time instead of coming straight in here to slate my business. We have had a few people slating us recently after watching four in a bed and didn’t like the fact that we are what we are! There is not much we can do about it after the affect but thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 
Ingoldmells, Skegness
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing