We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ANOTHER WONDERFUL HOLIDAY AT PUFFIN COTTAGE”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hawkchurch, Axminster, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan F
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ANOTHER WONDERFUL HOLIDAY AT PUFFIN COTTAGE”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We have just returned from another fabulous holiday at Puffin Cottage.
Spotlessly clean, so well equipped, lovely comfortable beds, beautiful bed linen large kitchen/diner with everything you could possibly need. very comfortable lounge with modern furniture. Bathroom and shower fabulous! The garden is so peaceful. We were fortunate to be in Hawkchurch in the recent spell of hot weather. After a day out and about with our 2 little dogs, it was lovely to sit in the garden in the shade of the lovely trees.
The owner Caroline goes out of her way to make your stay special from the delicious welcome tray to special towels for the dogs a doggy bowl and treats! cant recommend this property highly enough

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C
1 review
“Relaxing Quiet Weekend”
Reviewed December 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We spent 11 days in Paris, a day in Amsterdam and two days in London. We are not city folk and could not wait to get to Puffin Cottage. Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed your time in the city but country life is what we prefer. We literally went with no set itinerary. We spent one afternoon in Lyme Regis and the rest of the time relaxing in the cottage. The weather was quite blustery so it was nice to stay inside and enjoy the peace and quiet. The cottage was everything we expected and then some. Caroline was a wonderful host! She had a tray for tea with some biscuits. When not site seeing we sat on the couch and watched movies. There was a huge selection of DVDs to choose from. It was a warm, comfortable, cozy cottage and we had a wonderful time. We are from America and plan to return again and spend most our time in the country. Puffin Cottage will be our destination.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Puffin Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay, it must have been quite a welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of the cities. It would be wonderful to welcome you back in the future for your next visit to the Westcountry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the delightful "Puffin Cottage" This property is spotlessly clean, stylish and exceptionally well equipped. The beds were so comfortable the gardens are just magic ! Caroline the owner and her family are so friendly and helpful, our little dog just loved everything about his holiday !
We have booked again for next year.
Highly recommended !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Having to come home !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Many thanks for your review of Puffin Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the property met all of your needs; it sounds like you were well catered for by Caroline. We look forward to hearing about your stay next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
db9ers
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Superb well appointed accommodation in a quiet location. Beautifully renovated artists studio, open plan living area with everything you can possibly need. Comfortable bedrooms and great bathroom facilities too.
Great for ramblers and walkers, or families who want to be near the coast.
Good local amenities a short drive away, though there is a local pub a short walk away too.
Owners live next door, and are very friendly and welcoming. Their knowledge of the local area is great and can advise places of interest to visit and see.
Dog friendly too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well appointed accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
Many thanks. Puffin Cottage is indeed a lovely property well within reach of pubs, walks and places of interest. It’s fantastic that our home owners do their best to make their guests feel welcome and share local knowledge to allow you to get the most out of our stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing