We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
37
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
37
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main tent breathtaking views outdoor bathroom very special place game drives mount kilimanjaro tents hill heaven elephants furthest wishes camp privacy mata guide guests
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019

Shu'Mata means "heaven, we were told, and that's a good description. We were there for one night and had the entire camp for us (a family of 4). The tents do not leave any wishes open; the view from the terrace of the tents or the main tent is spectacular. Sundowner on the hill: perfect 360 degrees view of Kilimanjaro, Mount Meru and the plain in between. Great food! Sleeping in a tent needs a bit of acclimatisation, the tarpaulin gets a bit noisy if it's windy outside. Spectacular sunrise over Kilimanjaro, if you get up early enough (see the pictures).

Room tip: The Tents are all equally nice; some are closer to the main tent than others.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marion_Karrasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Luxury tented camp on a hillside with spectacular views of the conservation wilderness stretching out for miles below. Climb the hill behind and enjoy a drink at sundown. Highlight are the game drives. It's conservation area not a game park so jeeps can go off road and put you right next to the elephants. Also there are no other jeeps so everything you find is just for you. Ask for Calvin as your guide. Enthusiastic and very knowledgeable young man, you can talk politics as well as wild life.
Only 2 negatives - the electricity in the communal area where there was wifi, went off around 8pm just when we wanted to update photos and e mails after dinner and there were hordes of wasps in our outdoor bathroom from the adjacent bushes.

Room tip: The tents all have spectacular views.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjcollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

An absolutly fantastic stay in the Suh’mata Camp. Wonderful people, a fantastic view and very special tent sites with view to the Kilimanjaro. We spent three wonderful days here with activities and relaxing. The wildlife around the camp is great. We’ll come again - thank you!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Antonia467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

The best part of this camp by far is the view. In no other place I have been you are surrounded by breathtaking views. Three big mountains surround the camp, including Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Meru. The camp was very nice and the food was adequate. We were the only guests at the time, so it felt a little secluded. The staff was very nice and mostly of Masai heritage. All in all, the camp was very nice.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ccalkins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We stayed at the Shumata Camp following 3 nights at the Hatari Lodge, the experiences were incredibly different, but both amazing! Both owned by Marlies. The Shumata Camp has everything you need and it is situated on top of a high bluff, located under the majestic Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Meru, so the views are incredible. I stayed at the farthest tent away from the main camp and I loved it, I had so much privacy there along with the most spectacular views! Erik the manager and Lucas the Maasai Warrior made our journey fabulous. They made sure we were comfortable and had a great time while were at the camp! This camp has everything you need including great wine and fabulous food. Every night, they had sundowners event, they would drive you to a beautiful cliff overlooking the Savannah and you would watch the sun go down with a drink. Erik and Lucas were incredible hosts, Edward Lima was our guide to Mount Kilimanjaro and we requested that he come with us from Hatari Lodge, he is extraordinary and you must ask for him. Edward took us to Kenya for a day and we had lunch overlooking the Savannah, also, Eric, Lucas and Edward scheduled an evening at the local Maasai Village, where there was a marriage ceremony that we took part in. The Maasai people welcomed us to their village and included us in their dance ceremonies and all of their wedding activities. We even got to go inside one of their houses. It was truly an honor and a life-changing experience to be with the Maasai people. Lucas is a Maasai Warrier, so he came with us to ensure we had a great time. I was given a special necklace and was named,” White Maasai Woman Warrier”, which I will never forget as along as I live! Edward took all the video and ensured that all the moments were captured for us. Edward also found us large groups of elephants, Cheeta’s, and lots of other wildlife. Edward also took us to Mt. Kilimanjaro for the day and made our experience there amazing! You must ask for Edward, he will make sure your journey is full of experiences and he makes sure your safety is top priority and we trusted him 100%. Edward made sure our trip was fun and he helped made the trip incredibly enjoyable, it was an extraordinary experience at Shumata. We went out every day searching for wildlife and we saw everything from Lions, cheetah’s, giraffes, hippos, jackals, hyenas, we saw everything except for the rhino. NOTE: If you want to see the rhino, you should go to Rhino Lodge at the Ngorongoro Crater, which Hatari can set this up for you. Shumata was a dream come true, did I mention the food was amazing and the wine was good? Shumata and Hatari both cater to Germans and we met some of the dearest German friends there, we danced all night and sang to music and had a wonderful time. Erik has a great voice and will sing a beautiful song to you too, just ask him! Thank you Erik and Lucas for making our trip life-changing and memorable. ASK FOR EDWARD if you want an incredible guide!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kellyeo797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews