We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
38
15
12
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
15
12
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lasithi plateau zeus hosts raki village euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 75 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

First you have to realise that the park is actually two site, several miles apart, One if full of animals and is a reconstructed Cretan style village, with craft displays, animals, pottery and weaving.
The other and possibly the best is the Eco Park at Lasinthos, high up with stunning views across the plateau. Here you will find carvings, and reconstructed windmills which make great photos. There is a large, free car park from which to take panoramic photos, and there is also the actual Eco Park. This costs a few euros to enter and depicts the history of mankind, from stone age through to space age. Again great for photo, and the information is just about right.
There of course is a large souvenir shop as well as a cafe with probably the best views in Crete. When we have visitors this is always part of the itinerary, despite the many times that we have been it;s still worth it.
Just down the hill (towards Malia direction) however it somewhere that the Greeks hold in high esteem - Kera Monastery. Small, perfect gardens, great history, small museum - well worth finding, look out for the small signs.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Scribe1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Eco park works mostly during the summer months, the winter months have no animals so not worth looking for any. Same for craftsman, pottery, weaving and all other activities.

The breakfast and lunch was GREAT, but that was about it. The hotel is waaaay overrated, needs renovation and a lot of up keep. It needed painting, varnishing etc etc. The rooms were basic traditional but in comparison to many other places in Crete with traditional rooms they were missing the nice touches, I.e they had lightbulbs, no light fittings, an old kitchen with no utensils, old cupboards and bleak white walls. They could do with a bit of color and touch up to make it more a. 4 star. Also and most important, they did not change towels or clean the room or change garbage bags in the room for 5 entire days. Very unsatisfactory.

Also the website states a lot of outdoor activities, these are only for the summer. Not the winter. I.e horse riding, target shooting etc etc. They also mention a swimming pool, I am not sure they actually had one.

The lassithi plateu is very nice to see and would highly recommend it, but would not stay in lassinthos, just do a day trip.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CIVGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was billed as a reconstruction of traditional Crete village and crafts. 4 euros each to get in it does have lots of animals but no information about breeds, habits etc. When we visited at 11am it was empty and no attempt to demonstrate anything - It clearly has potential and assume when more visitors there are practical demonstrations of the crafts but for me quite a disappointment as it had potential to be much more. Villages you pass to get there are really more interesting.

We only visited the park so can't comment on the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank Wren012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 7, 2022
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 18, 2022 via mobile
Google Translation

Room tip: Parking, entrée et wifi gratuit
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews