We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camping La Torre del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice site”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

lovely safe beach and sloping sea, nice clean pool althou sunbeds were a little on the short side. site was well maintained. the cpl of restaurants on site provided a good choice and were reasonable prices. cambrils is worth a visit, lovely harbour, restaurants and shopping. entertainment was ok but your provided with outside furniture if you decide to stay and eat or drink at your holiday home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 34alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    128
    56
    29
    33
See reviews for
252
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was a large beach site extensively used by Dutch and French. There was a train track which run through the site and divided it but for an underpass which linked the two halves. There was a restaurant at the upper pool which was good and well used in the evening, it was resonably priced. There was a second restaurant beyond the underpass near to the beach this was also good and prices were comparible. The third bar opened for most of the day and was situated at the entrance to the site. It also did food - avoid this like the plague!!! If this is owned by the site it bears no resemblance to anything else on site, words like "the pits" come to mind. The on site supermarket was behind this bar and was large and well stocked though because there was no other supermarket nearby prices were a bit on the high side.

The pool area was near here and the medium sized pool was well used and guards were present. The pool had little space for loungers and so some used the heavily shaded areas under the trees for laying on. This was the only area I could fault, it just wasn't large enough or bright enough. Maybe another pool was needed. There was of course a beach which was used a lot all day even after dark. But the best area on site was the Jacuzzi which was really two areas holding about 50, one almost circular and the other snake -like. These were great to relax in and even when busy you queued for no more than 5 mins max before you were in the water. The staff on this were justifiably strict kids were not allowed in unless accompanied by an adult.

There was a cash dispenser on the opposite side of the entrance which allowed you to be charged in £ sterling which meant you were not charged twice for the transaction. The site had a lot of palm trees and some bananna trees and was well maintained. There was a disco for the teenagers with guards/bouncers . As you walked towards the beach you saw emplacements full of Dutch tourers who had pulled them all the way down from the Netherlands with everthing including the kitchen sink to enjoy their holidays. The beach was narrow but long and there were nets up for beach volley ball. Another great find was the beach bar, not much bigger than a hut but with decking covering a small area of rock at the beach edge seating maybe 100 people. It had a "rock" group on at weekends and poured a very nice draught pint into a pint glass brought out of the freezer, WOW!! That hits the spot on a warm day or evening.

We stayed with Keycamp and the van was spotless. Thepresent staff there take great pride in presenting the van this way. It was terrific, our first van with air con - a really great addition on a hot site. The van was modern and well finished. There was no area adjacent to any of their vans for car parking. This was the first time I can recall coming across this on site, the cars were parked in an area, a short distance away to the rear of the group of vans away from kids playing. It reduced noise and disruption and created more of a community, it was a little unusual at first but as I got used to it I thought it had a lot of merit. Around the vans were a lot of palm trees well maintained and watered and very pretty to look out on from the decking.

Terragona and particularily Cambrils were worth a visit. This was definitely a site worth visiting and one i would recommend to all families except maybe the very young.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank KeenCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was a large beach site well used by Dutch and French who would have made up 90% of the holiday makers on this site. It was well run, with plenty of fascilities to enjoy, there were good restaurants at the pool and lower down nearer the beach. There was a pub at the entrance which did food - avoid this like the plague!! I don't think this was part of the complex because it certainly was not up to the standard of anywhere else on the site, yet it was at the entrance and not a good promotional image for the campsite. Immediately behind it was the site supermarket, it was large and well stocked, though if you have a car I would recommend a visit to another supermarket, we found none closer than 3 miles, which might explain the cost of some items in the site supermarket.

You might be surprised by the irregular layout of vans as they are set out amongst beautiful palm trees but without adjacent parking parking. Parking is in an area a short distance to the rear of the grouping. So traffic and people were separated, this was safer for kids and quieter and less disruption for everyone else. A bit different we hadn't come across this before but it was okay. We stayed with Keycamp and the van was spotless, well mentained, and our first van with air con. What a great addition in hotter sites!! There was road noise behind us but it was only heard when you were at the van! We didn't spend much time at the van and the noise eased off at night. For the lighter sleeper you might need ear plugs as it starts to build up again around 6am.

The pool was a little small but coped well until some group tried to have a volley ball match across the middle of the pool. This was an area where the water was about 1.5m deep, either side of this, was a shallower end for kids and a deeper end for the very tall or better swimmers. The area around the pool was tight for space and so loungers were few. There was also grass areas but these were very heavily shaded, this area is the only area I could find fault with but then there was a beach which was extensively used and an alternative. Touring vans had emplacements at the beach end of the site and a lot of Dutch pulled their tourers to this area This was an awful distance to come with a touring van but when they arrived they knew how to enjoy themselves and brought all with them for the occasion. There was a circular shaped jacuzzi and a snake shaped jacuzzi which were both well managed by site staff. This was great to have this on site and we used it a lot, really relaxing and the chlorine thoroughly cleaned you. It was used by many but you did not have to queue for more than 5 minutes max before you were in the water. Staff were strict about kids being accompanied in the jacuzzi. There was a cash dispenser on the opposite side of the road from the jacuzzi near the reception and this was useful. It gave you the option of charging your account in Euro or pounds sterling. If you chose Euro you were most likely were going to be charged twice for the transaction through your account, so hit the charge in pounds button as rates were good.

As you approach the site from the north west on the N160 there is a safer route before the entrance which takes you down and under this busy road rather than stopping and trying to turn left across traffic into the site. Tarragona and in particular Cambrils were worth a visit, we were advised to avoid Salou and did!

A great experience and a beautiful site suitable for all, though most were teenage families. Entertainment was provided on site and there was a disco with security guards/bouncers. Another find was the beach bar which was on a small rocky area which was decked at the beach edge. It was cheap to sit and have a drink here and look at the full moon sending a beam of yellow light over the sea. There was also a "rock" group playing here a few nights, the entire area would maybe have sat 100. If you had a large draught beer they poured this into a pint glass brought out of the freezer!! WOW!! Well worth trying. The beach was long but narrow and was still used after dark by groups of teenagers. It also had a life-guard posted up a look out hut during the day.

Room Tip: New all wooden huts were being built which looked good. Keycamp were also good if you were positione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The title of the review says it all. Whilst we met some lovely people during our proposed three week stay, we felt compelled after two weeks to call it a day. The place is a nightmare. For the first week we were encircled by a group of feral French youths who did not sleep. With two young children kept awake throughout the night, the tensions at times ran high! The security patrol around in golf buggys but are anonymous in the "troublespots". When enough people complained for the French kids to be removed we were fortunate enough to have a trio of Italian men turn up who smoked and drank until 5am every night. Theit constant stream of smoke was sent directly into our van and over our children. I was so glad to get back to suburban England and the return to work was a holiday in itself. The only positive: the beach bar is a nice pot. But do yourselves a favour; stay at Playa Montroig and stroll along the beach to D'Ar Sol's beach bar... DO NOT STAY HERE WITH YOUNG CHILDREN!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gracequirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-roig del Camp hotels

Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I had reservations after reading reviews of this place, however found the keycamp mobile 3 bedroomed home to be clean and although compact it had everything we would have wanted. The site was very busy but despite this clean and well kept. Parking near our accommodation was a problem sometimes but the worst thing was the noise till all hours of the morning from a large group of people. Despite a 12 midnight curfew for noise they insisted on staying outside with kids till 2 and 3 in the morning, playing loud music and talking very loudly. We complained to 3 times but did not seem to do any good. The restaurant was awful do not eat there it really was dire. the poolside cafe was good though and if you ask the reps they will tell you other restaurants to go to. You need a car for this resort if you want to get around. We did take a train to Barcelona which was awful coming back with my disabled mother having to stand almost the whole hour and half trip and some very rude people. I would definately go with Keycamp again but dont think I would go to this camp. The camp up the road a little at Playa Montroig has a much better restuarant open to the public and worth a visit. All in all as long as you dont mind driving everywhere and eating out or cooking most nights its a nice place just shame some people can be really inconsiderate at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Myself and extended family have just returned from La Torre del Sol, having stayed 7 nights with Keycamp. We booked flights into Barcelona seperately with Easyjet, great flights, I cannot fault Easyjet at all, very professional service, and im a travel agent! Booked car hire seperately through Avis, again cannot fault the service. We travelled down to the camp site on the AP-7 the new toll motorway, beaware it cost us near enough 14 Euros in tolls, have some change with you if you do this journey though there are booths where you can pay by card. Took us about 90 minutes to do the roughly 110kms, make sure you use your headlights in the long mountain tunnels, it is the law. Found the campsite easily and were checked in by the main reception very quickly and by friendly reception staff. The Keycamp courier escorted us to our accommodation, which was presented very clean and well stocked with the usual Keycamp essentials. We usually pre order the Welcome Pack as it has all the essentials like coffee, tea, water and washing up liquid and a bottle of red wine on arrival so no having to dash out to the shops once your there. We ate from the restaurant the first night and the Pizza's were absolutely wonderful, as was the Tapas and seafood as we discovered on subsequent visits, (beer was cold and refreshing also!) The restaurant itself has a lovely location overlooking the lagoon swimming pools, lovely in the evening or when spending the day by the pool! There is a big jacuzzi, but this was only open for 2 hours everyday, 12.00 - 13.00 & 16.00 - 17.00 so was a mad rush to use it at these times, I would assume its open for longer in peak season, but cannot confirm this? The camp shop whilst quite good value was starting to resemble a Russian supermarket as the end of the season was approaching so fresh milk was not always available though the fresh bread was lovely. There is a gym on site, bar, gift shop, internet room and theatre & free cinema, (see the notice boards for the various movies and in what language it is in). The toilet blocks from what I saw of them, looked well maintained and clean as are the camp grounds which are lovely with palms and banana trees lining the roads. The beach is private to the site and is accessed straight from the camp, its is narrow so can get crowded. There is a bit of a drop off and it is a bit stoney as you first enter the water, otherwise beautiful. Showers are available to wash the sand off. I will just mention that there is a seafood restaurant just up the beach North from the camp, the restaurant overlooks the ocean, which does a great seafood Paella, apparently they specialise in this, it was delicious as was the Sangria! The Keycamp vans are located near the road so some noise is evident though since the new road has opened this has become much quieter and it didn't affect our peace at all, neither did the train line that runs through the middle of the camp, you go under this to get to the beach & touring van area of the camp site.

We visited Port Aventura theme park, please see my seperate review on here for details.

We also visited Barcelona, it is a big beautiful city, the people are friendly and the people watching is good fun, wear good comfy shoes. Whilst we had hire cars it was far quicker and easier to use the trains that run from Cambils to have a day out. A return ticket will set you back just over 12 Euros. There is ample free parking not far from the train station, just pull in after the bus station in Cambrils. The train takes about 90 minutes and takes in some nice views of the ocean along the way, clinging percariously to the mountain side aT some points after passing Sitges! Once in Barcelona Sants station either get a day metro pass, (Euros 5.80), head directly under the station to the right as you look at the arrivals board in the main station. The L5 line takes you directly to Plaza Catalunya at the top of Las Ramblas. From here you can head straight down along Las Ramblas to the port, Imax and Aquarium. Do be aware of pick pockets! We saw a man have his wallet stolen out of his combat shorts pocket, he realised and security arrested the theif, and this was in the station! Other options are the open topped Tourist bus's that run on two different circuits of the city, (Euros 21.50 for an adult), you can get on and off all day at all the major sites in the city. We took an hour long cruise of the port and harbour from near the Columbus Monument, (Euros 11.80), it was so hot that the cooling sea breeze was much apreciated. When you ready to head home you will need the train heading back to Tortosa, they roughly leave every hour and a half though do obvioulsy check locally.

Cambrils is a pretty seaside resort with a nice marina and good beach. Plenty of good seafood restaurants along the front aswell.

Salou is a big and somewhat tacky British home from home resort. Plenty of bars, fast food and entertainment for the package holiday crowd. It does have a nice seafront and beach though with loads of watersports. Its only 10-15 minutes from the camp by car for a day/ night out if you do so wish.

There is so much to see and do in the area that we need to go back to do some more exploring. I would absolutely recommend this campsite for families or even couples who want to chill out and relax or who want plenty to see and do in the area. Have fun Adios!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank traveljester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I was there with my parentes for 14 days. When we arrived there it looked very great. The people at the reception were nice, too. When we saw our Mobile Home we were schocked we paid very much money for this and it was very smal. But it was clean. At the first day we went to the swimming pool the water was clean and around us it looks very nice. But there was nothing special it was boring so we went to the beach there was very less place to lay down. The pictures on the webside of La Torre del Sol were old. IN the water were very much stones,too.
So we looked around and we saw a bigger beach on the left side of La Torre del Sol. Only twenty meter from the left end. At this part of the beach is a beach bar called
Vito & Maria. It´s very nice there and they have a very good Sangria.
At the next day came my aunt withe her family.
At one day we wanted to play Minigolf we payed 3Euro per person and the Minigolfplace were very bad. There was no staight bottom. So and on another day my father and I wanted to play Tennis. We had our Tennis things with us but then we saw we had to pay for the Tennis. At La Torre del Sol you have to pay for everything.
Then we had a problem with the Internet it dosn´t work so we spoke to the reception.They said we have to speak to an special man. And he was there but he had hurt his leg and he said he can´t go because that. But on the next day.I and my father saw him when he walked a long time behind two girls. So my father spoke to him and he said he will repair it tomorrow. But at the evening at the next day it dosn´t work. So my father asked again and so he said he will repair it tomorrow and so was it the first week.
After one week my father gave up to asked and so it dosn´t woke until now.
We had to take the internet room there cost 15 min=1Euro
But on one day it dosn´t work ,too ,but it was repaird until one day
I mean there are very much better camingplaces and the most of them are not so expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fanta-Zero-Orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-roig del Camp
2.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont
Pierre & Vacances Village Club B...
#1 of 1 in Mont-roig del Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
6.0 mi away
Camping Platja Cambrils
Camping Platja Cambrils
#2 of 28 in Cambrils
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
20.3 mi away
Torre De La Mora
Torre De La Mora
#1 of 28 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
La Siesta Salou Camping Resort
0.4 mi away
Els Prats Village
Els Prats Village
#2 of 6 in Mont-roig del Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
9.1 mi away
Camping La Masia
Camping La Masia
#1 of 7 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Torre del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Torre del Sol

Property: Camping La Torre del Sol
Address: Carretera Nacional 340, Km. 1136, 43300 Mont-roig del Camp, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Mont-roig del Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mont-roig del Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping La Torre del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camping La Torre del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Torre Del Sol Spain/Mont-Roig Del Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing