We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“isle of lewis adventure”
other travelers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Living space Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Exterior
Living space
Kitchen
Downstairs bedroom
One of the upstairs bedrooms (They are both very similar)
Dollanna, your host, on the coastal walk which passes just yards from the cottage
Annie feeding the first pet lamb of the year on the croft while Bubbles the dog supervises.
An otter on a nearby loch
A red deer stag keeping a close eye on intruders
Losgaintir Beach - said to be the best beach in the world
Shawbost, including Dollag's Cottage, from a nearby hill
View from Stacaiseal near Dollag's Cottage
Shawbost beach
Dollanna, your host at Dollag's Cottage working her sheep on a December evening.
Dollanna's brother Derick weaving Harris Tweed. It is often possible to arrange a visit.
The little village of Dail Beag, about 5 minutes by car. Otters are often seen on the loch.
Salmon fishing on Loch Voshimid at Amhuinnsuidhe
Callanish stone circle
The Harris golf course
The hills of Uig
Shawbost stone circle within walking distance of Dollag's Cottage
Fishing for trout on a nearby loch
Out the track to some fishing on a misty autumn morning
A Hebridean day out
A cottage guest fishing a remote loch for trout in May 2015
January 2016 sunset at Losgaintir beach
By the loch side early one August morning in 2015
A cup of tea while out walking close to the cottage in 2015
Spring fishing in May 2015
Disused moorland shieling nearby the cottage
2015 cottage guest who we took out to catch his first sea trout, he managed 4 for the day.
Out on the hills in south west Lewis.
A small beach on a remote freshwater loch taken in October 2015
The new ferry leaving Stornoway
Walking the moor in October 2015 - there are at least 11 red deer in this photo if you can spot them
October salmon fishing
Wild camping sunset on a September evening
An eagle joined me while I ate lunch
The view from nearby Achmore
A local angler fighting a July grilse on a nearby river
Walking to fishing on the Lewis moorland
Some coastal rowers visited the cottage with their boat.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
janeyp195...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“isle of lewis adventure”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

this is an exceptional cottage with an exceptional owner. dollanna made us so welcome with sandwiches and homemade cake waiting for us on arrival. the cottage itself was sparklingly clean beautiful bedding extra blankets even hot water bottles which the kids loved. this is without extraction the best cottage we have ever stayed in. can’t wait to return x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great hospitality and great location”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a very late posting, but our stay at Dollag's Cottage was excellent and I want to thank the owner, however belatedly, for her welcome, her baking and for the terrific comforts of the cottage even though it's so many months ago. The location of the cottage is brilliant. We loved the beach and the headland: walks, birds (corncrakes a particular treat), flowers, dawn, sunset, etc etc and our neighbours were welcoming too. This was a great base from which to explore the delights of Lewis & Harris and we'd recommend it unreservedly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerbyWalk...
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace & tranquility with all the creature comforts”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have stayed at Dollags cottage several times now, it is a beautiful setting. The daily walk to the beach sets us up for the day.
Seeing the Northern lights was the highlight of our stay. The owners were kind enough to drop by to make sure we didn't miss the night sky show which was really thoughtful.
The island has plenty to offer with loads of beautiful beaches, standing stones, stunning mountains and of course Harris Tweed.

Dollanna works hard to ensure we feel welcome from the moment we arrive.

I wouldn't hesitate to book your holiday here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murdo M
2 reviews
“A real flavour of Hebridean life.”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have stayed at Dollag's each summer for several years with family and friends. It has been an ideal base for some wonderful adventures! Owner Dollanna is tremendous in her friendly, welcoming and helpful outlook.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank J
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surely the best of all holiday cottages!”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having spent our holidays each year for over a decade in various cottages in the Scottish Islands and Highlands, Dollag's Cottage is easily the best we've ever experienced.
A fully refurbished traditional cottage, tastefully decorated and well equipped. Less than 10 minutes walk from an excellent sandy beach and access to the West Lewis Coastal Walk. A very convenient location for driving to any of the island's attractions (Less than 20 mins drive to Black House Village and Callanish Stones; less than 40 mins to Stornaway, North Ness and Great Bernera; less than 50 mins from South Lochs, Uig Sands and North Tolsta).

What made Dollag's cottage special for us:
- The owner, Dollanna's, warm welcome and help with everything throughout our stay ( the evening before there was due to be an electricity cut because of local works Dollanna brought round a gas hob & grill with a gas cylinder to ensure we were able to cook!)
- The cottage is everything it claims to be (genuinely spacious three bedrooms, excellent WiFi throughout, everything works perfectly)
- Central heating is available even through the summer (what a blessing if you need to get walking clothes dried after being caught in a Lewis "shower"!)
- It's located in the most peaceful setting with very friendly neighbours
- Probably the best restaurant on Lewis, "North 40" is less than a 10 minute drive away (and they do takeaways!).

We'll be back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italofran...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage on Lewis”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Dollag's Cottage is situated in Shawbost, conveniently placed for many of the sights you'll want to visit including the standing stones at Callanish, the old black house at Arnol, the numerous beautiful beaches such as Dalmore and about a twenty minutes drive from Stornoway.

Dollanna, the owner, is one of the most thoughtful hosts you'll come across and has really thought of everything you could ever need to make your stay an enjoyable one.

We arrived late at night but this was no problem to Dollanna who took the time to show us round her beautiful cottage and to chat about the island. In addition to this, Dollanna had made us a massive plate of sandwiches, accompanied with a big plate of homemade cakes and sweet treats! This really was appreciated after a long journey from Edinburgh.

The cottage itself has everything you need, want and more! Dollanna really has thought of everything from the way the house is decorated to the equipment she has made available to guests, including cookery books, a kitchen with every possible gadget you could need and nice touches like binoculars, picnicking plates and cutlery and even a telescope! Having WiFi is a real plus too when you want to read up more about the island.

The cottage is cosy and warm and a beautiful place to come back to after a long day touring the island.

Dollanna is a genuinely kind and caring host for whom nothing is any bother; she even told us to pop in to her house for a coffee if we needed anything.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that everything you need for a good stay had been thought of!
Liked least: There is genuinely nothing I could find fault with!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikka99
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
“It could`t be better...”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spend a wonderful holiday in this oomfortable well-equipped cottage. We felt much at home. Our host was very friendly and the landscape is breathtaking. We hope to be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing