We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kabuis Chalet

Shawbost Beach - a 15 minute walk from the Chalet.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shawbost Beach - a 15 minute walk from the Chalet.
Chalet with wrap around decked verandah.leading on to picnic table in garden Spacious Chalet Lounge - through to Kitchen /Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Shawbost Beach - a 15 minute walk from the Chalet.
Chalet with wrap around decked verandah.leading on to picnic table in garden
Spacious Chalet Lounge - through to Kitchen /Dining
Chalett Kitchen / Dining - open plan.
Kitchen/Dining area
Chalet Lounge - taken from open plan kitchen
Chalet Lounge, spacious and comfortable with cream leather sofas
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom with shower over bath.
One of the many spectacular sunsets that can be captured, this one over Shawbost Beach.
Our Cavalier King Charles - named Rusti.
The start of the coastal walk from Shawbost Beach to Dalbeg / Dalmore and finish at Garen Blackhouse
Your already on the coastal walk to Dalbeg etc.
Dalbeg Beach.
Garenin Blackhouse Village.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
pauline7c...
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Kabuis is a beautiful chalet a home from home with the most amazing location beach on your doorstep sits on the west side of the Island with lots to do and see Both Rhoda and Neil very friendly and helpful can't do enough for you and can advise on all the best places to visit. I had the most wonderful time and I am booked up for September my dogs love it to, hope for many more holidays at Kabuis chalet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Self catering in South Shawbost”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Excellent base for exploring the Isles of Lewis and Harris. Great facilities but ensure you have sufficient provisions for self catering. Places to eat out are few and far between

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Siabost is on the west coast of Lewis and is a good centre for exploring all that the area has to offer - sites of historical interest, local arts and crafts, opportunities to learn about traditional ways of life. The spectacular beaches and hills of Harris are within easy reach. The chalet is very comfortable and well equipped and situated near a lovely sandy beach. The owners go out of their way to make visitors feel welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvds2016
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful island, and a beautiful chalet”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Kabuis very much, a comfortable cosy place. Everything is present. The location is great to travel by car around. And we did walk a lot, made a round trip to and from the nearby beach most evenings. Great hosts, Rhoda spoiled us with great bakes!
Lewis is special in landscape and atmosphere, peaceful, and the skies are different every 5 minutes. We will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, wonderful skies, and a cosy and comfortable place to come back to every day
Liked least: For me the pans were a bit heavy to handle.....:)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
browni22
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Smashing”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Came here after a week on Skye. This was a completely different landscape to there. We were welcomed by our hosts who were very attentive and explained everything about the chalet. Sunday Rhoda visited again to tell us about places to visit. The chalet was well equipped and we did not go short of anything. The location was good with all places being reached with too much trouble. Would visit this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greet V
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even more better!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For the second time in one year we went to this fantastic place. There must be a huge motivation behind it because this trip takes us 3 full days to get there (car+ boat). And yes, motivated we were (and still are). This chalet is wonderfull. You have everything you need, and more. It feels immediatly like home (although our home is completely different). Rhoda and Neil are the hosts you always dreamed of: incredibly nice people, VERY generous and caring.
Lewis itself is for us -city dwellers from Belgium- extremely beautifull, calm and peacefull. The weather is of course uncertain, but hey, who cares when you are on such a stunning place.
Rhoda, Neil, see you soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hard to say. Everthing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARRAN S
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our first visit to the Isle of Lewis and we could not have been made to feel more welcome. Rhoda and Neil were excellent hosts, so friendly and willing to share their local knowledge of what to see and do, and always on hand if needed. The mouthwatering home baking, smoked salmon and fruit on arrival provided that extra special touch and was much appreciated. Rhoda kindly allowed us to bring our 2 dogs along, and the chalet provided an excellent base for our stay. Equipped with everything you would want, it is an inviting and cosy place to come back to at the end of a busy day out and about. We had a very happy and relaxing week and would highly recommend Kabuis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Our sincere thanks for your kind words, we are delighted that you found the Chalet comfortable and well equipped. It a was our pleasure and happy to assist with your wonderful pets, Masie and Caber
X from Rusti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing