We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch on terrace with breathtaking views!”
Review of Taverna Mantalos

Taverna Mantalos
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Margarites
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 5, 2019

This is the dream place for an outdoor lunch in an enchanting setting with amzing views of the countryside all the way to the sea. The food was delicious (great moussaka!) and the service wonderful.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank EatHappy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

The type of taverna you hope to find - tables overlooking the valley along with traditional food. We had rabbit and goat dishes along with real chips, not frozen, excellent tzatziki and the most wonderful bread. Prices were good, as was the service.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

At lunch to day we Had a nice rabitt and different vegetables! A nice wiev across the square and nice cats visiting the table. Polykala!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

We ordered stuffed vine leaves, yemista, grilled chicken with mushrooms and 2 orange juice. Total bill only cost 21 euros which is quite cheap. The food was great too however the ambiance was unpleasant because there are plenty of cats and dogs roaming around. The cat even jumped up to the chair, begging for food. People who are afraid of animals will feel extremely uncomfortable. Halfway we changed to a different table which is nearer to the kitchen, a more indoor setting and then there were plenty of flies which was very disturbing. Overall wasn’t a great experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Evelyn1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We were a family of 8 plus a baby in a buggy. We were accommodated easily on a large table. Drinks and food were ordered efficiently and didn't take too long to arrive even though the souvlaki and lamb chops were cooked when ordered. There was a slight delay in obtaining a second portion of Zatziki but it was extremely busy. All in all a great place to eat in a lovely village, so much so, we did visit again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MAS653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Mantalos also viewed

Perama, Rethymnon Prefecture
Melidoni, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Archea Eleftherna, Rethymnon Prefecture
Maroulas, Rethymnon
 
Thronos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Kirianna, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Mantalos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing