We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Hotel Presa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Presa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riano
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stopped for lunch here after a motorbike ride thru Picos de Europa. Food was homemade and really tasty. Owners made us feel really welcome. Would defo stop here again and maybe would stay overnight

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank kay3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in June of 2012. I have to say that I found the family members who owned and ran the place to be pleasant and cooperative -- to a degree. One thing I really appreciated was that I was allowed to use their hotel computer to make email contact. Since I was walking on a Camino de Santiago and had only a backpack and no computer, this was most appreciated.

But this family-run business seems to operate on the "let´s see how much we can charge the next sucker who walks through the door" plan. I arrived, hot and sweaty, and obviously with no way to drive on to the next place. For me the room was 39€, plus 5€ for breakfast. And 15€ for the menu. Several hours later, a bunch of Germans arrived on motorcycles, and for them the room was 38€, which included breakfast, and 10€ for the menu. When I brought this to the proprietor´s attention, her response was -- oh, you got a DIFFERENT single room than they did (what, a single room for which breakfast wasn´t included???). I didn´t push because I was tired and knew it was hopeless. But my revenge is to let everyone know that this is not a place to be trusted.

There is another hostal next door, and one a few doors down. Both of them looked acceptable (the one next door is named Sainz, I believe). Riaño is not exactly a beautiful place, but it is well-located on the way to the Picos de Europa. The town itself was created out of whole cloth when 9 nearby towns were submerged to build the reservoir, so the town has no charm and no feeling of authenticity. There are a couple of romanesque churches that were transported brick by brick from the towns now underwater, to a so-called "Park of Memory."

I thought that the small hostal in Portilla de la Reina, about 18 km to the north, where I had spent the previous night and walked from that day, was a much nicer place to stop. Rooms there are much less and the food is better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lreynold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

It was freezing cold, we had to sleep fully clothed with fleeces on to stay alive. The room was damp. The food was awful. My wife ordered a lamb stew - it turned out to be some overcooked lamb bones in a pool of water and oil. I ordered a cooked soup which turned out like dish-washer water with pasta.

We didn't stay here by choice, but we couldn't get back to the coast as the snow was too severe to go back through the mountains. You could say to stay at this hotel was better than sleeping outside in the car for the night in -3 degrees, but not by much.

The staff were friendly. There was a good bar next door in the hostel (where we should have stayed).

Room Tip: Stay at the nearby hostel or a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rsb123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Only available hotel at short notice. Decor was dated, terrible colours and over fussy. Lots of dusty fake flowers and awful pictures. The restaurant overpriced and the food mostly inedible. Arrived the same night as a big motorcycle meeting, which was incredibly noisy, but the guys attending were very pleasant and made room for our classic car in amongst their bikes where it would be safe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que de al pantano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cobadonga2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Presa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presa

Address: Avenida Valcayo 12, 24900 Riano, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Riano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riano
Price Range: $68 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Presa 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Presa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing