We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and friendly”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kabuis Apartment

Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen
Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Shawbost in another wonderful sunset, just at the back door.
The very start of the Coastal Walk - Shawbost to Dalbeg, Dalmore or even Garenin Blackhouse Village.
Lighthouse at Port of Ness
View of the Main House, Chalet and Kabuis Apartment
Our local beach here at Shawbost - an expanse of white sand.
Your our coastal walk heading to Dalbeg, Dalmore or Garenin Blackhouse Village.  A very long wall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley R
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is small but very comfortable for two.
Rhoda and Neil were extremely welcoming and helpful. Rhoda's cakes were lovely and she also provided some local fish which was excellent.
The area is good for touring all of the island and not too far from Stornaway. We also visited Harris from there. It is close to a lot of the standing stones and some lovely beaches - the island of Bernera and around Uig were particularly lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B
1 review
“A superb apartment.”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spotlessly clean and up to date with all the mod cons. Ideal for a couple and dogs welcomed.
Beautiful beach a 5 minute drive away. A great base for exploring the northern part of the Western Isles.
Owner, Rhoda, could not have been more helpful in giving advice about various places to visit and giving local information.
Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john d
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfy, well equipped, peaceful accommodation, well located for visiting sites on west Lewis”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The hosts made us very welcome and the apartment came complete with fresh fruit, flowers, homemade cake and smoked and fresh salmon!
Comfy bed, big fluffy towels, very quiet and 15 min walk to one of Lewis' many beautiful white sand beaches. Get stocked up at the Co op in Stornaway as there aren't many shops/restaurants nearby although 41 North v good. A must visit isCallanish Stone circle and other local sites as advised by Rhoda. Had a lovely day on Great Bernera

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire m
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Class Holiday”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Kabuis apartment and we loved every minute of our holiday.

This was our first trip to Lewis and we will absolutely be back. It is the most beautiful island and the perfect place to escape to.

As for the apartment, it was cosy, extremely comfortable and had everything we needed to make ourselves at home.

Rhoda and Neil also made our holiday. The welcome we were given and their generosity throughout our trip was second none - they are wonderful people.

On arrival, there was a delicious welcome pack awaiting us. Fresh salmon, smoked salmon and a variety of home baking from Rhoda. It was all perfect.

They were great in recommending places to go and see and everywhere that we went on their recommendation was fantastic, from the beaches to the restaurants.

Thank you so much Rhoda and Neil for giving us a first-class holiday! We hope to be back next year and will be recommending your properties to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islayscot...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay and would highly recommend”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay and the hospitality given but Rhoda and Neil was fantastic received a lovely welcome pack and Rhoda tips on were to visit on the island was a real boast to our stay, the accomodation was lovely and very clean with a very well equipped kitchen and lots of extra linen if needed, Shawbost is a great area to stay with lovely beaches neaby, we had our 2 wee dogs with us and they just loved it there, can't wait to return in April for our next holiday,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality given
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris B
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This apartment has everything you would need for a totally relaxing break. Stunning location and 1st class attention from the owners who were on hand if required but not overbearing.
The welcome pack was a lovely touch.
The only thing we didn't like was the proximity of the shower room and toilet to the bed. And the frosted glass in the shower room door.
But we learned to use the 'facilities' when the other person was not in the room

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q7964KJji...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream holiday”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a wonderful week in Rhoda and Neil's holiday apartment. The apartment was pristine, comprehensively equipped, well set out, spacious and comfortable.

The apartment is set out on the ground floor and is excellently self-contained such that we didn't notice that it forms part of Rhoda and Neil's main house. There is no washing machine but don't panic, Rhoda provides a service wash as part of the rental. We had everything we needed and more. Sublimely cooked fresh caught monk fish and home baking on top of this too! Rhoda and Neil were so generous and welcoming. They made sure we got to Leverberg on time for our St Kilda trip, were full of handy tips of things to see and really interesting to talk to about Lewis and St Kilda heritage, culture and the Gaelic language.

The apartment is in the south part of Shawbost village and is perfectly located for exploring Lewis. It is near all the main sights on Lewis and about 30 mins drive from Stornoway. The village has the amazing 40 North, a takeaway (some tables outside for lunch) preparing wonderful meals using local produce including evening meals to have at home. The village also has 2 shops for basic groceries.

We felt extremely spoilt by our hosts and we would have no hesitation in recommending Kabuis holiday rentals to our friends (we had a peek at the holiday cabin by the house, equally 'high end' quality letting). This was our first time in Lewis and we will definitely try to come back, in which case we'd book again with Rhoda and Neil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evrything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing