We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
141
40
9
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
141
40
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount meru main building enjoyed our stay wonderful place john wayne two nights open fire hot water bottles giraffes walking great days sun downer sister camp comfortable rooms many thanks making sure beautiful setting incredible views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 197 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

The lodge has a priviledged and unique position with a wonderful view on Meru and Kilimanjaro mountains. Amazing experience with animals, especially giraffes. The excellent service and friendly atmosphere provided by the staff and the manager made our stay unforgettable.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 629raulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

We (family of 4) stayed for 3 nights - the first one at the Shu'Mata Camp and the second and third at the Hatari Lodge. After 5 days of Safari (i.e. entire days on dusty roads), the stay at Shu'Mata and Hatari was the perfect complement. Walking Safaris at Kilimanjaro and Mount Meru, and relaxing at the lodge; watching the Giraffes passing by, the monkeys looking for a chance to grab some food from the tables.
We had booked two rooms and got actually an entire part of a house - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, all connected, very convenient for us. View to both sides (Kilimanjaro and Mount Meru).
Overall, we liked the comfortable rooms, the nice garden, the great sundowners on the "jetty" - but we liked best the welcoming atmosphere! Thanks again for great days at Hatari!

Room tip: Rooms face either Kilimanjaro or Mount Meru, and each side is nice. The Kilimanjaro side gets the best view of the sunrise.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion_Karrasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

I just made my third trip to Hatari Lodge. It is a place that calms my sense, and inspires me with its beauty. The food is incredible - the most delicious salads! The staff are kind and generous and always ready to meet your needs. I had a cold when I was there, and the manager always made sure I had a thermos of hot ginger tea. Some favorites: relaxing in the gorgeous room, breakfast on the patio with Kilimanjaro in the backdrop, sundowners on the deck overlooking a herd of buffalo, and walking up within 5 feet of the lodge's resident giraffe. AMAZING!!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Safarinjema00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful place to chill out after spending some time on safari. Comfortable lodge with just a few spacious rooms, delicous food and last but not least great management and staff to make your stay memorable. Definitely something I can recommend!!!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank travel_lover046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We stayed here at the very beginning of our trip. Nice start to the safari, with buffalos and giraffes walking in the grounds of the hotel. Great outdoor fireplace where you can enjoy a good cocktail and enjoy the view of Mount Kilimanjaro in the background. Get's rather chili during night time but they provide a hot water bottle to put in your bed ! Very friendly manager who does everything to make your stay memorable. Would definitely come back here !

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 910svend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews