We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a great place in a fabulous location with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Riverside

Bar / garden room (lower ground floor) with stunning bifold doors opening directly onto the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar / garden room (lower ground floor) with stunning bifold doors opening directly onto the garden
View from down the Thames, towards Hampton Court, from the balcony of bedroom 1 Bar and sofa bed in the garden / bar room; 5 bi fold doors open onto the garden and slipway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Bar / garden room (lower ground floor) with stunning bifold doors opening directly onto the garden
View from down the Thames, towards Hampton Court, from the balcony of bedroom 1
Bar and sofa bed in the garden / bar room; 5 bi fold doors open onto the garden and slipway
Bedroom 3 (lower ground floor)
Bedroom 3 (lower ground floor) with French doors onto small patio area and the decking
Main bathroom (lower ground floor) with double shower and whirlpool bath
Bedroom 2 with huge circular bed set into bay window overlooking the Thames
Bedroom 2 (middle / entrance floor) with the circular bed and views over the Thames
The open plan reception with stairs leading down to the garden room and bedroom 3
The open plan sitting room with log burner for chilly winter evenings watching the Thames
The open plan sitting / dining room with views over the Thames
The main sitting room with log fire (view 2)
The dining area of the open plan sitting room - stunning semi circular windows overlook the Thames
The fully equipped kitchen (middle / entrance floor)
The open plan kitchen (middle / entrance floor) with stairs up to master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite and French doors onto the balcony overlooking the Thames
The en suite to bedroom 1 (top floor)
The en suite (view 2)  to bedroom 1 (top floor)
Watching the sunrise over the Thames from the balcony of bedroom 1
The patio outside the French doors of bedroom 3
The duck house on the decking - complete with camera inside to watch the inhabitants on the TV
The decking area of the garden (left hand side of the slipway)
The lawned area of the garden (right hand side of slipway)
Feeding the ducks, swans and geese from the slipway in the back garden
Entertaining on the decking
The decking at night
Parakeets feeding over the slipway, with the Moorhen feeding below on the slipway
Swans are also frequent visitors
Babies feeding on the slipway
Babies being fed over the slipway
Colourful visitors
Mrs Swan with cygnets - May 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sunbury-On-Thames, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a great place in a fabulous location with everything anyone would need for a perfect stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We loved staying at this fabulous house - it had everything ! A round bed, a square bed... a bar... A dining room with a beautiful window view of the river which is right on your doorstep. We have stayed in many places and this for us was really the best. Highly recommended and would definitely book again! Perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Sunbury and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom I
1 review
“17 Riverside”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a great break staying at this beautiful house for 5 days. We loved the location, with Sunbury village a few minutes walk away and easy to adventure to such places as Bushy Park. The fact the house backs onto the river is just brilliant, and we also enjoyed making use of its own bar area. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here! Also, thanks to Nikki and Julian the kind owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are also glad you enjoyed Bushy Park it is great walking there with all the deer wandering around (but slightly odd when you notice a double decker red bus trundling along just behind them!)
We too love the bar area and the way it opens out directly onto the garden and, of course, the river. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmills1
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ab Fab!”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic River House with great views. On several levels it offers great space and privacy. Beautifully Decorated inside. Comfy. Great Location. Will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we look forward to welcoming you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari20158
Dundee, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well appointed with lovely riverside location”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for just over 3 weeks in October this year and it was super. We were 4 adults and 1 child and were more than comfortable.

The house is spacious, comfortable and has everything you need for a self-catering visit. If you don't want to cook, a short distance down the road are a couple of pubs and lovely restaurants which are worth a visit. That said the kitchen is super and we ate in most evenings.

We hired a car and never found the street parking to be a problem. The property is well situated for Hampton Court and Kingston, with easy access to the M25 and other touristy sites (we never had any major traffic issues). There are two bus stops directly opposite the house providing public transport options should you need them.

We loved arriving home each afternoon/evening after a fairly long day. Feeding the swans and ducks was a favourite activity (for the adults and the child) and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the occasional boat / canoe come past.

Nicola (the owner) could not have been more helpful both before and during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and there was plenty of information available to ensure we were comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Riverside location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, we enjoyed having you to stay.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry we did not manage for your son to see "the king and queen"! We too love feeding the ducks and swans and generally sitting on the decking watching the world go by - it's very peaceful and relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and trust the wedding went well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments - the swans and their cygnets always provide much entertainment (this is the third year they have been there each time with several young). We are glad everything went well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
walleryou...
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent well equipped house. The location on the banks of the Thames makes for a very peaceful and restful break. Family had so much fun feeding the ducks , swans , geese and all their young. Also just watching the river and other wildlife led to some lovely afternoons and evenings. Bar room downstairs with the bi-folding doors is just excellent for family gatherings.
Close to Hampton Court , Windsor , Kingston Upon Thames and other such great places to visit.
Communication with the owner has been excellent throughout the whole booking process. Would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: Street parking - but even this was no hassle as we always got parked fine.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments - you have summed up perfectly why we enjoy the house so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing